• Police officer comes clean

<DIV id=printReady>

Police officer comes clean
    published: Sunday | December 24, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody yJQdZ="true">

Police and military personnel packing over 1,868 pounds of ganja seized in Old Harbour Bay, St. Catherine, during an operation led by Operation Kingfish in August. Some corrupt police get involved in the drug trade. - File

"For years and years they will sit down and operate in league with the dealers and you will never know because they don't show their wealth as our male counterparts do."

"I enlisted in the Jamaica Constabulary Force in the 1980s, and from as early as training school, we were taught to adhere to the esprit de corps code, where no matter what a member of our training squad did we were not expected to pass information on to our superiors. we were actually told that they did not like persons that gave them information on others.

"In the case where a rule was broken and the offending student constable could not be identified, the entire squad would be punished. We would beam with pride during our punishment, knowing we stood up for our colleague and the code.

Simulation exercises

"Supporting an offending student constable in his wrongful acts would create an expectation that the courtesy would be returned if required. Any member of a squad that decided to stand up for discipline and refused to support the breaking of the rules would be isolated.

"We were told that the things we are taught in training would not always correspond with the occurrences in the real world. Therefore, the simulation exercises became irrelevant and were just done to enhance our chances of getting better pass marks in our exams.

"The keeping of the station diary is one of the duties that a lot of emphasis was placed on, because this book is used to document the actions and movement of police personnel, dates and times of occurrences and properties in the possession of the police, including for safekeeping and otherwisel.

"During the tour of duty one morning, we stopped a Bedford truck, driving along the main thoroughfare in our police division towards the wharfs.

"The sub-officer sat in the car while the woman constable stood on the outside; I did the routine checks of the documents. I noticed, however, that the driver was acting suspiciously. I called the sub-officer and proceeded to search the vehicle, (which) was filled with compressed ganja.

"I asked the driver a few questions, but, realising we were 'freshers', he turned to the corporal and started to call some names that I would later learn are prominent business men in our society, even today.

"The acting corporal came and told us to wait in the car. about half an hour later, the truck drove off and the sub-officer came and sat in the car. he gave us $15,000 each, and told us that this was our baptism in the real world.

"I asked no questions, neither did my fellow junior colleague. making so much money in one night answered everything. One thing I knew was that for the acting corporal to have given us so much money, he would have kept a lot for himself. I wanted to start my own game.

Methods

"On another occasion, he demonstrated some of the methods he used when collecting money.

"After my orientation in the Criminal Investigation Bureau (CIB), I was assigned to the department permanently. My fellow junior colleague was assigned to the general office as the firearm clerk.

"Some, now highly placed officers in the JCF, were involved in the drug-trafficking trade, the divisional detective inspector (DDI) at the time, recruited about three of us to offer protection and even physically load ganja planes or boats. By then I had done about six yea

RE: Police officer comes clean

'Corrupt cops - a real problem'
    published: Sunday | December 24, 2006

Daraine Luton, Sunday Gleaner Reporter

IF THE testimony of two inner-city youngsters are to be taken as gospel, some police are deeply involved in stolen motor vehicle rackets that have taken root in the country.

Charlesand Garthare in their early 20s. Last month, both spent two weeks in police lock-up after they tried to sell auto parts from a motor vehicle they had stolen. The men said they negotiated the sale over the telephone but were not aware that their prospective customers were cops. Despite the area being ranked as one of Jamaica's toughest ghettos, with many zinc-fence getaways, police outwitted both men and managed an arrest with few hiccups. But, what seemed like a genuine arrest to many who witnessed the men being shoved into a police service vehicle turned out to be a roast.

While refusing to be quoted in this article, one of the men said they were never charged, even though they were locked up for days. He said that after being taken to one police station earlier that day, they were later transferred to another prominent lock-up. No charges were ever laid, but the men said they were promised freedom for $200,000.

Family members came up with the funds which they paid over to the police to secure the men's release.

"It is a real problem. We don't have information to point to the extent of it, but police have been involving themselves in these corrupt practices," Deputy Superintendent of police (DSP) Dayton Henry, head of the Internal Affairs and Anti-Corruption Division, says.

Anti-corruption unit

The police anti-corruption unit was formed to combat incidence of corruption in the force. Since its inception in July last year, the unit has clipped the wings of 91 rogue cops who have been labelled traitors. While statistics could not be immediately ascertained for the kinds of corrupt practices in which police arrested have been implicated, DSP Henry says the anti-corruption unit has arrested a few police officers in motor vehicle-theft rings and are investigating others.

Earlier this year, a constable attached to the City Centre Police Station was arrested by a joint Flying Squad/Anti-Corruption team in connection with a stolen motor vehicle. This matter is now before the courts.

The JCF has never denied that corruption is taking place within its organisation. Last June, Commis-sioner Lucius Thomas openly accused his officers of corrupt practices. In a private speech to his members that was leaked to journalists, Mr. Thomas said that there are some officers who regularly tipped off criminals before raids, supplied gunmen with ammunition and recruited drug couriers to smuggle narcotics abroad.

"We have criminals among us," he said. "It is not only corporals, sergeants, and inspectors. It goes all the way up," he said.

According to police data, 32 officers were arrested for criminal violations, seven of whom were charged with drug-related offences during 1999. In September that year, then Commissioner Francis Forbes transferred the entire 91-member Special Anti-Crime Task Force because of allegations that some members were involved in unprofessional and possibly criminal conduct.

In fact, the Professional Standards Branch (PSB) of the JCF was set up to investigate reports of police abuse and corruption. According to data out of the PSB, between January and June 2006 the branch investigated 35 cases of corruption.

Nineteen of these cases were between January and March, while 16 were place in the period April to June 2006. And between January 1 and December 31, 2005, some 66 files were sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) for ruling as to whether criminal action should be taken against bad cops. The DPP ruled that 42 of those police should be criminally charged, but it was unclear how many of these officers were brought in on corruption charges.

The Special Task Force on Crime report, a study chaired by former Police Comm

The silence on this article is deafening. I guess some are too embarrassed to know that all these years they have fought the work of human rights organisations while cheering the "excellent" police work by people like SSP Adams. Of course, when these cops were acquitted, they took it as evidence that they had done nothing wrong.

Again, I feel absolved. Your apologies, after years of making me and others look like criminal-lovers, are not necessary!

Maybe now, we can begin to listen to the communities who have long claimed that there was no shootout and that police had indeed planted guns. I did not need this article to know that that went on. Yes, communities do protect their gunmen, but when we law-abiding citizens protect gunmen in the form of police officers, what's worse!?!

a chrismusiyah.

the firebrand cleric them will come back come January 2

i think its old news. Nothing he said here is new I think thats why the silence.

And you're right! It is old news! Then why were so many people cussing me and the JFJ when all we have been trying to do is clean up the police force and bring justice to black people?!?! Why did people make it seem like the police were always the good guys?

Yes, this foolishness happens in every police foce around the world, but it is chronic when it comes to Jamaica.

Dem ting a gwaan fi a long time. I know a person, when the individual a conduct surveillance of drug dealers, he does not notify the local cops. One time he claimed that every person at a particular station was on the take, and I thought he was exaggerating!

as a former officer told me 'tings affi gwaan".

Happy New Year, Mr.President.

Sir, police officers can't possibly see selling ganja and taxing motorists as a serious offense,not when we live in a society that accepts and encourages extra-judicial killings.

Really, the commissioner of police, the avaricious capitalists, the so-called intellects(those atop the mountain busy pulling up the ladder),and the Govt are blameworthy;they have been subverting our police force.

Blessed

Karl, we can't eat our cake and have it too,you can't have a police force that routinely involved in summary executions that isn't corrupted to the core.

We can fix the murder problem(regarding the barefoot man) if all the murderers become police officers.

Blessed

Rockman (1/1/2007)Karl, we can't eat our cake and have it too,you can't have a police force that routinely involved in summary executions that isn't corrupted to the core.
                      We can fix the murder problem(regarding the barefoot man) if all the murderers become police officers.

Blessed
                      Corruption has been around forever - The Traffic Examiner, the Parish Council employees and the Local Government officials, the school teachers who dip intogrants, the merchants who by-pass the 'official'routeto improtant goods &amp; the custom officers who facilitate the by-passing, the central government workers - who are paid to wear a towell around the neck and and report to work for a few hours per day &amp; their bosses who do same and facilitate their 'underlings' doing the foregoing, the pastors who do not live only by the agreed contracted with the 'church'...but, dip regularly into the collection plate, the cops, the lawyers, the surveyers, revenue officers &amp; employees, the taxi-operators, the bus operators, theJUTA man and the JUTA women, the accountants whoroutinely steal, the parents and guardians who set examples for the kids to accepty as normal...

...yup! ..there is a saying, "it is easy to destroy, hard to build"!..but, guess what, REBUILDING CAN BE DONE and MUST BE DONE!

FORWARD!