What is the purpose of human rights groups in Jamaica

You would like to base the existence of services on probability ?

I have never needed an ambulance....
    No one is questioning the existence of these organisations, merely their purpose in Jamaica. They only seem to care about the human rights of a select few, what about the rest?

The fact that they "seem to care about the human rights of a selct few" is probably due more to how they project themselves. I do not believe these groups (JFJ and FAST) were founded to protect the rights of criminals, but to seek protection for all from the excessive abuse of state power.

Their purpose is a necessary check and balance so that we do not become a victim of the police and those in authority. It's one thing to feel under siege by criminals... you don't want to feel that those who are supposed to serve and protect might also have you in fear.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
        No one is questioning the existence of these organisations, merely their purpose in Jamaica. They only seem to care about the human rights of a select few, what about the rest?
        SIGH!

It appears there is an opening then for someone to step in....

The State Apparatus is setup for that.. if it is underfunded then efforts need to be made to fix that.

JFJ is attending to the problem where the State itself is complicit.

Are you willing to do it ?

futile, Maudib. they just don't get it.

You are questioning their purpose because they do not seem to be attending to YOUR priority ???

That does not seem very fair.

Keith Clarke family gets it.. let us hope that experience is not required for all to get it.

Who feels it knows it...

Its not my priority. Its the main priority of all Jamaicans.

It should be the main priority of the human rights groups as well. Why can't they fight against abuses of the state and abuses of gun men aka terrorists? Isn't over a thousand people being slaughtered yearly in little Jamaica a massive abuse of human rights for the Jamaican population? Isn't the way people in Tivoli and other garrisons have to live under don rule, a human rights abuse?

with every word you utter, you make it very clear that you have no understanding of the role of human rights orgnisations, not just in Jamaica, but around the world.

Yuh ******************** !

Mi know more dan yuh !

Ok....

Why is Jamaica different from every other country that has Human Rights Groups ?????

Why should the normal benefactors of Human Rights Group suffer additional atrocities because people don't pay their taxes or Governments don't see to the Economy of the Country ?????

The question you should be pondering is why you have to be asking Human Rights Groups to attend to issues that the Government is setup to do...

Ah wheh di !?

Wheh yuh mean OK ?

How mi cyaan get an OK !

Is wha.. mi talking Mandarin ??!

Why is Jamaica different from every other country that has Human Rights Groups ?????

Why should the normal benefactors of Human Rights Group suffer additional atrocities because people don't pay their taxes or Governments don't see to the Economy of the Country ?????

The question you should be pondering is why you have to be asking Human Rights Groups to attend to issues that the Government is setup to do...
                              Other countries have human rights groups that cater to a wide range of issues. In Jamaica, you only hear these human rights groups when a criminal is killed by police or other similar circumstances. I have no problem with this alone, but if that is ALL they do, what purpose do they serve a country where criminals run rampant and a firm hand is needed to bring them under control?

If anywhere in Western Europe had the murder rate Jamaica does or even half, human rights would have gone out the window a long time ago. Look at the draconian legislation brought in by the British government after the 7/7 terrorist attacks as an example.

I thought human rights organisations were suppose to protect the rights of the citizens they serve when the governemnt fails to do so? The government has failed to protect the citizens of Jamaica who have been slaughtered and brutalised on a daily basis, why can't these human rights group stand up for them?

with every word you utter, you make it very clear that you have no understanding of the role of human rights orgnisations, not just in Jamaica, but around the world.
                                joke yuh ah mek

im know all bout gay rights... im want im community outa di closet

Drivah whey yuh deh wen yuh acolyte most need yuh????

Too bad.....