What is the purpose of human rights groups in Jamaica

Boss the affirmative action talk is like music to mi ears. Yuh know how long mi a bawl out pon dis site say Ja need a civil rights bill? You are on the right track though. It's good to see someone using their minds on this issue. BTW what do you think about giving civil servants (especially POLICE OFFICERS) shares in govt properties and all inclusives in the tourist industries?

Bless.

Yes Mosiah. Its time we get the words "Affirmative Action" in some form, in our vocabulary.

Look, when I was growing up on Foster Lane in the early 60's, my neighbours, the Mahfoods were simple fish mongers. In less than 40 years the name Mahfood in Jamaica means manufacturing. This did not occur without Affirmative Action. The Issa's, Hanna's, Henriques's etc came to Jamaica as traders, not investors, plain and simple. If they had gone to the USA they would most likely be, and most likely remain owners of some 99 cent junk store owner in East Flatbush in Brooklyn or some equivalent area. It is trhough a series of Affirmative Actions by the Jamaica government on the backs of the Jamaica black people that they could have gained this unimaginable wealth and prestige, much to the exclusion of the black people of Jamaica. It is time people call it for what it is, and take action, including action in the courts ,a la NAACP in the USA and rights groups in Brazil, to reverse past discriminations.

lol.. you think the arab diaspora in Jamaica are wealthy ?

They are the poorer ones in the families..

You might be right. But how many times the cousins who own the junk stores in Brooklyn go to the White House, or Gracy Mansion in New York for that manner. Now ask youself how many times the poorer cousins in Ja go to King's or Jamaica houses. It is the prestige Maudib. Dont be fooled by the cash alone. In Jamaica they do what they want and get their ways. Can't do do it from a 99 cent discount store or a store selling Chinese junk on Boston Road in the Bronx.

well yes but that holds for everyone..

Not really Maudib. Mr. Hawthorne of the Golden Krust Corp in New York has a better chance of being to the White House or Gracy Mansion than Mr. Hanna Issa or Schlomo Weingerg the 99 cent junk store owner in East Flatbush. He might have a little harder time going to Jamaica House than some lesser accomplished " Jamaica" jew or arab.

rubbish

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                  We have to first address the historical lagacy of this problem in and open and honest manner. In the old days ironically, the rastafarians tried to do this and were brushed off as trouble makers and odd balls. I am not advocating that the debate takes place in some rasta village in rural Bull Bay, with blood firing of everything conventional. I am saying that we need to take a bold look at where we are, and how we got there, and the need for affirmative action to redress some of the past injustices. I am not asking for 40 acres and a jack ass, but if you walk along the tourist strip in MoBay you would see all that I am talking about. All the stores selling single ply Bob Marley screen printed tee shirts and other tourist junk are owned by 'others'. Why cant the government institute policies which will guarantee that some of the stores are owned by local black Jamaicans. Yes, I did say black Jamaicans. Tax incentives, lower real estate rates etc to get the people off their feet. This is what affirmative action should be. The ownwers of thiese plazas should get incentives to rent a certain percentage of their space to black people. Thats only fair in a black country.
                  I totally agree with your analysis of the dysfunctional nature of Jamaican society and our development into a neo-apartheid state.

Don't agree however with your prescription of that particular type of affirmative action. Why:

1. Black people are the overwhelming majority...well over 90% of the population

2. There are no laws or regulations which specifically discriminate against black people

3. People simply would not accept it...including many black people. The social dislocation and disharmony would be destructive. We have seen what damage some well meant but "foreign" social practices have caused in the 70s in our very conservative society.

The affirmative action policy I prefer is a massive increase in education/training/community development....giving people the means to upward social mobility

If there is one thing Jamaica should tolerate going into massive debt for...that is it...the ROI will be huge