Is it time to free up gun control in Jamaica?

• Is it time to free up gun control in Jamaica?

I ask because before it was a big risk. If you have a licensed firearm, the risk was big that the gangns would either target you, or if they even tried to rob you, you would be outnumbered.

However, not the gangs are in full retreat and running scared of Soldjie.

This means that in a few weeks, when the splintered gang members get "hungry" and dont have their normal criminal sustenance, we may see an upsurge in sole traders doing petty crime.

I think in such an environment, an armed population will be a great deterrent, as the lone highwayman will think twice as even the old granny may be armed and can "light him up".

Just a thought.

It is working for the taxi-drivers.

One Tax-man dun 2 would be carjackers in New Kingston couple days ago.. bout dem want him money and him vehicle..

Him wait till one get out to come around after him pull over then... 17 rounds later....on dead di next nursing gunshot wounds..

It was right in front of the SportsMax World Cup Sports Club (old superplus).

Mi buk up the forensics unit di night.. mi tink seh is some English and German fans nevah agree.

Might such a move put guns in the hands of the sole traders you mention? and thus embolden them and start a new, different cycle? just a thought.

They already have tons of guns from the gang days. Is money dem want, not guns. dem hungry and isolated now.

Ofcourse the ideal solution is to have full saturation policing, but the manpower short.

I have been saying this for years, but we do not have politicians with any backbone in Gordon House. JLP/PNP politicians are more concerned with keeping their garrisons armed to the teeth, than giving the average law abiding citizen an opportunity to defend himself in a society where over 1,600 are killed every year.

Before it was not practical, as you stod little chance against a team of gangsters.

Now that the gangs are being smashed and lone gunmen will be the order of the day, the balance has shifted.

Policy makers need to think ahead and anticipate this.

what about camerah ?

Mi hear seh dem can do all sorta ting wid analytics and dem ting.. di camerah dem smart !

um.. yuh been reading the news lately ?

I ask because before it was a big risk. If you have a licensed firearm, the risk was big that the gangns would either target you, or if they even tried to rob you, you would be outnumbered.

However, not the gangs are in full retreat and running scared of Soldjie.

This means that in a few weeks, when the splintered gang members get "hungry" and dont have their normal criminal sustenance, we may see an upsurge in sole traders doing petty crime.

I think in such an environment, an armed population will be a great deterrent, as the lone highwayman will think twice as even the old granny may be armed and can "light him up".

Just a thought.
                  DISARM!
                  Bud time will be even more effective now the gunmen are in retreat. No guns! ...save and except for members of the security forces.

Benefits are obvious. Even guns used in crimes of passion and accidental gun violence will virtually disappear.

Before it was not practical, as you stod little chance against a team of gangsters.

Now that the gangs are being smashed and lone gunmen will be the order of the day, the balance has shifted.

Policy makers need to think ahead and anticipate this.
                    You still do not stand a chance. The gunman will have the drop on the licensed firearm holder 99.9999999+% of the time.

It is working for the taxi-drivers.

One Tax-man dun 2 would be carjackers in New Kingston couple days ago.. bout dem want him money and him vehicle..

Him wait till one get out to come around after him pull over then... 17 rounds later....on dead di next nursing gunshot wounds..

It was right in front of the SportsMax World Cup Sports Club (old superplus).

Mi buk up the forensics unit di night.. mi tink seh is some English and German fans nevah agree.

The taxi man was just taking advantage of men with guns who were only using it as for what they hoped would be "intimidating factor". If the were gunmen they would have shot first and took his car and money.

Heh, heh..

If mi nevah tell yuh before... Yuh is one dangarous individual...

Huh?

Yuh brandish gun in a robbery and yuuh not a gunman??? Explain that to me!

Yuh have the full complement of police for this?

We have 7,000 and need minimum 12,000.

Now a di time fi play Burning Spear all over town and Mobay and a gun amensty. "Throw down your arms and come". Then nobody can't say you never give the badman dem a chance.