Seaga cannot have it both ways
Originally posted by Gamma View Postongle ting, one side a di corruption have "core values"! what a lahlah
Well it core values...it is individuals who hold it aloft and yet do not hold true to them.
Yup!
The PNP has "core values". It is some within the PNP, who need to go, who do not hold true to the teachings."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
And the JLP does not have core values? Is that what you are saying?
What exactly are these core values anyway? Care to list a few? I will try not to laugh too loud."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostAnd the JLP does not have core values? Is that what you are saying?
What exactly are these core values anyway? Care to list a few? I will try not to laugh too loud.
"And what is the mission of this generation?… It is…reconstructing the social and economic society and life of Jamaica".
in the context of - a working towards a Jamaica where there would be an integrated, multi-racial community. It should avoid entrenching race or colour conflicts in its politics.
...a vision of a national society based on equality and social justice. ... a liberal, social-democratic, and humanitarian society. ...a politics with both conscientiousness and conscience, not to mention a strong moral awareness.
...a working towards achieving independence. - (It is not independence we now enjoy, where we are trapped by the corrupt and corruption...where each does not have full access to the tools for upwards mobility!)
You can then tick off the achievements of the PNP starting from -1st political party, through to proliferation of primary schools across the island, opening the doors of secondary high schools to mass influx of the children of the most unfortunate in our society to decide if the primarily "core value" equal access to opportunities for self advancement for all Jamaicans (regardless of statue or status) is in, and of itself a core value?
It is from that primary core value that all our other flow. ...but if you think that value put on each individual as person...worthy of all the best there is to offer is nonsense...worth merely a laugh...then 'free education for all', excellent health services, access to and maximizing on our resources, etc., etc. and expressions such as the "task of the next generation is economic freedom" ...will mean nothing to you!
The depth of these percepts enunciated in 1938 by NW Manley will mean nothing to you...much less its relevance in this the 21st century -
No amount of economic good will make our people a real unity. All efforts will be wasted unless the masses of the people are steadily taken along the path in which they will feel more and more that this place is their home, that it is their destiny. They will then do more for it, more work, more effort, more thinking, more sacrifice, more discipline, and more honesty than by any other measure you can bring in this country.
NW Manley - 1938
"I say that the mission of my generation was to win self-government for Jamaica. To win political power which is the final power for the black masses of my country from which I spring. I am proud to stand here today and say to you who fought that fight with me, say it with gladness and pride: Mission accomplished for my generation". "And what is the mission of this generation?… It is…reconstructing the social and economic society and life of Jamaica".
Yes Islandman, think on all that our island-nation has not yet achieved and it is all wrapped up in staying true to the core values of the PNP. ...surely if the coming generation had that unfettered access that which would allow self-actualization then minimal crime, transformation development along all necessary paths...would occur?
Laugh, my friend!
...the politicians nuh mos offen tek wi fi fool!
Last edited by Karl; June 22, 2010, 05:00 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
that is why it is still "core" because it never grow pon neither side.
Wha happen? dem figet fi water it?Last edited by Assasin; June 22, 2010, 04:28 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postdem not only tek yuh fi fool , dem play yuh fi one...like a gig at dat!
time yuh move past that nonsense because those core values a gather dust somewhere."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWhen you have a gun to you head, there is always a will.
"Drivah, tun round dis b********************** bus and go de right way!"
LOL!
Well said, boss!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
my point is that "core values" of which you speak, is not monopolised by a political party and may well be what don 1 calls a dead paradigm.
a jamaica wi a defend now
While Tisona had 'most favoured person' status in the eyes of the boss in Jamaica House, two ministers in the Seaga-led Government, Tony Abrahams in Tourism and Brascoe Lee in Agriculture, told me, at the time of Tisona's conviction, that on separate official trips they had made to Israel in the 1980s they were approached by Government officials who told them that Tisona, who was being paraded as an agricultural expert in Jamaica, was in fact an Israeli mobster.
Both men told me that on their return they took the information to Prime Minister Seaga. Tisona continued as the guru of Jamaica's new launch into high-tech agriculture until it became bankrupt, lost $48 million and continued to rack up debt until the 550 acres of farmland in Clarendon was leased to High-Tech Farms in 2001, a joint venture between Jamaican and Chinese investors. That, too, bombed miserably.
While Tisona was in Jamaica, planes were leased specifically to fly out the winter vegetables to the US. The planes flew over from Colombia early in the morning, arrived in Jamaica then were loaded with winter vegetables after which they took off.
Dem really need fi investigate Seaga yes. Next ting we find out that is Seaga is (or was) the real head of the Shower Posse.