• Gunmen invade Samuda’s home

Gunmen invade Samuda’s home
    Minister’s shotgun, ammunition and US currency stolen

BY PAUL HENRY Observer staff reporter henryp@jamaicaobserever.com
    Thursday, July 01, 2010

GUNMEN yesterday held up workers at the Knollis, St Catherine home of Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda, locked them in a room before making their escape with the MP's shotgun and approximately 100 rounds of ammunition about 12:00 noon.

The men also made off with a quantity of US currency after cutting open a steel safe with a blowtorch, according to the police.

Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda speaks on his cellphone as he walks past a police car at his home in Knollis, St Catherine yesterday. The police were at Samuda’s home to investigate a robbery in which the minister’s shotgun, 100 rounds of ammunition and United States currency were stolen. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

Samuda: I really feel violated in a very real way

Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda speaks on his cellphone as he walks past a police car at his home in Knollis, St Catherine yesterday. The police were at Samuda’s home to investigate a robbery in which the minister’s shotgun, 100 rounds of ammunition and United States currency were stolen. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

1/2
    "I really feel violated in a very real way," Samuda, who was not home at the time, told the Observer yesterday.

The robbery came less than 24 hours after Samuda announced that he had met with area leaders in his constituency and informed them that he would not need their help in upcoming election campaigns, even if it cost him his seat.

But there was no indication yesterday that the minister's statement Tuesday rejecting dons had anything to do with the robbery at his home.
    Inspector Paul Thomas, acting crime officer-in-charge of the St Catherine North Police Division, told the Observer on the scene that investigators were following strong leads that could lead to speedy arrests.

According to Inspector Thomas, two men with guns walked onto the 100-acre property and forced four workers into the main house on the premises where they were roughed up and locked into a room.

Police said the armed men spent about two hours inside the house before escaping on foot. The house was left ransacked.

The police said they were informed that two strange men were seen on the property Tuesday, but left after they were spotted.

Samuda's family members, some with long faces, gathered yesterday evening at the sprawling property, called Hyde Valley Farm, as they discussed the break-in and robbery.

But a resolute Samuda told the Observer that the incident only highlights the need for criminality to be rooted out of the society.

"This has only strengthed my resolve to help to rid the country of criminals," Samuda said. "Every Jamaica should join in and try their best to help fight criminality."

He said Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller and other members of People's National Party, as well as members of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party called him to express their sympathy.

Samuda, who is general secretary of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and MP for North Central St Andrew, said he told the so-called area leaders that he would not support any activity that would result in breaking the law, intimidation and extortion.

"Gone were the days," Samuda said, "when persons engaged in gangsterism and donmanship could seek to find political affiliation to the JLP."
    Samuda said he was following the lead of Prime Minister Bruce Golding, in what he said was his unprecedented assault on crime.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...s-home_7763047

Gunmen invade Samuda’s home
    Minister’s shotgun, ammunition and US currency stolen

BY PAUL HENRY Observer staff reporter henryp@jamaicaobserever.com
    Thursday, July 01, 2010

GUNMEN yesterday held up workers at the Knollis, St Catherine home of Cabinet Minister Karl Samuda, locked them in a room before making their escape with the MP's shotgun and approximately 100 rounds of ammunition about 12:00 noon.

The men also made off with a quantity of US currency after cutting open a steel safe with a blowtorch, according to the police.

Samuda: I really feel violated in a very real way

1/2

The robbery came less than 24 hours after Samuda announced that he had met with area leaders in his constituency and informed them that he would not need their help in upcoming election campaigns, even if it cost him his seat.

Samuda, who is general secretary of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and MP for North Central St Andrew, said he told the so-called area leaders that he would not support any activity that would result in breaking the law, intimidation and extortion.

"Gone were the days," Samuda said, "when persons engaged in gangsterism and donmanship could seek to find political affiliation to the JLP."

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...s-home_7763047
    Wish more MPs would come out and admit what we all know, they are intimately connected with gun criminals and thus have contributed to the tremendous loss of lives, wide-spread instability in the society and economic loss that occurred over the years.

...still better the Goldings, Samudas and others who have not yet confessed to their crimes publicly change their evil ways now rather than later.

Aside: Samuda merely reaped a little of what he sowed!
    Last edited by Karl; July 1, 2010, 09:31 AM.

I would like to hear from Omar Davies and his connection to thugs as well in Jungle.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        I would like to hear from Omar Davies and his connection to thugs as well in Jungle.
        Only Omar?
        Joke yuh a joke wid dis ting!

All of the dogs of war need to tear-up dem clothes, pour ashes pan dem ead, beg forgiveness and wheel an com agen wid then clean eart!

The chickens are coming home to roost.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
            The chickens are coming home to roost.
            Well connected man is Samuda. Power to call in the dons and shut them down. ...I wonder what reasonable persons can deduce from his exercise of his powers?

heh heh, dem a feel whey the average citizen a feel now. dem think dem did above it. yuh see di frigga face? a dat we a go thru everyday. welcome to reality. glad di criminal dem nah tek nuh check again and a move offa dem politician bway ya. now dem wi realize that crime is a real problem. dem nuh immune to it again.

Aside: Samuda merely reaped a little of what he sowed!
                Would that be your position if it was Omar or KDs home?

If the facts were similar to that in this story...how could even an half-arsed person not see the confession made and the power exercised that backs up and provides proof of the person's affiliation with criminal cohorts?

Islandman anything I put as post always follow the path of my thoughts. It is persons like Sass, Lazie and Maudib who expect to have it "both ways".

As I told gamma some years past, I am consistent!
                  Last edited by Karl; July 1, 2010, 09:57 AM.

Heh heh. Thief from thief god smile. None shall escape the judgement in this time.

you are consistent that is true...but consistent HOW?!!

If the facts were similar to that in this story...how could even an half-arsed person not see the confession made and the power exercised that backs up and provides proof of the person's affiliation with criminal cohorts?

Islandman anything I put as post always follow the path of my thoughts. It is persons like Sass, Lazie and Maudib who expect to have it "both ways".

As I told gamma some years past, I am consistent!
                        =========================================

Go to the back of the class, you didn't answer Islandman's question: A simple YES or NO would suffice. Now try answering using one word only, not paragraphs.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                          =========================================

Go to the back of the class, you didn't answer Islandman's question: A simple YES or NO would suffice. Now try answering using one word only, not paragraphs.
                          Of course I did!
                          ...but since you want a "simple answer" - YES!

It matters not which side such behavior is on...the facts, are the facts.

Of course I did!
                            ...but since you want a "simple answer" - YES!

Thanks.

The thieves finally start stealing from the thieves.

I would love to see the title for the 100 acres, or the bill of sale with Samuda's family name on it. Did it come with a mule, or did they simply capture somebody's(most likely a black man) land through some form of trickery or outright fraud, or did the crown give it to his grandparents as payment for oppressing newly emancipated slaves?. I will bet you that if anyone should ask Samuda these questions he would get red-faced and scurry for cover.