• The Reprobate Tavares-Finson & the perils of Brown Man Time

Editorial

Let's pray for the backsliders too

Friday, June 25, 2010

Can somebody tell us what has changed between May 18 when Government Senator Mr Tom Tavares-Finson withdrew from the record as Mr Christopher 'Dudus' Coke's attorney and Wednesday, or thereabouts, when he got back on?

If our records serve us correctly, Mr Tavares-Finson told this newspaper on May 18 that he was "...setting up a team and stepping aside as the matter moves to court in order to avoid conflict of interest".

Yet according to yesterday's edition, there he was back in court, acting on the behalf of Mr Coke who, having waived his right to an extradition hearing here, is expected to answer drug- and gun-running charges in the United States any day now. The day before Mr Tavares-Finson was cheerfully telling the Press that Mr Coke was "in good spirits and looking forward to tomorrow's (yesterday's) hearing".

Is it that Mr Tavares-Finson forgot what he said last month, or is his brazen behaviour being motivated by other factors?

We would have thought, given his administration's less-than-squeaky clean image, he would have opted to stay as far away as possible from the hovering ghosts of conflict and compromise.

But maybe, given much of what we have witnessed since last year when the Government went public with its horribly inappropriate affair with Mr Coke, we are being naive and unrealistic.

Naïve to believe the words of a senator who is still on the record as endorsing one of the nastiest scandals in the country's history; unrealistic to expect better.

Yet we must, expectations aside, demand better behaviour from those who insist on occupying positions of leadership in this country.

Even if barefacedness is the new way forward, we can't sit silently by and say nothing when our leaders begin to make fools of us and themselves.

And as long as he occupies a position in the Senate, chairing its Regulations Committee and sitting on its Privileges Committee, Mr Tavares-Finson is, for all intents and purposes, a leader.

His colleague senators, none of whom have seen fit — to date — to withdraw last month's endorsement of the position which Prime Minister Bruce Golding has abandoned, are leaders.

Their positions are inextricably linked to our welfare as they have the power to influence the laws which govern us.

Any failure on our part to hold them accountable to their words and actions cannot be in the public interest.

For it is crystal clear that if the Press had not facilitated the sustained pressure that the right-minded people in this society have been putting on our leaders since last year, we wouldn't be where we are now.

Backsliding is not an option for us now.

Nor should it be for Senator Tavares-Finson.

He should be forced to answer to this.

What a low-life. JLP royalty.

Can Bruce get some balls and deal wid dis parasite...Why him neva one of the 80 that died in Tivoli?

You nuh hear the man have sealed document, consequent on warra-warra ?

"Come test me nuh....."

LOL!

Huh ?

Can someone translate.. what is this person saying ?

Huh ?

Can someone translate.. what is this person saying ?
            ok5u9u3rqi p97921gbd i sm ndvhj kqdqw $##@*&%$% TO ****************!!!!!

Originally posted by Plush View Post
              Can Bruce get some balls and deal wid dis parasite...Why him neva one of the 80 that died in Tivoli?
              ...a Likle Brucie yuh a talk bout, the Don of di parasite...corrupt person who declared in parliament that he was willing to pay the political price for defending Dudus...the man who engaged in authorizing the hiring of a legal firm, accepted money from unknown sources to retain said legal firm, and when his back was against the wall broadcast to his Dudus that a warrant was issued from him, watched the barricade of Tivoli and authorized the killing of 70+ persons?

...an im yuh a hask fi hact innah descent manna? Joke dat...sick joke dat!
              Last edited by Karl; June 25, 2010, 11:57 AM.

wow... as mi seh.. yuh is a dangarous fellow..

What yuh tink bout Manley ?

wow... as mi seh.. yuh is a dangarous fellow..

What yuh tink bout Manley ?

You really would not want me to carefully lay out the case against Likle Brucie using his own words and the words of those around him. It is much more terrible than the little bits and pieces I am posting here.

You would clearly see where Likle Brucie and those around him implicate him in orchestrating and managing the entire sordid "Dudus issue" and its culmination in the unnecessary deaths in Tivoli and elsewhere.

...and I am saying that if we accept Likle Brucie's words that the lobbying of the US Government was done by his authorizing the JLP so to do...then his overseeing and authorizing GOJ personnel to support and act on behalf of the JLP raises questions of authorization of criminal acts and engaging in criminal acts....particularly as various statements made inside and outside of parliament points to the acts being carried out on behalf of then indicted Dudus.
                  Last edited by Karl; June 25, 2010, 12:06 PM.

Orett is charged with defending the interests of Jamaica.

He has done so in spectacular fashion under some of the most dire circumstances in Jamaica's short history...

A Man for our Times.

Clap him !

Mek mi start by saying I dont like him one bit.

However, I fail to see why he is singled out for vitriol here. How him worse than Portia? They are inextricably linked from 1980. Both were in full gunnark mode.

I recall him being on stage with Seaga and giving the V sign which he slowly closed to a gun sign. The metaphor/implication was clear. From den mi nuh like him, even as I wanted to see the back of Manley's failed experiment in mouth-a-massy rhetorical socialism.

However, we all should recall that Gunnark Portia was well trained and crushed him like a bug. There was 105% "voter" participation and she got 87% of that thru sheer Donship. Given that he is no shrinking violet, here credentials must be impeccable.

Houston, we have had a problem for a long time. Tory coming to bump now though. Truth will out.

Are there 'reprobates' in the PNP ranks ?

of course...both parties are filled with reprobates...which I have called to be disposed of.

The JLP reprobates are in power now and more prominent & more dangerous....so they get my attention more...naturally.

Yuh waan gi JLP a pass...man dun tell yuh lang time seh JLPNP ah two side ah di same rusty, wutless coin.

Who pon di PNP side yuh consider a reprobate ?

wasn't comparing him with Portia...but I agree with your point.

the JLP is 1000% more significant that the PNP now... ah jus reality