lazie or maudib

Why mi haffi ask ?

JLP has done it.. PNP ? well.. you know the story there..

Anneda rhetorical question by the way..

is it possible to get 5% Growth under this 'Tribalism' ?
      That is possible in time. .. but this naive fascination with a mere GDP growth number is amusing. Economists have long abandoned the overemphasis on just the GDP number in assessing economies... there are a range of other indices that are used in conjunction with that to give a better picture of an economy's development.

Unfortunately history shows that the JLP's orthodox (Republican style) trickle down economics while it may result in some GDP growth also results in extreme income inequalities.. poor investment in education and other social services relative to the needs of the lower income classes...and increasing social tensions as a result.

In other words the JLP's policies favouring the business class may produce some growth... only for most of the benefits to be creamed off by the greedy myopic and backward elites... ala Haiti... but not as severe. It may be worse now with the JLP being so thoroughly and demonstrably corrupt.

This JLP approach usually leads to that tribe being kicked to the kerb by the electorate in dissatisfaction..after these periods of "growth"".... we saw this phenomenon with the Seaga and Shearer regimes. I doubt that Bruised Gelding will get a chance to enjoy a spell of such "growth"... given his folly.

The PNP tribe focuses less on production or is less successful at it than the JLP historically ...but has a more distributive approach with more direct benefits to the poor.... but this is unsustainable.. given the poor production..

A Jamaican conundrum...to which neither tribe has the solution
      Last edited by Don1; August 5, 2010, 12:54 AM.

The PNP tribe focuses less on production or is less successful at it than the JLP historically ...but has a more distributive approach with more direct benefits to the poor....

Boss ! manley try a ting it clearly did not work ,which was'nt his fault
        because the cia destabilized him and also ja'can middle upper class pro jlp
        supporters , his hands were tied . PJ Patterson economic advisers like
        davis and former BOJ Manager were poor advisers they did nothin to
        distribute ja'can wealth , where were you when ja main trading partner
        the good old USA was growing at 5-7 % a year under Bill Clinton , every
        caribbean country experience growth except ja ,even haiti .

pnp fail boss , dem nuh duh nutten fi help poor people . Look ow much
        people get rich under davis bond issue regime,mi ah talk rich investors only dem pnp help and dem kno duh nutten fi poor people , mane !
        Last edited by wbvs; August 7, 2010, 08:55 PM.
        Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
        United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
        happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
        Probably forthcoming...

Yadda, Yadda, Yadda...

Your 'criticisms' aside.. mek mi si Jamaica survive without meaningful GDP growth..(PNP Model)

How can you help the poor with a stagnant economy? Or does the "distrubutive approach" mean everyone becomes equally poor? lol

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
              How can you help the poor with a stagnant economy? Or does the "distrubutive approach" mean everyone becomes equally poor? lol

You know nothing of Jamaica nor economics.... despite the horrible GDP growth numbers....measurable poverty actually declined significantly in Jamaica in the past 2 decades.

This is counter intuitive...but only for the ignorant. Up to 50% of Jamaica's output is unrecorded..ie in the informal economy which has significantly expanded in the past 2 decades...much faster than the formal economy....increasing income and consumption for lower income classes.
              One more reason why a focus on GDP growth alone is a ridiculous exercise in trying to ovastand Jamaica.

Do some research if you wish to be taken seriously...by serious people and not your fellow ignoramuses ...like the self proclaimed Hobbit known as Maudib..LoL!

GDP growth is very important.....it is also important that greedy, myopic and politically connected elites do not siphon off most of the benefits.

This has been a huge negative for Jamaica under both tribes...but particularly so under the JLP.

The Trickle Down/Washington Consensus/Republican type development approach naah werk...

You know nothing of Jamaica nor economics.... despite the horrible GDP growth numbers....measurable poverty actually declined significantly in Jamaica in the past 2 decades.

This is counter intuitive...but only for the ignorant. Up to 50% of Jamaica's output is unrecorded..ie in the informal economy which has significantly expanded in the past 2 decades...much faster than the formal economy....increasing income and consumption for lower income classes.
                  One more reason why a focus on GDP growth alone is a ridiculous exercise in trying to ovastand Jamaica.

Do some research if you wish to be taken seriously...by serious people and not your fellow ignoramuses ...like the self proclaimed Hobbit known as Maudib..LoL!
                  Measureable poverty declined? As in what? Average income? Unemployment? None of theses figures have improved.
                  Or do you mean leass children are walking bare foot to school? If so, Im sure thats the case in Somalia also....