• Spin notwithstanding... Violence clobbers tourism

Hoteliers hit hard by unrest

Published: Saturday | June 12, 2010 2 Comments and 0 Reactions

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer

WESTERN BUREAU: OCCUPANCY LEVELS in the tourist resorts are down, forward bookings are dismal, and Kingston hotels are reporting declines in business of up to 70 per cent in some cases.

The fallout, blamed on the recent unrest, threatens to cripple the island's lifeblood industry: tourism.

"This is an economic recession all over again due to the bad press," laments President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA), Wayne Cummings.

He is predicting widespread layoffs of hospitality workers and a severe cash crunch if the situation continues.

According to Cummings, the cascading effect will negatively impact linkages that depend on the industry. These include the country's farmers, taxi operators, restaurants and attractions.

"The phones are barely ringing, and with forward bookings looking this dismal, it is causing us great concern."

worried about summer, fall

Cummings is worried about the summer and the fall, which are critical to the island's hospitality sector. "The fall is virtually non-existent, and we were pacing very nicely prior to the west Kingston issue."

The Kingston hotels hardest hit are not about to take this type of medicine lying down and have started to craft a number of strategies. On Monday, they plan to meet with the diplomatic community, the American Chamber of Commerce, the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ) and a number of other business entities.

The aim is to garner support from these groups as the hoteliers march on the road. They want the diplomats and other lobbies to help them send the message that Kingston is again ready for business.

I notice Cummings is never part of that spin team. Him is a comrade?

We prefer the term termites...

this was yesterday report from Cummings

North Coast rebound
        North coast hotel bookings on the rebound

North coast hotels are reportedly seeing some recovery in bookings following a spike in cancellations in the aftermath of last month's unrest in West Kingston.
        This is in stark contrast to hotels in Kingston which have suffered a plunge in occupancy due to the postponement of several major events such as the Diaspora conference and cricket matches.
        President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) Wayne Cummings says properties outside the Corporate Area have seen their bookings steadily improve.
        “The north coast has fared much better I think we have recouped somewhat from the heavy cancellations that we were getting have started to rebook,”
        “The occupancy levels are holding but the forward bookings are the concern on the north coast and we are looking to re-engage the travel trade on the market to try and shore up the rest of the summer and the fall,” Mr. Cummings said.

another article

Weathering the 'Tivoli' storm
          The effects of the gun battles that ensued in downtown Kingston last month are still ricocheting in the hospitality sector of the city as it picks up the pace and moves ahead to recover from the scars that the chain of events has left on the city. From drop-in arrivals to cancellation of room bookings, Kingston's hotels are feeling the heat.
          But resilience and planning are the key to getting back on the track.
          "The Kingston area hotels were affected negatively by the events in downtown Kingston and saw drop-off in arrivals as well as cancellations," confirmed Nicola Madden-Greig, chairman, Kingston chapter of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association (JHTA) and group director of marketing and sales, The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites.
          "It is important to note, however, that all area hotels were at 100 per cent operational capacity throughout the events and was not affected in any way," she added." All hotels had guests arriving and departing during the initial day and still continue to welcome guests, albeit in reduced numbers."
          The JHTA executive said that the hospitality sector in the capital city, promoted as 'The Heartbeat of Jamaica' is ready to pulsate next week as two major events are being hosted.
          The Expo Jamaica 2010 (June 17-20) and Caribbean Fashionweek (June 15-20) are being seen as the comeback vehicles for Kingston; organised in conjunction with the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) and the promoters of the events, the JHTA is using the opportunity to showcase the high points.
          "We are utilising both traditional and social media to publicise the activities as we look towards welcoming numerous regional and international visitors," Madden-Greig told Hospitality Jamaica.
          The JHTA is also keeping pace with its marketing initiatives; this was coupled by the visit of a United States-based journalist last weekend.
          "He (the journalist) participated in the Appleton Jamaica Grill-Off, visited area hotels and attractions including Craighton Estate, where the famous Blue Mountain Coffee is made, as well as Saturday night he went club-hopping to some of Kingston's hottest night spots," Madden-Greig said.
          The chapter plans to keep up the momentum and bring in other travel writers to experience Kingston first-hand over the next few weeks. According to Madden-Greig, the JHTA Kingston members will be participating as much as possible in the upcoming JTB sales blitzes to the United States, Canada and United Kingdom markets.
          Corporate bodies have also been called upon to partner with the association in soliciting both regional and international conferences and meetings.
          The diaspora is also being targeted, encouraging them to come and pump in the 'heartbeat' for the 'Emancipendence' period (August 1-7). "JHTA Kingston members will be participating in the Experience Jamaica Campaign with media launch scheduled for June 15," she said. "We are inviting our fellow Jamaicans to get to know their capital city and experience its rich culture and entertainment."
          The message is clear, Kingston is gearing to ride the summer and beyond with its unique offerings as a business and cultural hub of Jamaica that the visitors can savour and relish.
          Send feedback to amitabh.sharma@ hotmail.com

It proves your theory that the violence was good for business

again where did I say that?

It is fact that you always see the negitives, never anything positive so it nuh surprise me you trying to spin what I said.

Your problem is yuh cyaan si furdah dan yuh nose...

Drivah looking down di road.. is dat drivah duh.. passengah muss kibba dem mout especially ones in di back of di bus..

Gelding is a liad corrupt incompetent...end of story

You continue spinning... leave analysis for analysts

oh well.. name calling level yuh reach..

boring...

Where you see me spinning?
                        You choose to post only negitives when there are many other reports that are positive. I also can decide for myself and I do read extensively on the subject. When you have no answer you post rumours.

What is there to analyse here? Unnu claim tourism bottom drop out and it isn't. Like any other resort area when you have problem it provides an oppurtunity to go out and sell, not to lay down and play dead. Jamaica have an oppurtunity to go to the marketplace and say we are open for business, what is wrong with that? You want them say Because Bruce Golding lie we a go shut the hotels?

I never claimed "tourism bottom drop out"...I merely post pieces I find interesting..... amid laughing at your attempts at painting rosy pictures of the regime you adore

reach??? mi ah kall out di liad fi months now ...

THIS IS YOUR WORDS
                              "Spin notwithstanding... Violence clobbers tourism"

Not Mine. It is your heading.