House passes six anti-crime Bills

• House passes six anti-crime Bills

GOVERNMENT last night used its parliamentary majority to push through the six anti-crime Bills which have been on the table since 2008, with support from the Opposition on only one of the measures.

The Bills -- an act to amend the Bail Act; and an act to make interim provision extending the powers of arrest and detention under Sections 50B and 50F of the Constabulary Force Act; an act to further amend the Firearms Act; an act to amend the Offences Against the Person Act; an act to amend the Parole Act; and an act to make interim provision in relation to the grant of bail in specified circumstances -- had been in limbo because of differences in opinion over several provisions between the Government and Opposition.

The Opposition, while in support of Government's efforts to unseat criminals at every level, has consistently warned that speedily passing the six bills into law without fundamental changes would be a costly mistake.

Concerns were centred mainly around the mandatory sentencing provisions under the Firearms Act and provisions to extend the Powers of Arrest and Detention under the Constabulary Force Act, restrictions on the granting of bail under the Bail Act, as well as the provisions for bail to be granted under specified circumstances.

Last night, the Government relented on the concerns under the Bail Act as it related to the absolute prohibition of bail for 60 days for a wide variety of offences which had been proposed prior; but held its grounds on the others but for several minor amendments, instead of the fundamental changes sought by the Opposition.

When the debate ended shortly after nine last night, the Opposition remained unswayed and maintained that while the "improvements were acknowledged", only one Bill of the six would receive its support.
    The Bills, which were taken individually, were in the end passed 10 to 28 votes in favour of the Government.

One argument which the Government held to in the face of concerns that the 'draconian' measures would open the way to flagrant human rights violations was that the interim Act making provision for the grant of bail in specified circumstances, and the provision extending the powers of arrest and detention under the Constabulary Force Act would only be in effect for one year after being passed into law as they were specifically crafted to help assist efforts to bring the current crime wave under reasonable control.

The Government had expressed an intent to have the provisions passed into law before Parliament's summer break in July.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...-Bills_7736582
    Last edited by Karl; June 23, 2010, 09:59 AM.

... an hurdle all the way, yet there are those pushing to put these obstacles back in office?

A step in the right direction at last.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
        A step in the right direction at last.
        ssssh ... wait ... when the jokers see that their party didn't support the bills you may hear how its a step in the wrong direction.

The governemt should do what they feel is in the best interest of the population. If they success, all good. If they fail, they will have to be held accountable. There is no point trying to reason with people who offer no alternatives or solutions. The PNP should be generally ignored on this matter.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
            The governemt should do what they feel is in the best interest of the population. If they success, all good. If they fail, they will have to be held accountable. There is no point trying to reason with people who offer no alternatives or solutions. The PNP should be generally ignored on this matter.

"The PNP should be generally ignored on this matter"

Thank you, its a pity only a few of us think that. I for one thing they should be ignored PERIOD. The last time our economy moved forward was when they put themselves in exile its a shame that part of history cannot repeat itself.

Lazie u a hunt hard eeh mon? dont u realize that it's not a PNP JLP ting but rather an eradication of crime ting. mi support di crime bills, though i'm a PNP supporter. We bun out JLP because dem damn corrupt, or should I say more corrupt than PNP. nuh badda come politicize our views. If u dont see that Bruce and his team are the most blatantly corrupt politicians ever to grace parliamant, summ'n wrong wid u. pnp corrupt yes but jlp mek it global. in an anology between corruption and dancehall, pnp is like bounty killer and jlp is like sean paul, jlp tek it to di world.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                Lazie u a hunt hard eeh mon? dont u realize that it's not a PNP JLP ting but rather an eradication of crime ting. mi support di crime bills, though i'm a PNP supporter. We bun out JLP because dem damn corrupt, or should I say more corrupt than PNP. nuh badda come politicize our views. If u dont see that Bruce and his team are the most blatantly corrupt politicians ever to grace parliamant, summ'n wrong wid u. pnp corrupt yes but jlp mek it global. in an anology between corruption and dancehall, pnp is like bounty killer and jlp is like sean paul, jlp tek it to di world.
                "eradication of crime ting"

Unuh coulda fool mi! When the murders were taking place ppl bitch and complain about what is being done. PPL mek up noise a ask where were the bills ignoring the fact that unuh religious leaders were the ones being a hurdle to the very end. Now instead of knocking unuh religious leaders for playing politics with the bills yuh come a talk tuh me bout who corrupt?

It look like yuh born yessiday!

"eradication of crime ting"

Unuh coulda fool mi! When the murders were taking place ppl bitch and complain about what is being done. PPL mek up noise a ask where were the bills ignoring the fact that unuh religious leaders were the ones being a hurdle to the very end. Now instead of knocking unuh religious leaders for playing politics with the bills yuh come a talk tuh me bout who corrupt?

It look like yuh born yessiday!
                  religious leaders are not the one's who have the final say in the running of the country.

it look like yuh nuh dun born yet!

Soon after Bruce's fall from Grace he proposed measures that would make Govt officials accountable..such as himself. What of those proposals?

Blessed

Global ??

Yuh mean like Trafigura ??

lol !

PNP set di trend.. nuh tek wheh dem claim to fame..

Yuh a diss Percival 'Shell Waiver' Patterson who claim him poorer after 4 Terms as PM.. LOL !!!

.. Omar admit to destablizing the economy suh PNP can "get back into karreck it"

Yuh propaganda weak and desperate.. is alright.. mi know is a loooong time since yuh can bawl 'Corruption'... pace yuhself doh..

Trafigura come in like child's play compared to di shegries Bruce gwan wid over the past year. Di man practically broadcast to the world say him and criminal a par.

Heh, heh...

I think you are confusing him with Omar.. Omar was the the one that admitted (on tape) and had no apology..

Brazen...

A now the PNP know that something wrong with Trafigura? Mi think a di woman wha did leak it something did wrong wid?

A nuh she did a mash up we banking system?

lol !