Originally posted by Islandman
View Post
Police asking Rev Al Miller to turn himself in!
al miller is a bigger fool than i thought... he will have to expend some capital to prove that he was taking dudus to the us embassy... what happen to dudus lawyers...
harboring a fugitive is still a criminal act...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
LOL. OK boss. I guess the rest of us are idiots.
So if the man has been harboring a fugitive for weeks and the police have evidence of this, you think that now him decide to take him to the embassy and collect him 5 million that makes him untouchable?
The police never sound too happy with him in the press conference, clearly they know more than they are saying."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
from what i've heard it appears that al miller broke the law for the reasons you cite... miller thinks that him being a reverend puts him above the law... that is how jamaica has always been... seems its a different jamaica these last 30 days, al miller just nuh realise it yet...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Time View PostDudus did not escape from custody and was not convicted of any crime so Al Miller safe from the Police. He was assisting Dudus in turning himself in to the US where is his also wanted. Who is going to convict a Rev for attempting to turn in a wanted man?
Al Miller greatest problem now is convincing Dudus followers that he did not turn in Dudus. The safest place for Al Mller now is protective custody.
Rev. Miller also needs to convince the arresting officer that he was not moving the fugitive in furtherance to aims of resisting arrest and remaining a fugitive.
Policeman/men fool nuh r!@%#$$. Rev Al should have been 'bangled' immediately."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Islandman View PostLOL. OK boss. I guess the rest of us are idiots.
So if the man has been harboring a fugitive for weeks and the police have evidence of this, you think that now him decide to take him to the embassy and collect him 5 million that makes him untouchable?
The police never sound too happy with him in the press conference, clearly they know more than they are saying.
Bottom line is that Dudus was not a felon so Rev Al Miller can only get a minor rap on the wrist. Nothing more than a raised voice.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Time View PostI have not heard that he has been hiding him for weeks! Like I said I have not heard anything! If all he did was to assist him in making a run for the US embassy then law or no law nothing is going to come of it. However if we was hiding him or helping to go somewhere else to hide then that is another kettle of fish.
Bottom line is that Dudus was not a felon so Rev Al Miller can only get a minor rap on the wrist. Nothing more than a raised voice.
Rev. Miller is in serious trouble...subject to the decision of the police i.e. arrest or not to arrest.
In the authorities/police shoes, I would have 'bangled'/arrested the Rev. Al."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Nuff-nuff ting wi nuh hear.
How long Rev. Milller kno weh Dudus did deh since he, Miller, knew the Jamaican authorities had an arrest warrant for Dudus?
?
How was Rev Al alerted to Dudus' whereabouts and who provided him with that information? Who gave Rev Al permission to not act as a good citizen must under law, but keep that information away from/hidden from the police/the law enforcement authorities?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
The Police Commissioner agrees with you as he wondered in the press conference why Miller was allowed to leave when the police took Dudus.
Mek Time gwaan make a fool of himselfSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
We will see.
I disagree that he has to have been a convicted felon to be in serious trouble though. If you are harboring a fugitive wanted for serious crimes that is not a small thing."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
first and foremost an arrest wareant is out for dudus...he IS a fugitive. one does not have to be a convicted felon to be a fugutive.
harbouring a fugitive IS a crime. the question is whether al miller had provided "safe haven and comfort" to the fugitive PRIOR to him being detained.
furthermore i speculate that al miller taking him to the us embassy is interfering with the processes of jamaican law. dudus could have turned himself in and WAIVED the extradition hearing or his lawyers could have advised the court accordingly.
unnuh smell suppen fishy? mi smell a rat!
cho...you thinking like a lawyer but I shall forgive for that is how you earn your bread.
If he was really going to hand Dudus over to the US so that he could sing then the public have him back but the JLP won't but they would not dare to touch Al.
If he gave us Dudus to the police then the police have him back.
If he gave us Dudus to the police then the JLP have him back.
So you smell a rat? so I wonder who really want to question Al more, police or Dudus friends?The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Time, a "fugitive" is simply someone who is fleeing custody (in plain English as well as in legal terms). When you are arrested then you are taken into custody. An arrest warrant gives the police the legal means to take you into custody. If you resist by running away then you are a fugitive. Likewise if you have already been taken into temporary custody by the arrest and then were found guilty in a trial and put into more long-term (possibly permanent) custody and then escaped you are also a "fugitive" (but also an "escaped felon").
If you assist someone in fleeing from an arrest warrant then you are hindering the police and depending on the circumstances I think that might involve criminal charges (obstruction of justice and all that).