• Good Morning Professor HAL

Students, Meet Your New Teacher, Mr. Robot
    Gary Meek

LOS ANGELES — The boy, a dark-haired 6-year-old, is playing with a new companion.
    The two hit it off quickly — unusual for the 6-year-old, who has autism — and the boy is imitating his playmate’s every move, now nodding his head, now raising his arms.

“Like Simon Says,” says the autistic boy’s mother, seated next to him on the floor.

Yet soon he begins to withdraw; in a video of the session, he covers his ears and slumps against the wall.

But the companion, a three-foot-tall robot being tested at the University of Southern California, maintains eye contact and performs another move, raising one arm up high.

Up goes the boy’s arm — and now he is smiling at the machine.

In a handful of laboratories around the world, computer scientists are developing robots like this one: highly programmed machines that can engage people and teach them simple skills, including household tasks, vocabulary or, as in the case of the boy, playing, elementary imitation and taking turns.

So far, the teaching has been very basic, delivered mostly in experimental settings, and the robots are still works in progress, a hackers’ gallery of moving parts that, like mechanical savants, each do some things well at the expense of others.

Yet the most advanced models are fully autonomous, guided by artificial intelligence software like motion tracking and speech recognition, which can make them just engaging enough to rival humans at some teaching tasks.

Researchers say the pace of innovation is such that these machines should begin to learn as they teach, becoming the sort of infinitely patient, highly informed instructors that would be effective in subjects like foreign language or in repetitive therapies used to treat developmental problems like autism.

Several countries have been testing teaching machines in classrooms. South Korea, known for its enthusiasm for technology, is “hiring” hundreds of robots as teacher aides and classroom playmates and is experimenting with robots that would teach English.

Already, these advances have stirred dystopian visions, along with the sort of ethical debate usually confined to science fiction. “I worry that if kids grow up being taught by robots and viewing technology as the instructor,” said Mitchel Resnick, head of the Lifelong Kindergarten group at the Media Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, “they will see it as the master.”

Most computer scientists reply that they have neither the intention, nor the ability, to replace human teachers. The great hope for robots, said Patricia Kuhl, co-director of the Institute for Learning and Brain Sciences at the University of Washington, “is that with the right kind of technology at a critical period in a child’s development, they could supplement learning in the classroom.”

Full Hundred

why Prof. IBM though boss?

The piece references IBM???

Boss I thought you knew that HAL came from Arthur C. Clarke's novel; 2001 Space Odyssey (An oscar winning movie was made also). Almost everyone in the science community knows that HAL was an encryption for IBM (do the substitution with the alphabet), hence my IBM comment.

You should take a read of that novel (read it as a youth in JA); you won't put it down until you are finished.

I am aware of HAL..you, perhaps not...

Boss I thought you knew that HAL came from Arthur C. Clarke's novel; 2001 Space Odyssey (An oscar winning movie was made also). Almost everyone in the science community knows that HAL was an encryption for IBM (do the substitution with the alphabet), hence my IBM comment.

You should take a read of that novel (read it as a youth in JA); you won't put it down until you are finished.

Perhaps you are a victim of an urban legend...nuh fret...it's quite common..

The HAL 9000 Computer is a non-human and central character in the film by Stanley Kubrick and Arthur C. Clarke - 2001: A Space Odyssey.

As the brain of the spaceship Discovery, HAL is a robot that uses the mechanical, sensing, and information systems under its control. HAL is an acronym standing for "Heuristically programmed ALgorithmic computer." "Heuristic" and "Algorithmic" are two primary processes of intelligence.

HAL is capable of speech recognition, natural language understanding, lip reading, and thinking well enough to beat humans at chess. Along with all these capabilities comes the capacity for malevolence. HAL kills its astronaut crew. The audience is left wondering whether HAL is right, wrong, evil, or mad. An astronaut decides to shut down HAL 9000's higher cognitive functions, an experience equivalent to death for HAL. HAL's central core is depicted as a room full of brightly lit computer modules mounted in arrays from which they can be inserted or removed. As the astronaut removes the modules, HAL's intelligence degrades.

HAL has had a lasting effect not only on fiction, but also on the real world. It has inspired astronauts, scientists and philosophers. Scientists ask how its capabilities can be duplicated and philosophers have asked whether HAL was responsible for the murders of the astronauts. All of us ask whether we want to create intelligent machines that may someday endanger us.

The voice of HAL 9000 was performed by the actor Douglas Rain.

source

Urban legend? Tell that to Simon Singh; in "code book". I'm just a mere messenger in this boss, that's all.

quick qestion: did you substitute the second leters to HAL? It's not uncommon for scientific writers to leave codes in their written work. You can jump tp Lewis Carrol's Alice in wonderland (among many others), in order to see my point.

Didn't see any reference to HAL in that Wiki piece...but..I'll take your word for it...you are a reliable messenger

No problem boss. Yuh getting me scared dem last days though; yuh seem to agree with me (Gamma too) on things concerning Ja's history and how it relates to present.

Yuh know what mek ah go check out dat Mayan Calendar ting cause suppen nuh right. LOL

No problem boss. Yuh getting me scared dem last days though; yuh seem to agree with me (Gamma too) on things concerning Ja's history and how it relates to present.

Yuh know what mek ah go check out dat Mayan Calendar ting cause suppen nuh right. LOL
                  Yuh rite...dis agreement wid yuh is frightening.....di **************** werl ah come to ah end!!!

here we go again LOL mi gone ah wha dis faada? This too shall pass (hopefully).

Its been a common belief that HAL was a shot at IBM who were the dominant computer company at the time. I rememebr hearing that years ago and taking it as fact, but it seems as if it really may be an urban legend. Thats a hell of a coincidence though, I'm not sure if I believe that they were not aware of it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HAL_9000

"Clarke more directly addressed this issue in his book The Lost Worlds of 2001:

As is clearly stated in the novel (Chapter 16), HAL stands for Heuristically programmed ALgorithmic computer. However, about once a week some character spots the fact that HAL is one letter ahead of IBM, and promptly assumes that Stanley and I were taking a crack at the estimable institution ... As it happened, IBM had given us a good deal of help, so we were quite embarrassed by this, and would have changed the name had we spotted the coincidence"

gotcha!

Saw the movie a number of times...still not sure on that ending. Need to see it again and hope that will bring me up to speed on that ending. Somehow I keep wondering if the journey was in outer space or somewhere within the body of a human?

there was movie called inner space with this actor that looks like a cross between harrison ford and mickey rourke...i forget his name just now...

Saw the movie a number of times...still not sure on that ending. Need to see it again and hope that will bring me up to speed on that ending. Somehow I keep wondering if the journey was in outer space or somewhere within the body of a human?
                              I did also see a movie where humans where sent into a body to 'make it right'...

...mmmm? wha yuh a seh? ...mi si di two a dem an a mix dem hup?

When I was in real estate there came a time when I saw so many beautiful houses that when there were long hectic showing periods and great business I had to take get care when going into my 'narrative' with 'prospects'...

....it was not unknown for agents to inadvertently give a description of a home by mentioning features found not just in the home at the address they gave....but a combination of features of that house and another.