• Local produce takes a beating from more appealing imports

Laura Redpath, Senior Staff Reporter
    The poor condition of local produce has driven food stores to favour imports to satisfy the tastes of Jamaicans, particularly the expatriate community, say some supermarket operators.

Significant importation of apples and grapes, mainly from North America, is also linked to serving the diet of returning residents who demand fruits they were accustomed to abroad.
    Elsa Rowe, of Fresh Produce supermarket, argued that local ginger and Irish potatoes do not look as appealing as the imports do.
    "The ginger and Irish tend to be muddy," she said, "not like the imports, which are clean."

Rowe, who works in the Purchasing Department, pointed out that imported produce tended to be cheaper than its Jamaican counterpart, mainly because of better economies of scale.
    Handling costs of local goods is another downside.
    "We prefer to go directly to the farmers because the prices aren't as high," she said.
    However, this may not always be an option for grocery stores, as much of the produce is also handled by middlemen suppliers, resulting in spoilt or bruised fruits, vegetables and staples being delivered to supermarkets.

Repackaging woes
    Icyline Lee, of Lee's Food Fair in St Andrew, said staff at her family-owned supermarket invest a lot of time in repackaging produce from local farmers.
    Lee's supports the local market and facilitates Jamaican farmers who have been supplying the store for at least 15 years, as they try to sell their produce on a biweekly basis.
    "By the time the goods get here, we have a lot of work to repackage," she said, as farmers discarded spotty or stale lettuce leaves which were quickly piling up on the ground next to a mango tree.
    She shook her head despairingly.
    "To me, it's a waste when produce like tomatoes have gone bad and we can't do any better," Lee told The Gleaner. "We just have to throw them out."

Lee, while bantering with her suppliers, suggested that transporting goods to supermarkets in air-conditioned vehicles, rather than in the back of a pickup truck, would help to maintain produce freshness.
    Garth Phipps, supervisor at Loshusan Supermarket, which mainly sources produce from Clarendon, Manchester and the Breadbasket Parish, St Elizabeth, as well as St Thomas in the east, said the store was dissatisfied with the quality of local produce.

"Too much rain spoils the leafy vegetables and, when there is a drought, goods aren't readily available," he said.
    Produce supervisor at Fresh Produce, Eli Solmon, said while supermarkets had issues with crop standards, the level of freshness was getting better.
    "There has been an improvement," he said. "It's been consistent."
    laura.redpath@gleanerjm.com

Plese tell Elsa Rowe that those "ugly muddy ginger" is mainly bought here (U.S.)by middle and upper income groups as it is called organic food and is very expensive. Let them continue to diss local farmers.

Read a web post from some farinner cussing bout not being able to get dill pickles and olives in the supermarket...people a struggle fi eat oxtail nowadays and dem **************** yeah a talk bout dill pickle...

Nuh wonder local farming continues fi get a beating.

Plese tell Elsa Rowe that those "ugly muddy ginger" is mainly bought here (U.S.)by middle and upper income groups as it is called organic food and is very expensive. Let them continue to diss local farmers.
          So the criteria for determining what is organic produce now is that it should be muddy and ugly? I thought mechanization in agriculture would help the producers here in the States clean the produce before getting it to market, whether organic or non-organic.

Anyway, you live and you learn.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I thought mechanization in agriculture would help the producers here in the States clean the produce before getting it to market, whether organic or non-organic.

Anyway, you live and you learn.

hence the ginger imported is organic? That's your point Tilla?

You have lost me. How did you arrive at your conclusion from what I said? You never fail to amaze me. . .
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well - how long would it take the farmers to wash the mud off their product. They have to learn that in a competitive climate, presentation is key in selling their product.

dill pickle nuh jus cucumber inna vinegar? isn't it? why can't we make that?

I'm sorry. What are you saying Tilla?

Maybe the Jamaican farmers should wash their products, but even better than that they should just show some pictures of white expats buying the Jamaican products, and bypassing the imports and you would see how fast the Jamaican products start to sell, even with the dirt.
                      Nothing has changed in 200 years.

Chill cucumbers, boil brine, sterilize jars, seal jars...starting to sound like a whole heap a electricity...

I am just gobsmacked at how underdeveloped agriculture is in Jamaica. It does not have to be.

Considering the volumes of technical info available on harvesting, packaging, storage , transporting, (supply chain management) ...(and so on) of foods.

Good job returning residents!! You are setting the standards that one does not have to settle for inferior products.

The products are not inferior...dem just not steroids up & pretty pretty like farriners are used to...

I'm sorry. What are you saying Tilla?
                              You ought to be sorry. Anyway, what I was pointing out is that your definition of what constitutes organic food is flawed. You were saying that organic food is dirty food, which is not necessarily the case.

The concept of organic foods are foods which are produced without the use of chemical fertilizers, pesticides and fungicides etc. If say you grow potatoes or cassava, use chemical fertilizers on them and choose not to wash the produce before presenting them to the market, the dirt on the food does not make it organic.

I hope you can go back and reread what you wrote and see that you were not making sense.