• Karl Samuda's convenient burst of conscience

Karl Samuda's convenient burst of conscience
    Mark Wignall

Thursday, July 01, 2010

FULL minister in the JLP administration, the only politician to have crossed the fence and win on both tickets, Karl Samuda is at once the best and worst of our politics.
    As an officer of long standing in his party, "politics" is in his blood, and if he cannot be wrongfully accused of dragging our politics into the 21st century, we are forced to admit that this veteran of our tribal past and present knows how to apply party politics when it matters - on election day.

SAMUDA... has pretty much confirmed for us how it was

1/1

Many of the young Turks in the JLP had to kneel at his feet while they tried to steer themselves through the maze of working back through centres of influence (dons), party worker, PDs and actually getting out that vote on election day. Much of what they know now, they learnt it from Karl Samuda.
    "Samuda rejects dons", said an Observer article by Luke Douglas yesterday. The first thing which came to my mind when I saw the title of the article was that there has been increasing pressure from the people to rid ourselves of the old order in politics, and Karl Samuda, as one of the veterans, represents that old order.
    Second, with the demise of Dudus, politics by the don has been put on the defensive for now, so it too has been under pressure. To me, one does not even have to step into the 10th grade to know that Karl is rolling with the punches of the political moment. Said Samuda last Tuesday, "I have advised everyone at the area leader level. Those elements exist and they have existed (in my constituency). I have had discussions and I have indicated in the strongest way I can that any continuation of activity that results in breaking the law, intimidation, extortion, anything of that kind has no place."
    He went even further, "Gone are the days when persons engaged in gangsterism and donmanship can seek to find political affiliation with the party we represent as the government. There is no safe haven in the Jamaica Labour Party for persons engaged in crime and violence and who lead gangs. Those days are over, it is a redundant notion that through force you can influence people to vote one way or the other."
    Now all of that is as close as one can ever get to a confession. In essence, the minister was telling us loud and clear that the JLP of yesteryear was involved in the politics of "gangsterism and donmanship".
    We probably needed nothing further since the demise of the structure of Tivoli and Dudus, but Samuda has pretty much confirmed for us how it was. Does this mean, Mr Samuda, that Cleveland Downer aka Cassie, a "centre of influence" from Common in your constituency will no longer have any sort of a relationship with you after he is released from detention?
    No matter the motivational factors, I congratulate Minister Samuda!
    Don't be held hostage, Minister Tufton

In recent months I have written a number of articles which have questioned the scenarios surrounding the continued holding of fishing licences by DYC Fishing, a company operated by a Mr Frank Cox in the face of repeated breaching of fishing laws in the US jurisdiction.
    In two breaches before the US Courts, the end results have been convictions and hefty fines.
    On April 1, 2010, the MV Abbey, a vessel operated by DYC, was detained in Portland for another alleged breach. In recent days, the vessel has been officially seized and the cargo confiscated. As I understand it, investigations in that matter are at an advanced stage and it is more than likely that files will soon be dispatched to the relevant authorities.
    I have not determined exactly at which stage Ronald Giddu, a Kenyan (I had erroneously made him into a Nigerian in a previous column) morphed into Frank Cox, a Jamaican, but what is known is that Mrs Deborah James-Cox, managing director of DYC Fishing in Yallahs, St Thomas, and late wife of Cox, was given a licence to fish exclusively for conch in 1992. In a letter issued to her on February 24, 1992, it states, "I am happy to inform you that the Minister of State, the Honourable Ruddy Lawson, has given his approval for you to be issued with a fishing permit to fish exclusively for conch on the Pedro Bank."
    The question is, how could a man, Frank Cox, who did not even know what conch was in 1992, be the holder of permits which allow him to control about 33 1/3 per cent of all of the fishing quotas in the country?
    Last week when I expressed in an email some concerns to Minister Christopher Tufton, he responded by teleconference which included his PS and other relevant staff. The minister pointed out that the main bugbear has been legislation. "There is just so much that the ministry can do. We have been trying to launch new legislation so that the industry can be better regulated. In 2000, Cox literally shut down the industry and the GOJ had to settle with him out of court. The last administration spent 10 years trying to launch new regulations and our administration has been trying now for three years and we haven't advanced much further."
    The minister also said that advice given to the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries by the attorney general is that there is little that can be done about any new regulations until new legislation is passed in Parliament.
    Is there something else that we do not know? How can one man/company who has been in breach of the fishing regulations and who has been recently accused of other breaches continue to boast of controlling one-third of the fishing quota in Jamaica? Did that out-of-court settlement constitute some form of secret agreement that gives this dubious foreigner more rights to Jamaica's marine resources than even locals who were in the business from Paul Bogle was a boy?
    Is the minister aware of allegations of special relationships between senior members of his ministry and others, and if so, could this be why no meaningful action, legislative or otherwise, has been taken to remedy this vile situation?
    Am I to understand that another 13 years will pass before any changes can be made? Do we just accept the position on the difficulties of passing new legislation while allowing DYC's two fishing quotas the licence to hold the ministry hostage?
    Minister Tufton, you are the best performer in the JLP Cabinet, but this state of affairs is plainly not good enough.
    observemark@gmail.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Hash and roastbeef, mince and pie
    By Michael Burke

Thursday, July 01, 2010

Fervet opus in campis

When we shoot we never miss

When we cheer we cheer like this

Hash! And roast beef, mince and pie

N-O-M-E-R-C-Y

Are we winning, well I guess

Rah, rah, JC yes, yes, yes. Hooray!

Sunday July 4 will be the 117th anniversary of the birth of National Hero Norman Washington Manley. He died on September 2, 1969, aged 76. Rather than revisit all that has been written on Norman Manley before, in this piece I compare his high school days 100 years ago with today. Norman Manley was an athlete and ran for Jamaica College. The school cheer displayed above obviously started being used in football matches, hence "when we shoot we never miss".
    The Manning Cup Competition started in 1914, some three years after Norman Manley graduated from JC. Was the cheer used prior to the start of the Manning Cup Competition? It did not occur to me to ask either of my grandfathers when they were alive (both of whom attended JC as well as my late father and my brother). The school cheer was also used for athletics. It was shouted even in my time at JC in the 1960s.
    Jamaica College won the Manning Cup football competition for the first six years of the competition. So the boast, "When we shoot we never miss", in the context of shooting the ball into the goal might have been very true then. In those days there were only six schools in the Manning Cup Football Competition. Today, there are several schools competing and these are also the days of specialisation.
    And with that come the track and football scholarships to universities, mainly in first-world countries. Some schools accept students on the basis of sports talent rather than academics. More often that not, such students are treated like kings at their high school and can do no wrong. Those schools end up having two sets of rules - one for the sports students and another for the "regular" students.
    Track and football scholarships mean that the underprivileged get an opportunity to move up the economic ladder. But in the process, isn't discipline broken down in the school if there are two sets of rules? And then we say that the schools are important tools for changing mindsets to one of discipline, morality, integrity, justice and peace, the lack of which has led to the current state of emergency. And haven't we gone overboard by making sure in a specialist way that "when we shoot we never miss"?
    Hash and roast beef, mince and pie comprised the diet of the Jamaica College boarders some 100 years ago. It speaks volumes about the diet of the English brought here during colonialism and used in British colonial schools. In his book, A doctor's life in Britain and Jamaica, Dr Henry Chambers who was born in 1903 wrote that in his days at JC the principal Mr William Cowper (1916-33) found the cheer most vulgar as it displayed the diet.He tolerated it nevertheless.
    "Hash", according to most dictionaries is "a dish of chopped meat, potatoes and sometime vegetables, usually browned". It was usually the salted leftovers of what was eaten during the week and reheated on Saturday. In the 1700s it was called "pot luck", as written in the will of JC founder Charles Drax that stipulated even the students' daily menu at the school. With salt as the preservative since there was no refrigeration then, hypertension was a common illness. Today we know that too much salt is not good for anyone.
    We also know today that eating too much red meat is unhealthy. Nowadays, many people eat chicken or fish for health reasons, or have become vegetarians. Incidentally, Norman Manley was a vegetarian for most of his adult life. So the only food item described in the school cheer that Norman Manley would perhaps consume in his later years was pie.
    At the part of the JC cheer where "no mercy" is spelt out, would some psychologists argue today that "no mercy" should not have been a part of the cheer as it influences cruelty? Maybe, but I think that is going too far. Some of the theories of psychologists are only theories!
    The February 1967 general election campaign would be the last one for Norman Manley before he subsequently retired and died two years later in 1969. The elder Manley complained in 1967 that while on a campaign tour in West Kingston the pick-up in which he was travelling was shot at and still insisted that it happened, despite denials by his rivals. Norman Manley's words would be written in books when he said "a new and terrible thing has been unleashed on Jamaica".
    That "new and terrible thing" culminated in the current state of emergency some 43 years later. Fortunately, those who fired the shots did not operate on the principle that "when we shoot we never miss" in the context of shooting bullets and not footballs into goals. No one was either killed or wounded on that day in 1967, but it was serious enough for the elder Manley to make the comment that he made.
    ekrubm765@yahoo.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Pepsi Cola Sugar bun
      George's have dem on the run!

StGC good and True
      Gallant boys in white and Blue
      Can we beat them
      Yes, I guess
      George's, George's, YES, YES, YES

When you see di George's bwoy dem
      Watch how we ah ball dem
      {Insert opponet's name here} nuh like we fame
      Cause dis a new game
      Betta ball game
      New game, cause George's ball dem

George's row the boat ashore
      Alleluiah, ...

and my favourite:
      Oh when the Saints,
      Go marching in,
      Oh when the saint go marching in,
      Oh Lord I want to be in the numbers
      Oh when the Saint go marching in!

Gimme ah 'S'...

Georges...sky blue, True Blue. Wha you seh Don1???

Journalists are now free to write ....,Mark is now reclaiming his....,and the JLP's substitute for the dons(agents of the state)can't do anything about it.

Blessed

AMDG.

Blessed

Ardenne has one .

HAAAARD EEEEEENDDDDD!!(Repeat ) continously until tired...lolol.

It seems so , thats healthy.

Likely the most significant development.

Blessed

why now, huh, Willi?!?