Hypocrites?

• Hypocrites?

Are they truly embarrassed and surprised by this cop's admission? Corruption is too rampant in the force for me to believe that they are doing everything about it. I know a few officers in the PSB who are truly decent men and would want to rid their force of these crooks, but their work must be difficult given the level of corruption that exists.

'You're a traitor!' - JCF damns corrupt cop, says he should turn in badge or name others
    published: Sunday | December 31, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody yJQdZ="true">

<SMALL K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">Grant</SMALL> <P K2XpR="0" Wicpm="2">The unit charged with investigating corruption within the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> Constabulary Force (JCF), the Professional Standards Branch (PSB), has damned the actions of a rogue cop whose confession was carried on the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">front </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">page</SPAN> of <B K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">The Sunday Gleaner[/B] last week. <P K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">In a letter to this newspaper, the unit, headed by Assistant Commissioner of Police Novelette Grant, called the policeman a "traitor to his office" and said the Constabulary Force was not in the habit of shielding such cops. The PSB called on the policeman to either immediately turn in his badge or name other cops who he knows have flouted the Constabulary Force's code of ethics to enrich themselves. <P K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">"From your confession, it seems you are still on the job, and by your own account, you have been failing to serve, protect and reassure with integrity," said the PSB statement. <P K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">"We believe that the only honourable course open to you other than to testify against those you have evidence against, is to turn in your badge which you have badly betrayed and tarnished by your corrupt activities," it added.

<B K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">Supply the facts[/B] <P K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">The letter continued: "The Professional Standards Branch hopes that you are now experiencing a crisis of conscience and that you are truly contrite for betraying your oath of office and tarnishing your badge. If this is the case, we urge you to come forward and supply us with the facts at your disposal so that we can investigate and prosecute the corrupt cops in our midst. <P K2XpR="0" Wicpm="0">"We sincerely hope you will find the moral courage to provide us with facts that will enable us

RE: Hypocrites?

The 'corrupt cop' has clearly had a life altering moment. He/she has put his/her life and those nearest to him in great danger. That I am sure he/she knew would be one consequence of his/her 'confession'.

Was his/her coming forward...even in this manner...a brave act or one designed to save him/her from 'madness' i.e. mental conflicts that were 'tearing him/her apart? I am sure many will be the differing views.

He/she should make a detailed written and audio-video confession ASAP....and, make 10-12 copies.He/she should have delivered to the Chief Justice, heads of the Roman Catholic Church, Bishop Hero Blair, Head of the United Church of Jamaica, Head of theMethodist Church, Head of the Anglican Church, Head of the Seventh Day Adventist Church, the Prime Minister, Opposition Leader Bruce Golding, The Ombusman, members of his/her family trusted,personal safety deposit box at his bank...and, the Editor of the Gleaner and the Jamaica Observer...and, trow himself/herself on the mercy of the judicial system.

No need to send a copy to the police force as that body has clearly failed to police its own members and the society to best efforts.

[quote]Mosiah (1/1/2007)Are they truly embarrassed and surprised by this cop's admission? Corruption is too rampant in the force for me to believe that they are doing everything about it. I know a few officers in the PSB who are truly decent men and would want to rid their force of these crooks, but their work must be difficult given the level of corruption that exists.

'You're a traitor!' - JCF damns corrupt cop, says he should turn in badge or name others
      published: Sunday | December 31, 2006
      <DIV class=KonaBody yJQdZ="true">

<SMALL Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">Grant</SMALL> <P Wicpm="2" K2XpR="0">The unit charged with investigating corruption within the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF), the Professional Standards Branch (PSB), has damned the actions of a rogue cop whose confession was carried on the front page of <B Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">The Sunday Gleaner[/B] last week. <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">In a letter to this newspaper, the unit, headed by Assistant Commissioner of Police Novelette Grant, called the policeman a "traitor to his office" and said the Constabulary Force was not in the habit of shielding such cops. The PSB called on the policeman to either immediately turn in his badge or name other cops who he knows have flouted the Constabulary Force's code of ethics to enrich themselves. <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">"From your confession, it seems you are still on the job, and by your own account, you have been failing to serve, protect and reassure with integrity," said the PSB statement. <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">"We believe that the only honourable course open to you other than to testify against those you have evidence against, is to turn in your badge which you have badly betrayed and tarnished by your corrupt activities," it added.

<B Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">Supply the facts[/B] <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">The letter continued: "The Professional Standards Branch hopes that you are now experiencing a crisis of conscience and that you are truly contrite for betraying your oath of office and tarnishing your badge. If this is the case, we urge you to come forward and supply us with the facts at your disposal so that we can investigate and prosecute the corrupt cops in our midst. <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">"We sincerely hope you will find the moral courage to provide us with facts that will enable us to take action. If, however, you believe that this is out of your scope, we urge you to reassess yourself and the level of disservice that you have rendered to the people of Jamaica for most of your career." <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">The internal investigative arm said the actions of the cop were a "shameful disgrace" and in contravention of the code of ethics taught to officers recruited by the Constabulary Force.

<B Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">Honesty and integrity[/B] <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">"You know that the JCF policies and principles are based on honesty and integrity. The fact that some members choose to violate the ethical standards of the force and the trust of the Jamaican people is without doubt a shameful disgrace. We do not support corruption in any way, and worse, we are against shielding those who commit wrongdoing," continued the PSB's letter. <P Wicpm="2" K2XpR="0">In his confession to <B Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">The Sunday Gleaner, [/B]the cop gave detailed descriptions of his corrupt lifestyle as a policeman moving up the ranks of the JCF. The account included his and other police personnel's involvement in the drug trade, bribery in the traffic division of the force, and extra-judicial killings. <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">His revelations have elicited various reactions from the public. <P Wicpm="0" K2XpR="0">The PSB was only established in July 20

Karl (1/1/2007)No need to send a copy to the police force as that body has clearly failed to police its own members and the society to best efforts.
        Funny you should say all that. Weren't you the one to excuse and rationalise the actions of cops like Reneto Adams?

Mosiah (1/1/2007)
          Karl (1/1/2007)No need to send a copy to the police force as that body has clearly failed to police its own members and the society to best efforts.
          Funny you should say all that. Weren't you the one to excuse and rationalise the actions of cops like Reneto Adams?
          Know nothing about Adams' involvement in anythingstated by the 'confession cop'. ...and, if Adams is involved in such I condemn him!

Certainly on Adams' side in rooting outmurderers!

Karl there is suppose to be no need for it. People like you even when corruption a stare you in the face you give them the benefit of doubt.

When Mcmillian came and made changes, put many of the big name cops back in uniform and others suspended he was force out. If the police force was doing their job no way it would have reached this stage. The fact is as mi say a lot in the force is corrupt.

Assasin (1/1/2007)Karl there is suppose to be no need for it. People like you even when corruption a stare you in the face you give them the benefit of doubt.
              What are you saying? What corruption is staring me straight in the face?

Massa if you know of Adams' involvement in the acts that 'confession cop' has outlined say so.

I know of no involvment of Adams in such acts and have never heard anyone accuse him of same!

Karl (1/1/2007)

I'm on anyone's side for rooting out murderers. Who wouldn't be?! But you have consistently chosen to ignore the raw facts in front of you in siding with Adams, even when it's very clear that he has been reckless with human rights when carrying out his duties. It doesn't require us attending court, or being beside Adams when he carries out his rounds (while emptying his rounds). Just read the reports and listen even to the police's own reports and you should know that things are amiss. The admissions of this corrupt cop should tell you that an acquittal in court means nothing! Yet, those are the types of things you look on to prove that nothing wrong has taken place. Karl, don't even try to defend your nonsense. You have been very clear in supporting foolishness, to put it lightly.

Mosiah (1/1/2007)
                  Karl (1/1/2007)

I'm on anyone's side for rooting out murderers. Who wouldn't be?! But you have consistently chosen to ignore the raw facts in front of you in siding with Adams, even when it's very clear that he has been reckless with human rights when carrying out his duties. It doesn't require us attending court, or being beside Adams when he carries out his rounds (while emptying his rounds). Just read the reports and listen even to the police's own reports and you should know that things are amiss. The admissions of this corrupt cop should tell you that an acquittal in court means nothing! Yet, those are the types of things you look on to prove that nothing wrong has taken place. Karl, don't even try to defend your nonsense. You have been very clear in supporting foolishness, to put it lightly.
                  ....those are the types of things you look on to prove that nothing wrong has taken place.

What are you saying? What types of things?What type of raw facts? Your raw facts?

You do realise you have not presented any facts?

Gibberish!

Didn't an officer confessed picking up an illegal gun on behalf of Adams to plant....

Adams admitted he became concerned about Chen Chen only after being approached by a BIG man in the community.

Corruption is corruption.

Blessed

Karl (1/1/2007)

Assistant Commissioner of Police Novelette Grant may be a nice person but with due respect her statement(s) is(are) nonsense statement(s)!

Her body (The police) have fallen down on the job and by inaction allowed the development of the climate where corruption is rampant! Her police force over the worked at creating such a climate...and, I find it inconceivable that there is any police officer or any member of the police force who is not well aware of that fact.

Assistant Commissioner of Police Novelette Grant is certainly a member of the force...and, has been so for many, many years!
                      Yuh have a nerve expressing such disgust! Where was the disgust when it was clear to an idiot that Adams was acting ouside of the law?

Karl (1/1/2007)

You do realise you have not presented any facts?

Gibberish!
                        Yuh really expect me to go thru the pages of newspaper accounts of the incidents and the court cases over the years? Why am I able to see that corruption is rampant in the force? Or are you one of them who believes that I have something personal against Adams? Go to the jamaicans for justice website and read the reports. If you can't see anything wrong from there, then...

Yuh not fooling anyone, Karl.

Rockman, don't waste yuh time wid Karl. You have to be real dishonest to yourself to try and justify his actions over the years. Just go back to the Braeton case and if you can't see major holes in the police case, den tings wrong! Karl saw none, and has maintained that Adams and has crew did nothing wrong.

And then our courts "proved" it. Joke ting! Our courts, with the likes of Chief Justice Lensley Wolfe. Hilarious!

Karl (1/1/2007)

I know of no involvment of Adams in such acts and have never heard anyone accuse him of same!
                            That's all I need to see. Go back to the Braeton case and to the Kraal case. If yuh nuh see nutten wrong wid those cases, then what can I say.

Karl never see anyone accuse him of same?!?!

What Karl will do(I suspect)is ask for proof, as they did on various times when police brutality was alleged.

Unfortunately we were unable to provide this concrete proof which resulted in the death of "thirst fi water" police at the hands of his colleagues.

Blessed