Over a month ago the PNP voted overwhelmingly for the SOE and their members were even asking for it to be expanded. I think there were less JLP people in the parliament at the time so where is the TRICK?
Murders back up! JA back to normal!
The PNP knew that there would have been a PR penalty if the SOE was not extended that is why they offered 15 days. But they had a real fear that it could be abused. If Portia called Bruce's bluff and the JLP decided to extend it for 30 days and the JLP started abusing it then the PNP would have been powerless to stop it for 30 days. The PNP could not take that risk.
If Bruce really wanted the SOE to continue it then all he had to do was to start a new SOE just after midnight on Thursday but he did that then the West Kingston seat may be lost forever.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
So now the shower posse is dismantle crime will be cut in half in Jamaica?
The SOE had nothing to do with the drop in crime since May?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostSo now the shower posse is dismantle crime will be cut in half in Jamaica?
The SOE had nothing to do with the drop in crime since May?Sunday, August 28th, 2011. We will never forget !!
gamma, i agree with the general argument the opposition should have given the gov't the 6 votes to extend the soe... that was the first thing i said in another post... the pnp leadership effed up...
in a civil political atmosphere where there is a history of bipartisanship on critical matters in the nation's interest, i could understand the govt depending on the opposition to ensure the passing of the soe...
in the absence of the historical bipartisanship and general acrimony the govt if they wanted the soe, should have had their people in gordon house... the nations governance is ultimately their responsibility...
this soe vote tells me that the jlp and pnp do not even communicate outside the political spectrum... there is genuine deep hatred going on... neither side will grant any favors... this is really nasty and doesn't bode well for the nation...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Time, yuh really post this???
The police asked for the SOE. Even if the PNP felt a political opportunity, they should have held their nose and voted for it. No amount of spin can get around that.
There is no excuse for the abstention.