Moss-Solomon makes a point

• Moss-Solomon makes a point

China now has control of the sugar lands in exchange for a paltry sum, as was to be expected. The port will soon follow bauxite and alumina. I have written on these matters and don't really object, except for the pricing formulae, so I won't waste anymore time, except to note two matters in this regard. Firstly, selling out to "foreigners" does not fit in the same sentence as "sovereignty". Secondly, our much-admired idols, namely Cuba and Singapore, have not sold out their sugar cane lands or ports respectively. Perhaps their understanding of sovereignty includes the principles of good governance and requires self-reliance, not mendicancy and obfuscation.
    at least is not di PNP sell wi out dis time!

Mo Ja is treading in some dangerous waters here. None of the parties seem readyt address the "social powder keg" issue. Bringing in China is just adding more powder to the keg. Watch the next move on the chess board (Chinese surfacing in Parliament).

Ja will be lost in the new age and we have none but ourselves to balme. I wonder if the people of Ja saw what just happened in Gordon house? The JDF was muzzled; mission accomplished, it was only Tivoli we wanted to rein in. The rest can be business as usual (this decsion was made on both sides before coming to G house it's very obvious). The real criminials or the root of Ja's crime problem cannot be touched by the JCF or JDF (only those of the local populace). It's sad that it's going to be left up to the USA to arrest those in so called "high places" and it will happen.

somalia wi seh!!!

if ah dat yuh want yuh wi get it. What about growing some balls and say enough?

there is a movie called "endgame"...it details the last years leading up to the release of nelson mandela, the abolition of apartheid and the "unbanning" of the ANC. in the movie thabo mbeki says he has a recurring nightmare to the effect that because of their dedication to the armed struggle, the other side may make a proposal for a peaceful solution and they miss it....GREAT movie!

Dem nah arrest nobody who it not in dem interest to arrest.

You shoulda know that its not about right and wrong, its about did you do ME wrong.

Will check that movie. Right now JA will be divided up and quatered among varied interst groups (whilst a few line their pockets). Someone may just throw a spark to the keg. This cause one to reflect deeply on Garvey's word though; what is the importance of school and gaining so called knowledge? We cannot move a mental muscle to protect the interst of the nation. Ja will forever be a Colony.

I see Moss-whatever is trying to obfuscate the issue. All those money bleeding industries must be dumped forthwith and the Jakan taxpayer needs a break from subsidizing unproductive sectors of the economy.

but who will stand up and reveal the truth to the people? Who will stand up for the general populace of Ja? I guess no one wants to sacrifice thier lives as Joshua did. The mentality is F dem mi ah tek care ah me.

Why is it that anyone else except Jakans can buy shares in these industries? Jakan people have been taken for ride (the long countryside one too).

I guess no one wants to sacrifice thier lives as Joshua did.

Time you stop the hero worshipping business Jawge.

The buyer is a private company, however I do not know if their stock is publicly traded. FYI, two other sugar cane factories were sold to Jamaicans in 2009.

updated 7/14/2010 11:32:36 AM ET

KINGSTON, Jamaica — A Chinese company has struck a deal to buy Jamaica's three remaining government-owned sugar factories.
                        Agriculture Minister Christopher Tufton says the Cabinet on Tuesday approved the sale to the Complant International Sugar Industry Company Limited.
                        Complant will pay $9 million for the factories and control surrounding sugar cane lands under a 50-year lease. The deal also calls for the company to improve the factories and build a sugar refinery.
                        The Caribbean island's government in 2007 began efforts to sell the five companies that made up the Sugar Company of Jamaica because of mounting financial losses.
                        The two other factories were sold to local interests in June 2009.

Fine. Who will stand up and say enough? Who will reveal the truth to the people? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TAYITODNvlM

To me sugar as trading commodity is dead. Those from the east are just using it to get in the door. Watch the ride though. Ja is doomed to a life of instability; all because of ourselves.

as thabo mbeki said.....