• Welcome to Jamaica! Have a nice day!

Travel nightmare at Sangster

Published: Friday | July 16, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Departing passengers stand in line for hours at the Sangster International Airport yesterday while waiting to be processed by the immigration officers who have reportedly been on go-slow. - Photo by Janet Silvera

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer
    WESTERN BUREAU:
    At least two people fainted and several flights suffered delays as inbound and outbound passengers wilted in long immigration lines at the Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay, St James, yesterday.

On the sixth day of a reported go-slow by immigration officers, the lines stretched from the departure entrance near the Burger King restaurant, looping as far as the Domestic Terminal hundreds of metres away.

The situation was even worse for arriving passengers, who stood for more than an hour and a half waiting to be processed by the officers who took the "standard" time to carry out their jobs. The situation was witnessed by 20 travel writers here on a special press trip to the new Secrets Resorts and Spa in Montego Bay.

Sources close to The Gleaner said the problem started last Saturday after a dispute between an immigration officer and a duty manager employed to MBJ Airports Limited.

"The immigration officer, who was stopped after refusing to use the entrance assigned to employees, felt she was disrespected when reprimanded by the duty manager," said the source.

Spirit Airlines passenger Rudolph Robinson told The Gleaner he stood inside the departure area for four hours, having arrived at the airport at 10 a.m.

"I joined the line all the way outside the Island Grill restaurant and this is where I am (Burger King) an hour and a half later," he said.

Robinson said he was en route to Fort Lauderdale and would likely have missed his flight had it not been delayed.

Worse than christmas
    Responding to questions from The Gleaner, Elizabeth Scotton, MBJ's chief commercial officer, acknowledged the problem of processing passengers through immigration.

"Having spoken to the highest level of the Passport, Immigration and Citizenship Agency (PICA), they have assured us that there are no operational problems that have caused the delay," said Scotton.

She, however, said the long lines she has noticed since Monday exceed even the busiest periods in the airport, such as the Christmas holidays.

"The stance taken seems to have resulted from the issue," she stated, declining to provide further information on what she termed an internal matter.

In the meantime, the situation is hurting the tourism industry, which is just recovering from a visitor fallout related to the west Kingston civil unrest in May.

Missing flights
    According to Tom Scarlett, airport manager of Continental Airlines, his passengers are missing their flights, particularly those with connections in Houston, Texas.

"Some of them are going as far as Canada, connecting out of Houston, and they are having difficulties," Scarlett told The Gleaner.

He said he was forced to leave six people who were delayed in the line on Tuesday.

"Arrival is just as bad, and the first impression coming into the island is a negative one," he added.

Checks with JetBlue also revealed delays, while American Airlines officials said they were able to have their passengers cleared on time.

According to Scarlett, who also heads the Board of [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Airline[/COLOR][/COLOR] Representatives Jamaica, a lot of the passengers have sworn never to return to [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR].

Efforts to get details from Leighton Wilson, director of immigration, or CEO of PICA, Jennifer McDonald, proved futile.

The Gleaner was able to reach Wilson but he said an investigation was under way, and referred the newspaper to McDonald.

janet.silvera@gleanerjm.com

Jamaican people are a wutless set of p.h.u.c.k.e.r.s and wha dem haffi tek out dem disputes pon the traveling public? Mi would a bring soldiers on temporary duty fi handle this crisis and remove the immigration officials.

i know i would be very ****************ed!!! 4 hours? and i'm not in an all you can eat chinese restaurant?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tdwui...eature=related

one of my favourite jokes!

Sorry, just had to share some more of one of my all time favourites:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2mTX09cTHg&NR=1

Last Dec. I experienced something similar @ Norman Manley Airport - 2 Immigration officers were working the Visitors line.
          “Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”

what yuh doing in the visitors line?

Mi Jakan passport expire 25 years ago
              “Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”

My passport expire two years ago, dem counselor people in NY a gimme a hard time. Is a good ting mi a dual citizen.

look like seh is slavery yuh waan put man inna.. dem days DUN.. Gyad bless Michael Manley..

I have not had my afternoon café mocha so please elaborate.

Manley teach workers to stan up fi dem rights !

Back in the 60's dem woulda just accept 'abuse' and gwaan wuk.

Scratch dat.. dem couldn even get dah kinda wuk deh back in the 60's...

Dem days deh dun.

Wheh yuh tek black people fah ?

I thought this was about the story I heard which went somethig like this:

A visitor walked into the bathroom at Sangster's and was using the urinal... he happened to glance at a Jamaican guy next to him...The visitor remarked .. I can't help but notice that you have your girl's name tattooed on your, ahem,... I did the same thing and they both have the same name, WENDY. The Jamaican turns to him and says, no man my tattoo says "WElcome to jamaica have a Nice DaY"...

Yes, it was actually taken from that joke!

Yuh memba it! heh heh!

Travel nightmare at Sangster

"The immigration officer, who was stopped after refusing to use the entrance assigned to employees, felt she was disrespected when reprimanded by the duty manager," said the source.
                            Wait...so an immigration officer refused to use the employees entrance, was then stopped by the duty manager, reprimanded for apparently disobeying rules and because of that all the immigration officers are going to let travellers wait hours in line?

Isn't the immigration officer an employee and so shouldn't said officer be using the employee entrance? Or is it that the immigration officer in question and his/her fellow officers don't feel they should be employees anymore? They should just ask these people if they are really happy in their jobs and if not then they are free to carry out their God given right to the pursuit of happiness and find jobs in which they are comfortable (or don't find jobs, whichever makes them happier). I'm sure dozens, if not hundreds of high school and university graduates would gladly fill their shoes and perhaps, just perhaps not feel it is their right to flout rules openly and then cause problems because they disagree with being corrected.

...but he "dissed" her... ~sigh~