Bricktop...Jamaica music lyrics —trigger of violence?

• Bricktop...Jamaica music lyrics —trigger of violence?

The debate has intensified since lethal police raids in a slum that is the home turf of an alleged drugs and arms trafficker whose violent lifestyle is glorified in lyrics of a music called dancehall.

Reporting from Kingston, Jamaica —
    Ova di wall, Ova di wall

Put yuh AK ova di wall…

Blood a go run

Get dispatches from Times correspondents around the globe delivered to your inbox with our daily World newsletter. Sign up »

Like Dunns River Fall.

Blood flowing like waterfalls. Brains floating like feathers out of a torn pillow. Women submitting to the whims of neighborhood "dons."

The images are typical of dancehall, a popular Jamaican music style that has sparked a furious debate over whether it merely reflects an increasingly violent society or somehow contributes to the mayhem.

Some of dancehall's most popular performers, including Elephant Man, who wrote "Ova di Wall," use hyperviolent lyrics that chronicle the exploits of "badmanism," the cult of gun-toting gangs. Some are also criticized as misogynistic and anti-gay.

The national debate has intensified in the aftermath of lethal police raids last month in the Tivoli Gardens slum that is the home turf of Christopher "Dudus" Coke, the alleged drugs and arms trafficker whose violent lifestyle is glorified in dancehall lyrics.

Community leader Henley Morgan, a pastor who runs a social outreach program in the lower-class Trenchtown district where reggae legend Bob Marley grew up, worries that the extreme songs of dancehall, a successor to ska, rocksteady and reggae, could be "dictating the culture."

"This is music that is coming out of what we call garrisons, or ghettos that have been politicized. Violent dancehall has a lot of profanity, glorifies guns and degrades women," Morgan said. "Not all dancehall promotes violence, but it's the songs with raunchy lyrics that get played."

Youths interviewed recently seemed torn between their enjoyment of a genre that is perfect "jumping up," or dance, music and their aversion to the lyrics' often explicit messages.

"These are things the Jamaican middle class doesn't want to hear, but they happen in our society," said Adrian Demetrius, a 20-year-old telemarketer who was interviewed one Saturday night amid the din of a popular dance club here called Quad. "Dancehall is just bringing it to the mainstream."

As the music's influence has grown, Jamaica's Broadcasting Commission has tried to impose rules on radio stations to limit explicit language. But dancehall's enormous popularity has frustrated those efforts fueled competition among the island's radio stations to play the most outrageous tunes, said Donna Hope, a Jamaican music expert and professor at the University of the West Indies.

Hope said the music is a reflection of inner city reality and a product of "the social environment from which it has emerged."

"It's the old chicken-and-egg question that doesn't have a clear answer," said Hope, who has written several books on Jamaica's musical heritage. "I don't believe the simplistic analysis that music is responsible for social violence. If we have a huge bloody set of incidents, you can be sure they will be documented in music, just as, I assure you, the Tivoli Gardens operation soon will be."

Many performers write songs that glorify gang dons like Coke in exchange for patronage and local gigs, music journalist and lecturer Dennis Howard wrote in a recent issue of Jamaica Journal magazine. But the relationships are highly competitive and can turn deadly. Two Kingston performers, Oneil Edwards and Mad Cobra, were shot in early May under mysterious circumstances; Edwards died.

"Enough is enough," Barbados Education Minister Ronald Jones said to local reporters in March after authorities denied Jamaican artists Vybz Kartel and Mavado permission to perform. Jones insisted that there was a link between dancehall music and increasingly aggressive behavior exhibited by young people in Barbados.

Don McDowell, a 40-year veteran of the music business as a Kingston studio owner and music producer, agrees with that viewpoint.

"Jamaica's popular music needs a cleansing, a move away from the promotion of drug use, explicit sexual content and violence," said McDowell, who is now also a Christian preacher. "Dancehall is not the root cause of violence and declining moral standards, but it is a contributor."

Even some dancehall practitioners think that some songs' suggestive violence may have gotten out of hand. Performer Michael Davey, whose stage name is Powerman Stone, said in an interview outside the popular Mix Up Studios:

"If you take a man to the top of the building and you say 'jump,' he won't do it. But if he hears it in a piece of music, it somehow fascinates him."

Kraul is a special correspondent.
    textSize()
    Copyright © 2010, The Los Angeles Times

You posting this to help your case or sink it?

Only a fool would deny that the violent lyrics and glorifying of gun men excerbates the problems in jamaica, especially when you combine that with the absence of fathers/father figures in many households.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
        Only a fool would deny that the violent lyrics and glorifying of gun men excerbates the problems in jamaica, especially when you combine that with the absence of fathers/father figures in many households.
        you're very harsh on Brickie... cut the fella some slack

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
          Only a fool would make such a statement without first analyzing the data...it has been shown that violent lyrics affect those that are already predisposed to such behaviour...but why let facts get in the way of emotions....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            [B]
            "Enough is enough," Barbados Education Minister Ronald Jones said to local reporters in March after authorities denied Jamaican artists Vybz Kartel and Mavado permission to perform. Jones insisted that there was a link between dancehall music and increasingly aggressive behavior exhibited by young people in Barbados.
            Could we see the data...or is this just another one who likes to yap?

Gun chune deh bout from long long time plus a nuff more entertainer dead by gun an badness inna 80's. Dem a use dis as an excuse yah now kah tings get hot. Dem fi call di spade right, nobady nuh business wid di ghetto dem, nuh wuk nah create fi di mothers dem feed di yout dem. Suh wah, ah jus di gunnis di yout dem si an dem hungry. Suh ah suh di ting set. Ah free zone di mek di mother's them couldah provide fi dem yout inna dem time, Dis yah di come een like ah work institution, wid people ah guh ah wuk an most a dem a di mother's. At least di yout dem wouldah si mamma ah duh some work fi earn ah ting. Now nutten nah gwaan suh mamma haffi mek yout guh pan di frontline ah deal wid di ting trait up anyway, anyhow.
              Last edited by myYout; June 14, 2010, 01:12 PM.

I have no case boss. I listen to dancehall. Some good some bad. I know you have keen interest hence the reason for the post.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                  I have no case boss. I listen to dancehall. Some good some bad. I know you have keen interest hence the reason for the post.
                  What is amazing is that the fellow concedes that the negative music leads or may lead to violence in those already predisposed..

So once the predisposed are triggered by the incitement of negative messages in the music to commit criminal acts because it is "fashionable"...isn't that a problem? Not in his warped reality apparently...

Then again...whatever can make money for these types is A OK.

What is amazing is that the fellow concedes that the negative music leads or may lead to violence in those already predisposed..
                    Obviously comprehension is not your strong suit...never said anything of the sort...try again...

...it has been shown that violent lyrics affect those that are already predisposed to such behaviour...but why let facts get in the way of emotions....
                      you don't even know what you say.... very confused

Because you don't have nuh sense I am confused?

nope...because you contradict yourself so readily

it has been shown that violent lyrics affect those that are already predisposed to such behaviour...
                            So thats not enough for you to have a problem with it?

And by "predisposed to such behaviour" , does that mean due to thier natural tendendices or due to the environment that they are living in?

The reality is that no amount of gun lyrics is going to make the typical uptown youth want to engage in gun crimes. For them it is like John Wayne or the Godfather, mostlyfantasy. Not so for the typical ghetto youth.

Really? Instead of tackling the issue you look for scapegoats. You ever thought of going into politics? Who cares what led to the predisposition let's ban dancehall instead...silly fellow...