• PNP abstain successfully defeat

extension of State of Emergency !

Nightmare she promise, nightmare she deliver..

The PNP position was very reasonable.

as always... to you...

What a disgusting set of people.

The PNP's underwear is showing, and it's not clean!

Wednesday, July 21,

The People's National Party's (PNP) attempt yesterday to kill off the State of Emergency — by not supporting its extension — is a cynical political ploy that exposes the true nature of the Opposition.
          We have no doubt, after this, that the Opposition has absolutely no interest in the country winning the war against crime.
          It's the good old time politics that makes a mockery of the PNP election campaign slogan "We put people first".
          The utter ugliness of the debacle in Parliament should be seen for what it is: pure unadulterated political expedience.
          Clearly, the PNP has chosen — not unlike Prime Minister Bruce Golding in the extradition matter — to put party over country.
          For the first time in decades, the security forces have the criminals on the run. Our citizenry had started to feel an easing of the tension which largely kept a good number of investors and tourists away, almost crippled night life, forced our nationals overseas to fear coming home even for a visit, pushed up the cost of operating businesses by adding massively to the security bill and provisions for extortionists and we could go on.
          No sane Jamaican would expect that a State of Public Emergency could be the permanent answer to fighting crime. But the country needed this narrow window to put the criminals to flight. We needed this breathing space to force down the murder rate. We needed this psychological space in which to construct the crime-fighting strategies and social interventions that we all desire.
          We had wanted to believe that this was the desire of the PNP, too, until yesterday. We gave the party's spokesman on national security, Mr Peter Bunting, the benefit of the doubt when he first said he had supported the State of Emergency. And we had drawn hope from MP Sharon Hay-Webster when she called for its extension to St Catherine.
          Now, the Opposition can change its mind. However, when we are dealing with a matter as serious as the safety and security of this country — which is largely what political parties are elected to do in government — we certainly expect to hear compelling reasons for that change of mind.
          Instead we heard in Parliament a series of wishy-washy excuses about intangible fears that Jamaicans and the security forces may come to believe that a State of Emergency was the way to fight crime.
          Not to mention Mr Bunting's pettifogging claim that the Opposition was not told before 1:30 pm yesterday that an extension would be sought. SO? What is that compared with ending the killing of 1,600 Jamaicans a year?
          The PNP is deathly afraid that if Mr Golding wins the war on crime it can kiss its chances of gong back to Government in 2012 goodbye.
          But we must ask is our country's peace of mind not worth more than a political party's craving to regain the halls of Jamaica House? When did the party which claimed to have been the authors and architects of Jamaican nationalism become so cold?
          The PNP's entrails are showing. And it's not a pretty sight.

The PNP position was very reasonable.
            LOL!

Sad. They have no love for Jamaica and its people.

I hope there is public outcry.

Im still in shock at how utterly disgusting these people are (although I know I shouldn't).

What hope does Jamaica have with people like this waiting in the wings to take over? Neither mind that the country they so desperately crave power over will probably be completely overrun by criminals and ungovernable by then, but hey...who cares?

I think the PNP have made a BIG mistake that they will live to regret.

nuh mind!

nuh mind!
                    Yeh! who cares about the thousands of people murdered on the island and the thousands who have yet to be murdered!

"We Put People First!" or is it, "We Love the Poor!"

These are the idiots ppl want to return to power?

From defender of the largest criminal machinery and network to our knight in shining armour, to our rescue! Give me a frigging break!

I guess Carolyn Gomes and Yvone McCalla-Sobers are also "utterly disgusting people".

The govt. was able to extend the SOE but refused to give an inch. They could have got their 30 days, but chose not to! If the SOE is so important, why didn't they?

Who is disgusting now!?

only two? yuh nuh have nuh more?

From defender of the largest criminal machinery and network to our knight in shining armour, to our rescue! Give me a frigging break!

I guess Carolyn Gomes and Yvone McCalla-Sobers are also "utterly disgusting people".

The govt. was able to extend the SOE but refused to give an inch. They could have got their 30 days, but chose not to! If the SOE is so important, why didn't they?

Who is disgusting now!?
                            Stop being an ass Mosiah. The Human Rights groups have their role to play and those elected to office have their jobs to do. The clowns yuh jumping behind need to earn their pay. Then again unuh all have unuh ulterior motive.

Suh the human rights groups role do not want to see a reduction in crime? What yuh really saying?!? Why should they be at odds with those in elected office in this regard?