Is it me or it's just the plain truth: Since

• Is it me or it's just the plain truth: Since

I was boy in Mobay there is always this talk of taking Sunsplash (now Sumfest) out of the town. Out by Seawind where the fanous world music festival (this is when JTB had to beg private homes to take tourists) was kept; the place was called Bob marley centre. Certain agents with their colonial minds took it on themselves to get the Marley family (Rita) to ridicule it the center and refer to it as a "dust bowl". Okay that was closed and now we move to catherine hall. I see in the gleaner where it has been reffered to as a"mud pit" and other names. You then see the slavery/colonial minds proposing the stadium in trelawny.

When will Ja be free? Why can't the people get out of the crab in a barrel menatlity. Why can't a festival be created for the parish of trelawny? What you need to come to the states to learn how to do this? Sumfest/sunsplash is now akin to a landmark in Mobay. The prudent thing to do would be to fix renovate and brand the festival. Do you see anyone trying to shift the NY marathon to Pensylvania? They already took Jazz fest. because of Laziness and lack of foresight. Tourism should not be restricted to Mobay, Ochi, Portland and Negril but the whole island (trust me Ja could really explode if we tackle the thing right).

I see no reason to move Sumfest from Mobay. Yes they could have been more pro-active about dealing with the muddy conditions in the park but that is not a big problem to overcome. They did have a truck pulling off some of the water early Saturday night but it was to late to do much.

As usual the Jamaican entrepreneur spirit was in full effect. There was a thriving business selling water boots, stools, fold-up chairs etc in the park. I even hear that a guy was washing off peoples shoes/boots for a small fee.

I had not been to Sumfest since the 90s so I was constantly comparing what I remembered it to be to what it is now. On the positive side it is a much more professional and well-run event than in the early days. Parking was easy, the band changes were reasonable, the show ran all night but finished in the early morning as opposed to midday, and the bathrooms were fairly clean considering the circumstances. Lots of big screens for those not close to the stage, and really on the night I went there were no bad performances, just some better than others and then Usher, which was among the best I have seen, anywhere, any genre.
    On the negative side, there were a lot more big-company sponsored booths (Smirnoff, Craven A, etc) and less being run by the small man doing a hustle. I hope it doesn't get to the point where its all sponsored booths in the park. Also VIP was not really VIP, just closer access to the stage. I don't have a problem with that approach, it was worth the price ( my niece and cousin were thrilled that they could actually see Ushers sweat flying off him ) but don't call it VIP.

Mobay is an ideal location for a music festival. I hope it always has one.

Had mackrel rundown for breakfast. Now on to Negril and some more fun this weekend (why am I living in Florida again?)

Two years ago I was at the Jazz Fest in Montego Bay.

Islandman, I will admit that i am quite fastidious.

I was extremely impressed with the Jamaica Tourist board for executing this event. It was excellent down to the last detail.

Hoping to be in that part of the world sometime next week.

Well the mentality is to move things to some place marked as "better". I don't what would happen a little flooding happened in Trelawny stadium; I guess the next move would be KGN and if something happens there then Miami. But yuh see di type ah thinking whey mi ah talk bout though. small wonder Ja cyaan really mek serious money off tourism.

Panic talk! Last week was a just a very rainy week in Mobay. Wi lucky it was not a hurricane!

That said, yes, some improvements could be made to the facility.

has the mls gotten better than it was 15 years ago in terms of the quality of football and the calibre of players?

Jawge nuh watch football or soccer. Him claim a Brazillero him watch but him nuh know the player them.

That said people who say it hasn't improved just have bad mind inna dem.

point?

I man that might be the case but because you may not be the promoter. It is the promoter doing this and he may either be telling Mobay to shape up or he is tired of BEGGING THEM for improvement.

I hope it stay in Mobay but Mr Gonzales nuh inna this fi lose him shirt and fi better Jamaica tourism, all a that a by product.

Gonzales? Who dat?

Okay, point taken: Mobay really needs place set aside to host these festivals.

or whatever the man name who a promote it.

Truss mi him nuh waan go there ask Don green bout dat. Sunsplash/Sumfest is all about Mobay. Mi kind ah pity Green as ah him did give mi bredrin (who was running di family business at the time) him fisrt major contract. Ah wonder if Don knew he was dealing with a 19 year olds at the time? (was kind of a technical advisor then)

there you go again...i am..asking YOU...if you think the mls ....etc etc etc? either you do or you don't. seems simple enough but then again i may have to further lower my expectations..

gourzong?