Our business! - Business of JA's T&F - Penn Relays bounty

sickko, its not just athletes that will need to benefit... its not just athletes that attend the participating schools that struggle to make it to penn relays... if some athletes can benefit then all the better...

Drake relays is the same weekend and could be even cheaper to get to.

Even if Penn can fund the schoolers, they could maybe fund TJB and the High school coaches. It costs the schools lots of US$ to send teams there every year and Jamaica aint exactly cashy at the moment.

Penn should get creative real fast, afterall, we have a long and successful history together.

Drake is an option that Jamaica should consider....if only to use as leverage to extract benefits from Penn. Drake is nowhere near as attractive as Penn from a historical and location standpoint...it's in the middle of the potato belt with no large Jamaican pop nearby to support our teams...plus it's nowhere near the prestige.

However we should consider talking to Drake University and even send some teams there.... Penn will pay attention to possible competition for Jamaican athletes supporters and dollars

In the business of sports..We should have interests...not friends

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
          Thank you Sickko - people them have their meet going since 1894.
          They do not owe us anything! ...it is for us to sell our product! ...and I think what Patrick is doing is, the opening gambit in the sales presentation process.

We have a product (our outstanding athletes)...is the PENN authorities a willing buyer?

Go to it guys! There is value to be received/a sale can be made/closed.
          Last edited by Karl; June 19, 2010, 09:02 PM.

The other product is the loyal fan base.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
              Tell that first to some of those on the diaspora committee - who only seeking front page fame!!

Tell that too to those who benefit from student loans and who won't pay it back.

Tell that too to most of those who live in Jamaica, and are so damn selfish, don't give back a thing, and can't volunteer for anything "unless them a get something out of it".

Yuh know how much of them out there that benefit to Univ. level by my little group, and if they're asked to even go to a function at their alma mater, or take time to motivate a kid in school,them nuh have the time, and blah, blah excuses.
              You are correct about some seeking front page frame only.

All I have to say is a boycott would not hurt us , meaning the schools moreso the fans and if thats the case boycott , lets see Penns reaction.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                  Based on personal knowledge, I know Penn does a lot for Jamaican students! I am sure of it.
                  I also have personal knowledge of Jamaicans who have attended the University and benefited tremendously.