Bricktop...Jamaica music lyrics —trigger of violence?

Hmmm...what's wrong with this sequence?

Originally posted by Bricktop
    ...it has been shown that violent lyrics affect those that are already predisposed to such behaviour...but why let facts get in the way of emotions....
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Don1
    What is amazing is that the fellow concedes that the negative music leads or may lead to violence in those already predisposed..
    Originally posted by Bricktop
    Obviously comprehension is not your strong suit...never said anything of the sort...try again...
    Just what does violent lyrics do to those already predisposed to violence? Turn them into boy scouts??

You are either deranged, inebriated, mentally retarded or a barefaced liar.

The jury is still out on the issue.

Why the predisposition of the individuals? Try and answer this time...

So thats not enough for you to have a problem with it?

And by "predisposed to such behaviour" , does that mean due to thier natural tendendices or due to the environment that they are living in?

The reality is that no amount of gun lyrics is going to make the typical uptown youth want to engage in gun crimes. For them it is like John Wayne or the Godfather, mostlyfantasy. Not so for the typical ghetto youth.
        It's not the music making them want to pick up a gun...ask the data if you don't believe me...

Why the predisposition of the individuals? Try and answer this time...
          don't change the subject with your red herring amateur psychology... your lie...let's be charitable...your contradiction has been exposed

American Psychological Assn study links violent lyrics with increased tendencies towards violence..... IN COLLEGE STUDENTS to ****************!!

One can try to imagine the impact on Jamaican ghetto kids already inured to violence

chat bout

http://blogcritics.org/music/article...se-aggression/

don't change the subject with your red herring amateur psychology... your lie...let's be charitable...your contradiction has been exposed
              The subject hasn't changed yuh just never got it to begin with. Mine yuh trip while backpedaling

very lame...yuh outa yuh depth big time

head for shore

Show me where the subject changed? They have classes for what you suffer from you know

yuh rite...I do tend to suffer fools far too much

haffi fine ah class fi dat

It's not the music making them want to pick up a gun...ask the data if you don't believe me...
                      BT, figet data, the lyrics really have an influence. Remember the data you are citing, the woman said she did not study the effects of dancehall or something like that.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Only a fool would make such a statement without first analyzing the data...it has been shown that violent lyrics affect those that are already predisposed to such behaviour...but why let facts get in the way of emotions....
                        Predisposed? In what way, genetically? How does one become predisposed to violence? Their environment? family background? Negative influences and elements that they are exposed to?

So basically you agree that violent lyrics affects poor inner city men from dysnfuctional backgrounds? lol Thats exactly my point! lol Unless, of course, you believe people are genetically predisposed to violence.

that's America. what does the Ja. Psychological Assn or UWI say?

I never bought the "catharsis" argument anyway because other studies have shown that temper tantrums don't decrease negativity, they increase it. I don't want to censor anyone, but I do want artists to take responsibility for their creative actions - "just reflecting reality" is a cop out.

that's America. what does the Ja. Psychological Assn or UWI say?
                              We might know in 50 years or so

"increase in aggressive thoughts and feelings.."

Didn't realize di yutes were going around shooting people with their thoughts...this institution did wonders for me maybe it can do something for you: http://www.richmond.edu/admission/index.html