From Wappy kill Phillop

you are the ONGLE person mi EVVA hear seh dem tink cudjoe means "short"!

i did not mean that the name was derived from trying to catch somebody...i meant the saying (basically, if you cannot get the thing that you are after, get the next best thing)

kofi is another name (kobi is probably derived from it) another name i used to hear a lot is "Tijean".

yuh live an' yu learn...TUMPA...now dat mean short!! as in "tumpa tail dawg"!

i saw an expanantion somewhere about 3 years aho, don't remember now if it was a louise bennett book or where. it was an inetersting explanation and of course there has been a metamorphosis of what the original words were.

What about "Guy"? Know it as "from Wappy kill Guy and Guy kill Phillop".

I remember back in the day in college, a friend of mine had a Ghanaian classmate in medical school with whose name was Quawakoo. I immediately remembered the saying from country "if yuh caan ketch Quawakoo, yuh ketch 'im shut".

Showed how some of the names we heard had their origins from our African fore-parents.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran