• JLP drives corruption to new heights..per John Public

JLP is more corrupt - poll

Published: Tuesday | June 22, 2010

With the Manatt monkey still fastened to its back, more Jamaicans think the less than three-year-old Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) Government is more corrupt than its People's National Party (PNP) predecessor.

In a twist of ironic proportions, the JLP government, ushered in from the cold political wilderness by the electorate in September 2007 after 18 years of wandering, won the race to Gordon House on a platform of change that had anti-corruption and accountability as priority agenda issues.

But it seems the JLP, led by Prime Minister Bruce Golding, the self-proclaimed 'Driver', is not changing course.

A Gleaner-commissioned Bill Johnson poll conducted on April 24, 25 and May 1 unearthed that 36 per cent of Jamaicans think there is more corruption in the current JLP administration, while 23 per cent believe the previous PNP govern-ment was plagued by more acts of corruption.

Even with a former PNP junior minister before the courts battling charges of corruption, the JLP government is still seen as the more corrupt of the two administrations.

Forty-one per cent of the 1,008-strong sample said they could not determine which government was more corrupt.

The poll results, with a margin of error of plus or minus three per cent, also suggest that the Jamaican media need to pick up the slack on revealing corruption. Fifty per cent of those polled believe that the local newspapers and radio and television stations are not doing enough to expose corruption in Jamaica.

Forty-two per cent of respon-dents disagreed, while eight per cent said they did not know if the media were doing enough to unmask corrupt individuals.

Scratching the surface

Contractor General Greg Christie believes that both the magnitude and consequences of corruption are yet to be fully understood by most Jamaicans.

"There are telling indications that it (corruption) is operating in a highly efficient but surreptitious manner as it criminally redis-tributes the country's wealth from the poor and middle classes to the connected and privileged few," noted Christie in a written response to a Gleaner query.

Christie opined that it was a grave mistake to continue to focus the bulk of the country's anti-corruption assets and efforts on rogue cops.

"We are barely scratching the surface," he stated.

"There are much bigger fish to fry, many of whom come in suits and in ties and occupy high places in our society. With each passing day, they laugh their way to the bank with taxpayers' (dollars) as we make-believe that we are dealing with the problem."

Consequently, Christie wrote, media editors and practitioners will have to step up to the plate to build a sustained anti-corruption societal groundswell to keep the issue on the front page.

While conceding that there was room for improvement, Byron Buckley, president of the Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ), thinks journalists are doing a fair job in exposing corruption.

"It must be that we are doing something good for international agencies like Reporters Without Borders to elevate us to high positions in the world press freedom index," Buckley argued.

The PAJ boss also argued that the investigative efforts of the various media houses are being muzzled by outdated laws, one of which the previous government pledged to repeal after the advent of the Access to Information Act.

"I think that, to a large extent, we are being hampered by the existence of the Official Secrets Act, as well as the libel laws which come down hard on any attempts by media to try to get information that we think is in the public interest.

"But, because the libel laws are antiquated, they are still reflecting the interests of the ruling class," Buckley said.

A Gleaner-commissioned Bill Johnson poll?? What a day when the tables are turned, what a day when the tables are turned..."

lol !

This poll simply points to the prevalence of memory loss in Jamaica..

lol !

This poll simply points to the prevalence of memory loss in Jamaica..

...that corruption abounds!
        It shall rise to greater heights and shall have many who walk in hallowed sanctuaries brought low before it wanes.

Yuh know ah breddah name Danhai Williams ?

Omar Davis ?

PJ Patterson ?

Some of the comments to the article:

am sick and tired of hearing and comparing about J.L.P. and P.N.P. They are a disgrace,and most if not all of them should be in prison.They all lie,cheat,associate with gangsters,fraudently accept payoffs,and the list goes on and on.Are'nt any honest left in Jamaica,that politicians are being judged,by which group are the most dishonest.Are these the people that you want to represent you? Where are the roll models? No better herring,no better barrel.Come on Jamaica,you deserve better than that'Place Jamaica first,and no political party.Kick them out,and get honest decent people to represent you,people who will place Jamaica first,and not people to do what they are currently doing. to fill their own pockets.Down with Parties,and UP with Jamaica. (Edited by a moderator)

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58029877 class="dsq-comment dsq-odd ">
            Mark Wilson 9 hours ago
            4 people liked this.

The JLP is more corrupt. Now that's a laugh. I've always known it. This is PNP country. Jamaica deserves the PNP. Suddendly we forget the 18 years of scandal after scandal. Or did we?

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58020684 class="dsq-comment dsq-even ">
            G A Diocletian 10 hours ago
            2 people liked this.

Government Corrupt? No, the Jamaican population is corrupt. Everyday in every way and for everything that moves, we pay bribes. A place in school, bus route, car license, traffic ticket, building permit, zoning change, clearing barrels, light, water, to pass cars, to get police certificates, passports, to get contracts government and private, to get bank loans, in every conceivable exchange we have found a way to "get a food" Sexual harassment for jobs and for promotion in the workplace.
            These acts are never called by their right name Bribes, Corruption. No, we RATION a LIE and call them favours, being nice, buy a drink. Every one who is living a lifestyle beyond their salary scale in a big house on the hill needs be examined by the Income Tax Dept, then you will see who is corrupt. "Pick the Beam out of your Eye" Gad 1066

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58053555 class="dsq-comment dsq-odd ">
            Second Term for Bruce 6 hours ago
            1 person liked this.

Prime minister Bruce Golding can turn the table around on the PNP, just like how he turned the table around on Dudus and the Shower Possie.
            Bruce can let the PNP look like the worst party, if he starts to arrest every
            person that is caught in corruption in the Jamaican Government.
            Our government is full of too much corruption and if mr Golding locks up everyone of its members that is caught in corruption, He will be remembered as the best Prime minister Jamaica ever had, Moreover it will gurantee him a second term to govern Jamaica in the coming General Elections.
            Trust me mr Golding is on the right track. Good job sir,.
            Continue to clean up Jamaica and the Jamaican people will love you.
            God bless you sir.
            The Jamaican people needs a prime minister to clean up all the corruption
            in our government that is destroying our beautiful Island. (Edited by a moderator)

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58025496 class="dsq-comment dsq-even ">
            kris 9 hours ago
            1 person liked this.

The JLP is not as half as currupt as the PNP they are just tepid and stupid.

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58023759 class="dsq-comment dsq-odd ">
            Vinnie White 10 hours ago
            1 person liked this.

Will the Gleaner cease to publish BILL JOHNSON'S bias polls? Corrupt in what way Johnson? You are nothing but an anti-see-the light-Ja. Some director of this once prestigious tabloid should stop it before it contaminates the Jamaica populus. Furthermore: Do you see when these polls were suposed to have been done? Remember this one had said the PNP would have won the last general election and that St.Elizabeth would have been a clean sweep for the PNP. Poll on Johnson, Poll on. (Edited by a moderator)

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58042993 class="dsq-comment dsq-even ">
            jumpy 7 hours ago

Our media is dormant . They care not one bit about corruption in GOVT,how else can one explain deafening silence about the overnight riches of certain public figure and one that comes readily to mind is the beloved mayou of kingston.I was reading the other day of the man's real estate holdings. How did he amass so much wealth ? I have my own idea but i'd much prefer the media do some in depth investigation to put our mind at ease but alas the fight between Vybe Kartel and Movado takes precedence.
            , (Edited by a moderator)

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58042938 class="dsq-comment dsq-odd ">
            toniterri 7 hours ago

Who are these people who they polled where are they located. I would love to know how these polls are conducted what questions are asked and what's the margin of error. (Edited by a moderator)

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58040824 class="dsq-comment dsq-even ">
            IloveJamaica 7 hours ago

I wonder who they polled. I guess they got that response because the JLP is now in power so how soon the people forget. Both parties are just as corrupt.

Flag
            Like ReplyReply

<LI style="MARGIN-LEFT: 0px" id=dsq-comment-58039597 class="dsq-comment dsq-odd ">
            Fisherman 7 hours ago

Let's not try and split hairs. both parties are as bad as each other. come election time its going to be a choice between Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum. Both are steeped in corruption, support gunmen and are only there to line the pockets of themselves and their supports. When they both denounce Donmanship, the support of gunmen and garrissons then people may start to take them a bit more serious.