Did the JLP Administration 'arrange' the vote?

• Did the JLP Administration 'arrange' the vote?

WIGNALL’S WORLD

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Last Thursday as I sought informal feedback from the streets on the Government's failure to get an extension of the state of emergency, the general view ranged from "the PNP opposition is playing politics" to "the JLP administration is being too conveniently casual in not having all its voting members present in the House".

A taxi cab operator said to me, "When the Government was faced with a no-confidence vote over the Manatt matter, it had all of its members present and defeated the PNP motion. I personally believe the JLP wanted to end the State of Emergency but it conned the PNP into not voting for it. Why didn't it accept the compromise of 15 days offered by the PNP? Something is up that we do not know about."

Indeed, when I sought from the appropriate channels the reasons why all JLP MPs were not present (beyond what was said in the PM's speech) and why the PNP compromise not accepted (that was not even mentioned in the speech) up to late Thursday, I received no response.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...e-vote_7824295
    Last edited by Karl; July 25, 2010, 09:55 AM.

so they BOTH did not want to extend it! hmmmmm .... why would that be? my feeling is that jamaicans on a whole wanted it extended....this one baffling to mi!!

So Mark finally writes on the parliament's 'End of the State of Emergency' moves what every sensible person knew and most half-idiots instinctively deduced. Unfortunately for him it took the thunderous roar from the streets (the citizens) to cause him to hear. At least he had the guts to put it in the public domain under his name rather than to bury his head in the sand.

I guess I would have to give him a thumbs up for facing the 'truth of the streets'!

Take a bow, Mark!

so they BOTH did not want to extend it! hmmmmm .... why would that be? my feeling is that jamaicans on a whole wanted it extended....this one baffling to mi!!
        It made no sense to extend it! The security forces have always had the tools to defeat the gun criminals...save and except the blessings of the politicians. That they still do not have! Hence previously half-arsed attempt to put the gun criminals on the run.

Needed leaders...not just the Commissioner of Police...in the police who will act against the gun criminals and all other criminals without fear or favour.

I said it 1st - Jamaicans now waking up - JLP outsmart PNP

WIGNALL’S WORLD

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Last Thursday as I sought informal feedback from the streets on the Government's failure to get an extension of the state of emergency, the general view ranged from "the PNP opposition is playing politics" to "the JLP administration is being too conveniently casual in not having all its voting members present in the House".

A taxi cab operator said to me, "When the Government was faced with a no-confidence vote over the Manatt matter, it had all of its members present and defeated the PNP motion. I personally believe the JLP wanted to end the State of Emergency but it conned the PNP into not voting for it. Why didn't it accept the compromise of 15 days offered by the PNP? Something is up that we do not know about."

Indeed, when I sought from the appropriate channels the reasons why all JLP MPs were not present (beyond what was said in the PM's speech) and why the PNP compromise not accepted (that was not even mentioned in the speech) up to late Thursday, I received no response.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...e-vote_7824295

Bruce a real ginnal.

given its success in stemming the flow of crime i think a 30 day extension and extending it to clarendon would have been timely AND practical.

why PRETEND to want to extend it, suppose the pnp did...? never mind!

given its success in stemming the flow of crime i think a 30 day extension and extending it to clarendon would have been timely AND practical.

why PRETEND to want to extend it, suppose the pnp did...? never mind!
              ...and what would have been the problem having a shorter and thus more frequent period for reviews?

Even a compromise of mid-point (PNP suggeested 15 days; JLP suggested 30 days) of 20 days would have been good...but no, the silly Likle Brucie had to play his game of no quarter to the opposition only beat down.

Well he needs to understand that there are no fools. The days of "Slave Boy" Evans going on platforms and shouting "heheheheheheheheh, Slave Bwoy!" as main 'discussion' or Busta telling the people education cyaan nyam or some such thing...or "No way can Dudus be extradited as his constitutional rights would be trampled...or the request from the USA was flawed...even as it was Jamaican wiretaps of some of Dudus' actions during his muderous rule that formed a part of the supporting evidence...or his silly in your faces "the GOJ never had a hand in hiring lawyers to defend Dudus"...but he as JLP head who gave the order...

...there are no fools!
              ...and the Jamacian voter is becoming ever and ever more sophisticated (knowledgeable and cultured: knowledgeable about the ways of the world, self-confident, and not easily deceived).

Yup! There are no fools excepting those who believe there are!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                Bruce a real ginnal.
                It appears from what I am hearing Bruce outsmarted himself! ...as the man in the streets is not buying it that the PNP held the upper hand in votes in parliament.

Observer EDITORIAL: Did the ruling JLP outsmart the PNP?

Did the ruling JLP outsmart the PNP?

Sunday, July 25, 2010

There is a view among some Jamaicans that the debacle in parliament, which ended the State of Emergency last week, was the result of clever politicking by the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).

The view is that Prime Minister Bruce Golding outfoxed the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) through some master political manoeuvre, that trapped the PNP into seeming to be against the fight against crime.
                  Worse, some people appear to believe that the prime minister and the JLP were more interested in that political game than in achieving further gains in the fight against.

We will probably never be sure as to the veracity of these beliefs and we don't expect any politician to own up to something that would be a most despicable thing.

In this space, we have taken a strong position in favour of the continued flushing out of criminals and the extension of the State of Emergency, because we believe that Jamaica deserves this unprecedented breathing space it has allowed us.

Since the May 23 imposition of the State of Emergency, the security forces can claim to have prevented the death of more than 50 Jamaicans, who would have been added to the crime statistics, given the rate of murders in Jamaica since the start of the year.

In this regard, were we to find out that the Government was only interested in political gamesmanship and was willing to trifle with the safety and security of this nation, our pens would drip nothing but blood against this administration. That is how serious we are about the fight against crime.

We are wont to believe the army and the police, as quoted elsewhere in this edition, that the State of Emergency was needed for a while more.
                  For many years we have tried all sorts of strategies, formed all sorts of special police squads, produced all sorts of community-policing projects and discussed and studied ad nauseum the various other solutions to crime. To no avail.

Instead, the murder count soared, with each year getting worse, until last year it reached an unbelievable 1,600 murders, and we gained dubious distinction of being one of the most murderous nations on planet earth.
                  We now have a chance to end this and start all over. This psychological breathing space is a gift that we might never again be fortunate to have in our grasp.

It is not too late for the Government to once again declare a State of Emergency and allow our security forces to consolidate the gains they have made on our behalf.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...he-JLP_7826527

State of Emergency 2?

Jolted by what he has perceived as the swift reaction of criminal elements to the end of the limited state of emergency, National Security Minister Dwight Nelson will be huddling with senior security officers early this week.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner//...ead/lead3.html

the security forces were asking for 90!

What them don't understand is that Bruce have the final card because him can just draw for another State of Emergency at anytime and knowing how him flip flop on these things it is the ace of spades him have over them.

As you say we want a benovelent dictator fi real. The minute something start to get results we mash it up. The mere fact that the murder rate was dropping, we should see how far we can go with it.

It is ok when Dons rule and curtail these people's rights but the security force a ask fi 30 days and a problem. A how long them stay inna Iraq again?
                        Last edited by Assasin; July 25, 2010, 03:49 PM.

What them don't understand is that Bruce have the final card because him can just draw for another State of Emergency at anytime and knowing how him flip flop on these things it is the ace of spades him have over them.

As you say we want a benovelent dictator fi real. The minute something start to get results we mash it up. The mere fact that the murder rate was dropping, we should see how far we can go with it.

It is ok when Dons rule and curtail these people's rights but the security force a ask fi 30 days and a problem. A how long them stay inna Iraq again?
                          Tek people fi fool!

We all know where the votes lie!

Partisan bickering hurting crime fighting

ELLINGTON... the constabulary's aggressive road policing policy will continue

THE collapse of the limited State of Emergency under the weight of partisan gamesmanship in Parliament last Tuesday has further reduced any chance of consensus on major issues of national import, including improvements in our governance structure as well as crime management. Judging from ensuing public debate, includ ...more

ELLINGTON... the constabulary's aggressive road policing policy will continue

THE collapse of the limited State of Emergency under the weight of partisan gamesmanship in Parliament last Tuesday has further reduced any chance of consensus on major issues of national import, including improvements in our governance structure as well as crime management. Judging from ensuing public debate, includ ...more

Underscore:

Also, there were no known business or professional people, politicians or police among the 4,200, although every study over the past 20 years has made a link between persons in these groups and organised crime.
                              ...and as mi seh:
                              There is no reason the security forces cannot do the same thing they did to smash the gun criminal fortress in Tivoli that they cannot do without a State of Emergency.

and that is underscored by Claude Robinson's quote of the Commissioner of Police -

Meanwhile, Commissioner Ellington conceded Thursday that "it will become a little more difficult" to maintain the pressure on organised criminal networks while vowing that the constabulary's "aggressive road policing policy will continue".

The police will now have to rely on existing law, including the 1994 amendment to the Constabulary Force Act, which gives the commissioner of police the power to do cordons and searches, mount roadblocks and, with the permission of the minister of national security, impose curfews across entire communities.
                              NB: it will become a little more difficult = do real police work!