• A skilful cast of hypocrites they are indeed

A skilful cast of hypocrites they are indeed
    CHRIS BURNS

Monday, June 21, 2010

There are no laws, as far as I am aware, that prohibit hypocrisy; neither are there any enforceable legal sanctions per se against active hypocrites. Hypocrites are in the boardrooms, bedrooms, on the streets, in Parliament and just about everywhere in the world. Before anyone gets all in a tizzy, this article is not a call to arms for the annihilation of hypocrites; they too have rights of existence as everyone else does. The aim is to enumerate recent acts of hypocrisy in Jamaica and highlight the deficiencies and pitfalls of embracing two-facedness.

Prime Minister Golding listens to a vendor at the Coronation Market which he and a delegation toured June 10 after sections were damaged in last month's clash between gunmen and the security forces in West Kingston. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)

1/1

There is no delusion here of a perfect existence, moreso one without counterfeits. Nevertheless, to the extent that we can move away from the weight of double standards we should boldly do so, and do it with great dispatch because dithering will yield us nothing in the end. Neither are there expectations for sudden or seismic shifts in attitude because of this article. But just as a dressmaker affixes pretty trimmings to dresses and a hatmaker stitches badges to hats, so it behoves every one of us, "Jews or Gentiles, Protestants or Catholics", to pause in quiet reflection, with a view to emerging from the exercise, feeling emboldened to embrace forthrightness and strong enough to eschew reticence.

For, it is only when we are tenacious, willing, and honest enough to remove the veneer that covers too much of society's ills that we will freely call a spade a spade and do so without fear of recrimination. Contrary to what some may say, nothing is wrong with honesty, and standing up for principles and probity is quite noble. It's painful when strong women and courageous men leap from position to position, not because of any sudden realisation that a previously held position was wrong, but rather because the new stance affords them the opportunity to jump from limb to limb, like monkeys do, to save face and to protect their self-interest.

So, depending on the modus operandi, people put on false appearances of virtue or vice and act in ways completely incongruous to their beliefs and feelings, without giving a brass farthing about feigning fidelity or sincerity; once it serves the intended purpose. The truth is, though, hypocrisy is perhaps the most annoying of human traits and the built-in disingenuousness makes life miserable and hellish for many, especially the most gullible among us.

One never knows what to expect from a "two-face". Some people say, "Just leave them to their conscience." Yet, others are more circumspect because they are always sceptical about the purity of that "conscience", as it can be corrupt too. You see, reasonable people temper their attitude by relying on good conscience to guide their conduct, especially in moments of conflict and controversy. Hypocrites are not given to sound or good conscience and are disarming actors who violate people's trust in the most egotistic and opportunistic of ways, and then market phony actions as genuine acts of philanthropy.

Hence, they deviate from sound principles on a whim; they support slackness and ineptitude when it suits them; they excuse corruption when it's done by certain elements in society, only to re-emerge with asinine and manipulative explanations for their sour and insensate actions. Still, the most heartless among them rush behind the ecclesiastical barricade of "Let him who is without sin cast the first stone", as if this edict provides carte blanche for eternal evil to prevail over good because, according to them, we are all Pharisees - hypocritically self-righteous.

Better yet, when shame and disgrace are too much for them to bear and a story just won't go away and there is a ray of hope that pressure could wane, hypocrites crawl into the cul-de-sac of spinelessness and beseech others to "let bygones be bygones" and to accept that "from evil cometh good". But "the end does not always justify the means" and, as we are about to learn: killing 73 people, forfeiting US$300 million in tourism earnings, "hugging up" J$1 billion in lost productivity and soaking up US$55 million in investment cancellations cannot justify the end. Neither can barging into the homes of innocent people, like Keith Clarke, and pumping 20 bullets into his body, nor can curtailing the constitutional rights of people in the capital city, misleading Parliament and the unnecessary tarnishing of Jamaica's name, just to delay the arrest and possible extradition of one man, who continues to be on the run, validate the end. It is for this reason that Christopher "Dudus" Coke must be brought in alive to testify and to tell all he knows about the connections between politics, politicians, religion, commerce and organised crime.

Hypocrisy abounds. I was floored when I saw members of the private sector in tow behind the prime minister, running up and down Coronation Market, like "petchary bird inna parson neck-back", and talking ad nauseam about a "new dawning" for Tivoli Gardens. Now, many of these people will not hire so-called ghetto youths, however qualified or untarnished. They will not entertain a loan application from a ghetto youth, let alone approve such, despite the bankability of the project. My questions to our business leaders come from a paraphrased quotation from Shylock in the Merchant of Venice: Hath not inner-city youths hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions; fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means, warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer as an upper St Andrew youth? If you prick them, do they not bleed? If you tickle them, do they not laugh? If you poison them, do they not die? And if you wrong them shall they not seek revenge?

Do you guys really believe that repairing the Coronation Market and crushing the Shower Posse will bring fundamental changes to Jamaica's woes?

While we are imperfect and are not blameless for society's ills, we are not all hypocrites who sacrifice nobility and trade honesty on the altar of expediency for the sake of maintaining professional, political or financial prominence. For, as is already known, "all it takes for evil to prevail is for good men to remain silent". Well, in Jamaica's case, all it takes is for them to practise hypocrisy while evil is perpetrated. It was as impressive, as it was refreshing, when journalists - such as Archibald Gordon, Earl Moxam and Dion Jackson-Miller; columnists Claude Robinson, Devon Dick, Franklin Johnston, Mark Wignall, Betty-Ann Blaine and Gordon Robinson, editorials in the Jamaica Observer and elsewhere, and civic groups such as Jamaicans For Justice (and its principals in particular) alongside the Jamaica Council of Churches - stood up for principles, and refused to dance around the fundamental issues of the day like cats on hot bricks.

Burnscg@aol.com

Last edited by Karl; June 21, 2010, 09:36 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Golding's ebb and flow
    JEAN LOWRIE-CHIN

Monday, June 21, 2010

It was a bit like the dramatic construct of Mark Antony's speech at Caesar's funeral, as Bruce Golding tried to reason with his audience that in spite of his huge stumble, he was still a fit leader.
    "Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears." Jamaica's exporters, manufacturers, and overseas buyers at the JMA-JEA's EXPO-JAMAICA were a tentative audience and in the first half of what turned out to be a lengthy address, the applause was almost non-existent.
    "I speak not to disprove what Brutus spoke, but here I am to speak what I do know." Golding began his reasoning, not with recent events, but with the global recession of the past two years. He wanted us to know that it had been the worst in 75 years and resulted in declines in manufacturing and export last year. Yet he pointed out that the EXPO trade show had been oversubscribed, and that his government's revenue collection was improving.
    He slightly touched the West Kingston nerve as he mentioned that it had overshadowed the news that Jamaica had reached IMF targets for March and that the Jamaican dollar had regained a good portion of the value it had lost over the past two years.
    The plain-spoken JMA President Omar Azan had earlier referred to the high cost of electricity so Bruce Golding launched into a detailed explanation of the licence awarded them in 2002, "enforceable in a court of law" that guarantees them a tariff review every five years. The audience was still reticent, even as Golding announced that he was concluding talks on building a "floating storage and regasification unit" to help Jamaica increase our use of liquid natural gas (LNG) and reduce our dependence on oil.
    Then I sensed a bit of relaxation in the audience as he began to speak the language of the manufacturer. Referring to the reduced budget resulting in lower interest rates on government paper, he said, "When you are not gobbling up money, you have to put it to work."
    "When that the poor have cried, Caesar hath wept." Golding said that "the albatrosses" of Air Jamaica and the Clarendon Alumina Production company had been pulling the country down, as the funds lost could have been invested in better education, health and security. He said recent events were a "game changer" and that "you can't take out criminals and not put something in place."
    Golding warned that when the Crime Bill is eventually passed, "it is not going to be able to satisfy all interest groups". He warned that "there is an inescapable friction between tackling endemic crime and the idealistic terms regarding human rights", referring to the tough laws that the USA, Britain and Canada had to pass after 9/11.
    Golding said he had told his constituents in Tivoli that "the police are never going to leave. Get accustomed to it." As he outlined the Crime Act that would target criminal gangs, Golding felt the warmth of his audience and so he confided that many had been giving him advice. One friend told him, "Hang in there" to which he responded, "I am not hanging in there. I am going there!"
    On my way home from the EXPO event on Thursday evening, I caught a report of a PNP meeting being addressed by Opposition spokesperson on security Peter Bunting, describing Golding's resolve to crush crime as "the mother of all flip-flops".
    Golding's closing statement told us that he knew his political future was hanging in the balance: "Political fortunes will ebb and flow. That is the nature of politics. My commitment is to do what is necessary. I am at peace with myself. The rest is in your hands and in the hands of the Jamaican people." Mark Antony's audience had shed tears; Golding's gave him a standing ovation, but we have yet to see how Jamaica will respond.
    The Bold Ones
    Gary "Butch" Hendrickson decided that his company, National Bakery, should mentor new manufacturers who in the past seven years had launched businesses using indigenous raw material. Dubbing them "The Bold Ones", he said they should employ at least five persons, produce excellent products and pay their taxes. Our shop was asked to roll out a marketing programme for the 11 companies chosen, and we were captivated by the courage of these ordinary folk, Jamaican-born or naturalised.
    The Bold Ones have cigars made from local tobacco, seasonings from some of our best farmers, lemon grass products, wonderful pastries and divine chocolates, stylish gypsum products, aromatic candles, bath products and excellent packaging. Their places of work are well organised and their staff members treated with respect.
    As the programme unfolded, we saw why these individuals were so successful. They are disciplined, humble and positive in their outlook. Jamaica is a more productive and prosperous place, thanks to Joseph Aducci, Safiya Burton, George Hugh and Mark Chin, Mohan Jagnarine and Dennis Hawkins, Dr Andre Jones, Phillip and Charis Lee, Kareema Muncey, Professor Harvey Reid, Michelle Smith, Lloyd Sterling and Brian Walks. They have been getting many calls for new business. For Hendrickson, this means, "Mission accomplished".
    Karl Young
    In reflecting on the difference that the late Karl Young made to our media landscape, we hark back to a time when small shops like ours had to place advertisements through the bigger ad agencies, splitting commission in order to get any at all. Then IRIE-FM roared on to the scene and quickly made it known that they cared not whether we were big or small, we would be paid our commission directly and in full! This paved a welcome new phase, when other media houses started to respond in like manner.
    Clyde McKenzie, the first general manager of IRIE-FM, spoke about this maverick who embraced Bob Clarke's idea of starting a radio station and Clyde's idea to make it all reggae. Karl Young himself named it "Irie", a word he loved to use.
    Irie Karl was not that young, launching IRIE-FM when he was 62 years old and giving young Jamaicans a chance to make their name. Karl Young was an understated gentleman who made a huge statement in media and business. Rest in peace, faithful Jamaican!
    lowriechin@aim.com

www.lowrie-chin.blogspot.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

[While we are imperfect and are not blameless for society's ills, we are not all hypocrites who sacrifice nobility and trade honesty on the altar of expediency for the sake of maintaining professional, political or financial prominence. For, as is already known, "all it takes for evil to prevail is for good men to remain silent". Well, in Jamaica's case, all it takes is for them to practise hypocrisy while evil is perpetrated. It was as impressive, as it was refreshing, when journalists - such as Archibald Gordon, Earl Moxam and Dion Jackson-Miller; columnists Claude Robinson, Devon Dick, Franklin Johnston, Mark Wignall, Betty-Ann Blaine and Gordon Robinson, editorials in the Jamaica Observer and elsewhere, and civic groups such as Jamaicans For Justice (and its principals in particular) alongside the Jamaica Council of Churches - stood up for principles, and refused to dance around the fundamental issues of the day like cats on hot bricks.

True words, Chris!

BRUCE MUST RESIGN!