• Out of Many, Two Educational Systems

Out of Many, Two Educational Systems

Published: Sunday | July 11, 2010

Waul

Top students of Munro College who aced the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate exams and were featured in The Gleaner's 'Top of the Class' magazine. Though schools like Munro have excelled over the years, many others across Jamaica have underperformed because of infrastructural and other woes. -Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Michael Waul, Contributor
    The heated wage war between teachers and the Government has dominated news headlines, both in print and on television, for months. However, problems with the beleaguered education sector extend far beyond the educators' financial battle: CXC pass rates are low, the number of high-school dropouts is staggeringly high, and GSAT continues to send thousands of illiterate children into the high-school system each year.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead4.html

Was just about to post this. He makes great points but....claims there is no additional money to spend on education.

Jamaica goes into massive debt to build THINGS like airports, seaports, highways etc.... case in point the GOJ is borrowing US$500m from China to finance their re-election slush fund through an islandwide road maintenance scheme

We just continue to get our priorities backward because of stupid politicians and the backward people who "back" them

If there is ONE thing we should go into debt for it's to improve education across the board.... but especially for the underserved ...the ROI will be unbelievable!

In the meantime we should not just chat...but take an activist stance by helping schools directly any way we can.

Talk is cheap...mi tiyad ah di run-mout klan juss like mi tiyad ah di tician dem

...as mi seh, nuh fool nuh deh...unles dem did drap pan dem 'ead! ...lack of opportunity is our country's kids problem!

...even the 'big kids' who are blind to Sisitah P's achievements because of their own limited access to re-inforcement of worth of those brought up under circumstances similar to their own or that of their forefathers. ...but 'they' (= they or their offspring) shall grow as time rolls on!

Hold on people, I shall put up some of Sistah P's many achievements!
      Last edited by Karl; July 11, 2010, 11:12 AM.

not much different from apartheid.

Karl...you should give that Sista P nonsense a break

Politicians like her are part of the problem...we need to break that destructive partisan model she represents so well and move to a New Paradigm of Jamaica First....party last.

watchya !!.. is nuh did a big-up di PNP and dem 'infrastructure' work.. highway and airport etc ?

LOL !!

I guarantee you if the JLP had 18 years yuh woulda see massive investment in education.. I memba when the PNP did REDUCE the % of budget allocated to education.. pity you were not around at the time..

Anway easy yuhself.. Holness soon deal wid dat..

I would expect that by middle of the next JLP term yuh will be appropriately quiet on the matter...

your tribal nonsense is a big part of the problem...go and commune with your fellow green reprobates

Wi soon sort out di PNP mess.. memba seh is 18 years of effery dem did a gwaan wid.

Dat item soon tick off.... Holness working on it..

with all her chants for loving poor people, i can't remember her encouraging them to educate themselves. she must have done so in the past, but i just can't remember.

yuh lucky mi cyan boddah dig up yuh Highway and Airport post dem..

Now yuh ah talk bout cheap $500 Million from China..

What happen, infrastructure nuh suh important anymore.. don't ?

LOL !!

Is long time time mi deh bout yout.. mi si unnuh in all unnuh shape and disguises..

Karl...you should give that Sista P nonsense a break

Politicians like her are part of the problem...we need to break that destructive partisan model she represents so well and move to a New Paradigm of Jamaica First....party last.
                      You need to wake up to the obvious!
                      ...example, we are people/humans. Cut us (each) we (all) bleed! We grow!

We have had men leading us for decades since independence and we are where we are. The current man in charge is the greatest example of why we need a change to a thoughtful sensible woman.

Specific to Portia - She has many accomplishments. That is a fact....matters not the nonsense and value pronouncements about her being unworthy. It is fact about beneficial programs and policies being instituted under her watch at the various Ministries she has headed. It is fact that during her tenure at these Ministries the atmosphere of cooperation and working together of all interested parties underwent transformation and became more settled and productive.

It is nonsense to lump all the 'old politicians' into one bag and claim all are of the same cloth.

petty tribalism tiring to ****************!

yeah man.. retreat !

LOL ! WOIEE !!

watchya !!.. is nuh did a big-up di PNP and dem 'infrastructure' work.. highway and airport etc ?

LOL !!

I guarantee you if the JLP had 18 years yuh woulda see massive investment in education.. I memba when the PNP did REDUCE the % of budget allocated to education.. pity you were not around at the time..

Anway easy yuhself.. Holness soon deal wid dat..

I would expect that by middle of the next JLP term yuh will be appropriately quiet on the matter...

In this you make an ass of yourself!
                            If you search your memory you will find stored examples of my disagreeing with some PNP actions.

...education is where you will find most of my posts disagreeing with approaches to how the kids are viewed and how delivery of education is presented by the policy makers and those on the front lines of delivery.

ah nuh ebryday mi ave patience fi yuh fooliniss...mek mi fulljoy mi Sunday day...WC soon an Jimmy Cliff inna Central Park lata....nuh spwile di good vibes wid yuh crapola