• Action wi deal wid

not a bag ah talk..

"The US team took note of the improvement in Jamaica's macro- economy following the Jamaica debt exchange, including the recent cut in the Bank of Jamaica interest rates to 9.0per cent, and the appreciation of the Jamaican dollar against the US dollar.
    Coincidentally, leading US investment bank JP Morgan, in a note to clients on Friday by analyst Neeraj Arora, observed :
    "The appreciation of the Jamaican dollar (+ 4.7 per cent ytd) in the face of falling interest rates indicates increasing confidence among local players of a post-debt exchange macro environment of relatively low inflation, declining nominal interest rates, and a stable currency. Separately, the BOJ also mentioned that Net International Reserves currently stand at US$1.75 billion, which is above the benchmark set under the IMF SBA for end-June."

Drivah (and 1/3rd) .... don't stap atall !

Run ovah toe.. foot if yuh have tuh.. dem can get free treatment a KPH..

.. please nobody cares about that.... Bruce must resign!

Golding's ebb and flow

JEAN LOWRIE-CHIN
      Monday, June 21, 2010

It was a bit like the dramatic construct of Mark Antony's speech at Caesar's funeral, as Bruce Golding tried to reason with his audience that in spite of his huge stumble, he was still a fit leader.

"Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears." Jamaica's exporters, manufacturers, and overseas buyers at the JMA-JEA's EXPO-JAMAICA were a tentative audience and in the first half of what turned out to be a lengthy address, the applause was almost non-existent.

KINDEST CUT... PM Golding at EXPOJA opening with private and public sector leaders (l-r) Greta Bogues, Chris Tufton, Omar Azan, Karl Samuda, Marlene Malahoo Forte and Vitus Evans.

1/1
      "I speak not to disprove what Brutus spoke, but here I am to speak what I do know." Golding began his reasoning, not with recent events, but with the global recession of the past two years. He wanted us to know that it had been the worst in 75 years and resulted in declines in manufacturing and export last year. Yet he pointed out that the EXPO trade show had been oversubscribed, and that his government's revenue collection was improving.

He slightly touched the West Kingston nerve as he mentioned that it had overshadowed the news that Jamaica had reached IMF targets for March and that the Jamaican dollar had regained a good portion of the value it had lost over the past two years.

The plain-spoken JMA President Omar Azan had earlier referred to the high cost of electricity so Bruce Golding launched into a detailed explanation of the licence awarded them in 2002, "enforceable in a court of law" that guarantees them a tariff review every five years. The audience was still reticent, even as Golding announced that he was concluding talks on building a "floating storage and regasification unit" to help Jamaica increase our use of liquid natural gas (LNG) and reduce our dependence on oil.

Then I sensed a bit of relaxation in the audience as he began to speak the language of the manufacturer. Referring to the reduced budget resulting in lower interest rates on government paper, he said, "When you are not gobbling up money, you have to put it to work."

"When that the poor have cried, Caesar hath wept." Golding said that "the albatrosses" of Air Jamaica and the Clarendon Alumina Production company had been pulling the country down, as the funds lost could have been invested in better education, health and security. He said recent events were a "game changer" and that "you can't take out criminals and not put something in place."

Golding warned that when the Crime Bill is eventually passed, "it is not going to be able to satisfy all interest groups". He warned that "there is an inescapable friction between tackling endemic crime and the idealistic terms regarding human rights", referring to the tough laws that the USA, Britain and Canada had to pass after 9/11.

Golding said he had told his constituents in Tivoli that "the police are never going to leave. Get accustomed to it." As he outlined the Crime Act that would target criminal gangs, Golding felt the warmth of his audience and so he confided that many had been giving him advice. One friend told him, "Hang in there" to which he responded, "I am not hanging in there. I am going there!"

On my way home from the EXPO event on Thursday evening, I caught a report of a PNP meeting being addressed by Opposition spokesperson on security Peter Bunting, describing Golding's resolve to crush crime as "the mother of all flip-flops".

Golding's closing statement told us that he knew his political future was hanging in the balance: "Political fortunes will ebb and flow. That is the nature of politics. My commitment is to do what is necessary. I am at peace with myself. The rest is in your hands and in the hands of the Jamaican people." Mark Antony's audience had shed tears; Golding's gave him a standing ovation, but we have yet to see how Jamaica will respond.

The Bold Ones
      Gary "Butch" Hendrickson decided that his company, National Bakery, should mentor new manufacturers who in the past seven years had launched businesses using indigenous raw material. Dubbing them "The Bold Ones", he said they should employ at least five persons, produce excellent products and pay their taxes. Our shop was asked to roll out a marketing programme for the 11 companies chosen, and we were captivated by the courage of these ordinary folk, Jamaican-born or naturalised.

The Bold Ones have cigars made from local tobacco, seasonings from some of our best farmers, lemon grass products, wonderful pastries and divine chocolates, stylish gypsum products, aromatic candles, bath products and excellent packaging. Their places of work are well organised and their staff members treated with respect.

As the programme unfolded, we saw why these individuals were so successful. They are disciplined, humble and positive in their outlook. Jamaica is a more productive and prosperous place, thanks to Joseph Aducci, Safiya Burton, George Hugh and Mark Chin, Mohan Jagnarine and Dennis Hawkins, Dr Andre Jones, Phillip and Charis Lee, Kareema Muncey, Professor Harvey Reid, Michelle Smith, Lloyd Sterling and Brian Walks. They have been getting many calls for new business. For Hendrickson, this means, "Mission accomplished".

Karl Young
      In reflecting on the difference that the late Karl Young made to our media landscape, we hark back to a time when small shops like ours had to place advertisements through the bigger ad agencies, splitting commission in order to get any at all. Then IRIE-FM roared on to the scene and quickly made it known that they cared not whether we were big or small, we would be paid our commission directly and in full! This paved a welcome new phase, when other media houses started to respond in like manner.
      Clyde McKenzie, the first general manager of IRIE-FM, spoke about this maverick who embraced Bob Clarke's idea of starting a radio station and Clyde's idea to make it all reggae. Karl Young himself named it "Irie", a word he loved to use.

Irie Karl was not that young, launching IRIE-FM when he was 62 years old and giving young Jamaicans a chance to make their name. Karl Young was an understated gentleman who made a huge statement in media and business. Rest in peace, faithful Jamaican!

lowriechin@aim.com

www.lowrie-chin.blogspot.com

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...d-flow_7723439

No you get it wrong...

LIAD BRUCE MUST RESIGN NOW!!!

Just filling in for Mosiah while he enjoys the World Cup. LOL!

yeah... saw it the first time it was posted...

Lot of yapping going on... meanwhile people getting to work.. lots of work to do.. 18 years wasted...

Following on Maudib's post...and the very sympathetic words from Jean Lowrie-Chin...incidentally a person whose posts always drip with good advice on and about doing good for the right reasons...I will first say, no one can be blind to the good works the Bruce Golding led government has started and is now doing in some very important areas - the Tivoli incursion, Audley Shaw's ongoing work on improving revenue collections, budget support financing, etc. -

...secondly no one should be blind to the Bruce Golding and his colleague MPs terrible atrocities and I claim, criminal activities in support of Dudus and the resulting loss of lives in Tivoli. ...the mandated use of the airwaves as the JLP propaganda machine...a dangerous path used by communist and facist regimes that fore-tell implementation of repressive regimes. Certainly if to those two actions is added the move to implement the unnecessary portions of the crime bills before parliament that will make law a trample on constitutional rights, we can deduce where someone who it has been claimed had close ties to criminal elements is going.

I support what is good for Jamaica. The good deeds of the JLP must stand. Jamaica needs to continue along such paths. Just as we should continue along the paths of what is good for Jamaica and renounce the bad actors and steer clear of perilous paths...for Jamaica's good Bruce Golding must go. His actions over the nine month period leading to his forced caving to pressure to stop providing protection for Dudus and his actions on so doing - announcing to Dudus and his criminal cohorts before hand what would be done - demand that, for Jamaica's sake, *a clear message...a precedent be set that no politician thereafter can be found to provide succor and support to any criminal and not suffer serious consequences.

*Bruce must go! ..and he must be investigated on all the actions he took or approved relative to his protection of Dudus i.e. inclusive of relations to and interaction with Dudus and the matter of relations with the US-based law firm -- Manatt, Phelps and Phillips.

"Let me make it quite clear. The Government of Jamaica has not engaged any legal firm, any consultant, any entity whatsoever, in relation to any extradition matter other than to deploy the resources that are available within the Attorney General's Department who has a duty and responsibility to guide the Government on these matters," Golding said

Gov’t denies US law firm hired to fight extradition
            BY LYNFORD SIMPSON Observer writer editorial@jamaicaobserver.com
            Wednesday, March 17, 2010
            Last edited by Karl; June 21, 2010, 11:11 AM.

Following on Maudib's post...and the very sympathetic words from Jean Lowrie-Chin...incidentally a person whose posts always drip with good advice on and about doing good for the right reasons...I will first say, no one can be blind to the good works the Bruce Golding led government has started and is now doing in some very important areas - the Tivoli incursion, Audley Shaw's ongoing work on improving revenue collections, budget support financing, etc. -

...secondly no one should be blind to the Bruce Golding and his colleague MPs terrible atrocities and I claim, criminal activities in support of Dudus and the resulting loss of lives in Tivoli. ...the mandated use of the airwaves as the JLP propaganda machine...a dangerous path used by communist and facist regimes that fore-tell implementation of repressive regimes. Certainly if to those two actions is added the move to implement the unnecessary portions of the crime bills before parliament that will make law a trample on constitutional rights, we can deduce where someone who it has been claimed had close ties to criminal elements is going.

I support what is good for Jamaica. The good deeds of the JLP must stand. Jamaica needs to continue along such paths. Just as we should continue along the paths of what is good for Jamaica and renounce the bad actors and steer clear of perilous paths...for Jamaica's good Bruce Golding must go. His actions over the nine month period leading to his forced caving to pressure to stop providing protection for Dudus and his actions on so doing - announcing to Dudus and his criminal cohorts before hand what would be done - demand that, for Jamaica's sake, *a clear message...a precedent be set that no politician thereafter can be found to provide succor and support to any criminal and not suffer serious consequences.

*Bruce must go! ..and he must be investigated on all the actions he took or approved relative to his protection of Dudus i.e. inclusive of relations to and interaction with Dudus and the matter of relations with the US-based law firm -- Manatt, Phelps and Phillips.
              "I support what is good for Jamaica"

really? Lets see. When the former gov't was killing Jamaica's potential who came here jumping up bout logon to progess? Who came here Sept 8th 2007 and made it clear he cannot afford for this gov't to succeed? In came yuh cannot remember, look in the mirror!

Karl and Bruce must go crew , a question should the aparthied government that led the dismantling of the aparthied system resign abruptly when they faced the reality that the system was corrupt?

Didnt they serve a purpose in putting S.A on a path of good governance granted thier feet had to be held to the fire by international sanctions and internal pressure.

Why is the JLP Gov under Bruce any different ? He didnt create the narco political arrangement he played a part yes , but give him credit for dealing with it , granted from external and internal pressure, our and his position should be that he does the right thing by Jamaica.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You make an assumption that Bruce Golding was protecting Dudus for 9 months..

Are you really that naive ?

Or just conveniently pretending to be...?

An excellent post Mr X.

Karl and Bruce must go crew , a question should the aparthied government that led the dismantling of the aparthied system resign abruptly when they faced the reality that the system was corrupt?

Didnt they serve a purpose in putting S.A on a path of good governance granted thier feet had to be held to the fire by international sanctions and internal pressure.

Why is the JLP Gov under Bruce any different ? He didnt create the narco political arrangement he played a part yes , but give him credit for dealing with it , granted from external and internal pressure, our and his position should be that he does the right thing by Jamaica.
                      You are taking lessons from the wrong teachers. Lazie and Maudib are not good teachers.

I have called for Golding to go...as far as I know Bruce Golding is not or has ever been the GOJ.

yuh tink yuh slick.. you are right he is only the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Party...

If Bruce Golding is to go I am sure it will via a message sent by the people at the Polls....

Yuh can wait 2 years ? or yuh worried about something ?

He has the Support of the US and the Multi=laterals.. he has the support of the Business Community, he has the support of the Church...

Di only ones who seem to have a problem are those expected to...

I understand your 'request'...

HE WAS! You need to cut the B.S !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There is something called the Domino effect.. you should read up on it..

And no.. it nuh have anyting tuh duh wid Pizza...

Thier is something called commonsense , it is innate in nature , cannot be learned.

B.S is B.S !