My solution , preshha every body , human rights group included, I disagree with you that they need a break , everything else we deh pan di same page.
Our job is to protect citizens from State abuse, say rights
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
No one is above criticism..if you have grounds to criticise..fine.
Personally I would like to see the bulk of our energy spent on pressuring the tribes and the private sector....just my take.
The HR organizations are not a problem for me...even when I disagree with them about this or that...like the SOE for example...that imho should be extended until we get a handle on the mass criminalityTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
You are absolutely right X. Think about this scenario " A patient has a brain tumor, the tumor causes severe headaches, someone out of concern for the patient's pain gives him an asparin. The patient develops a stomach ulcer from taking the asparin". Would it be fair to turn around and lambaste the person who gave the asparin out of concern for the patient's pain. I dont think so, but this is what the so called Human Right's Group in Jamaica are doing. The mess was not created by the police, and they do recognise this, yet they refuse to criticise the the source of the mess. They simply blame the police who are working under profoundly adverse conditions. They appear hypocritical to me. Policemen are going to make mistakes, and these mistakes ought to be investigated, and victims compensated. What these so-called rights organizations want, it seems, is for the police to surrender the country to criminals. After all thats the only way to completely mitigate against police/human error.
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostYou are absolutely right X. Think about this scenario " A patient has a brain tumor, the tumor causes severe headaches, someone out of concern for the patient's pain gives him an asparin. The patient develops a stomach ulcer from taking the asparin". Would it be fair to turn around and lambaste the person who gave the asparin out of concern for the patient's pain. I dont think so, but this is what the so called Human Right's Group in Jamaica are doing. The mess was not created by the police, and they do recognise this, yet they refuse to criticise the the source of the mess. They simply blame the police who are working under profoundly adverse conditions. They appear hypocritical to me. Policemen are going to make mistakes, and these mistakes ought to be investigated, and victims compensated. What these so-called rights organizations want, it seems, is for the police to surrender the country to criminals. After all thats the only way to completely mitigate against police/human error.
Methinks you're being a tad unfair.
****************!! ...it come in like mi ah one JFJ & FAST spokesman....whey mi **************** check deh??TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Pressuring Human Rights Groups ???
You should be joining them...
Let us call a spade a spade.. you clearly believe they have an ulterior motive.. this cannot be about 'performance'.. I mean this is a voluntary organization.. yuh a pay dem ?
lol !
slow dayTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
A human rights group or civil rights group should not have as narrow a mandate as the JFJ group. They should be concerned with the entire spectrum of human rights including economic injustice, educational inequalities, police brutality, racism in Jamaica yes I did say racism in Jamaica etc, just like the NAACP in the USA, and they should be prepared to use the courts to seek redress. The JFJ are simply an Antipolice-brutality group, which is ok, but they should assume a name that reflects that limited mandate like the Jamaican Society for the Prevention of Police Abuse as an example. I wouldn't expect them to do that since some of the leadership of this organization may well be beneficiaries of some of the socioeconomic injustice/inequities that they would be called upon to challenge. This is just my opinion as I do not have any inside information.
Your refer legal remedy to an overseas institution and provide legal counseling , in other words the most you will do is refer or recomend legal course.
No where do you take legal action against the arrangement in the Jamaican courts , none !
Which would be the ideal place to test our constitution.
Frauds.That is indeed a narrow frame.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I dont need to read it again , I want to see and hear the JFJ questioning the narco political arrangement in court.
After the formation in 1939 of its Legal Defense Fund (LDF), directed by Thurgood Marshall, the NAACP began to have a steady and significant effect on federal court rulings to obtain and expand the civil rights of African Americans with regard to voting and education. In Smith v. Allwright (1944) the Court ruled that a political party (the Democrats in this case) could not exclude blacks from voting in a primary election to nominate party candidates for a subsequent general election. In Sweatt v. Painter (1950) the Court decided that a state may not deny admission of qualified blacks to a state law school on the grounds that a separate law school for blacks is available. The biggest breakthrough came with the legal victory, led by Thurgood Marshall and other NAACP attorneys, in Brown v. Board of Education (1954), which established that racial segregation in public schools is unconstitutional.
Latino Group Sues Over Redistricting
Politics: It says the boundaries for four congressional and two state Senate seats were designed to keep white incumbents in office. New maps are sought.
October 02, 2001|KENNETH REICH, TIMES STAFF WRITER
A statewide Latino political organization filed suit in federal court Monday, challenging redistricting boundaries in a bid to increase Latino representation in Sacramento and Washington.
Lawyers for the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund charged that new boundaries for four congressional districts and two state Senate districts were designed to keep white incumbents in power. They asked a three-judge panel to order the lines redrawn and to delay the 2002 primaries from March until June to provide time to do it.
You get the idea?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!