• A Deficit Of Leadership Published: Friday | June 11, 20100 C

A Deficit Of Leadership
    Published: Friday | June 11, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
    "In a democracy, the people get the government they deserve" (attributed to Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-1859).

JAMAICA SUFFERS from a deficit of leadership. I believe one of the reasons the calls for Prime Minister Bruce Golding to resign are not louder is that there is no obvious person of quality in the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) at this time to take over the leadership of the party and the government!

I also believe that one of the reasons the calls for the Government to resign are not louder is that there is profound (and wise) reluctance to return to a People's National Party (PNP) government under its current leadership.

One cannot forget Edward Seaga's statement made when he was leader of the Opposition, that there was no one in his party who was capable of replacing him as leader. If that was true, it was largely his doing, as earlier he had presided over the departure from his party of several persons of quality who might have been prime ministerial material.

And this is the conundrum facing any political leader: how to hold on to leadership while at the same time encourage the emergence of a cadre of new blood - quality material - able to provide for an orderly leadership succession; after all, persons with the ability to lead may develop that ambition, and might challenge the incumbent for the top spot before they are ready to go! The tendency is for rulers to hold on to power while purging the party of leadership competition, which means that when the day for a leadership change arrives there will be few, if any, suitable candidates!

The PNP has been better at holding on to high-quality leadership material, although its recent succession has been a messy struggle. Their difficulty is their long romance with the garrison model of political leadership they copied from Seaga. Almost all their current crop of senior leaders have been schooled in the old politics, which is why they have a hard time selling themselves as agents of change. The party may have a cast of suitable succession characters, but most cut from the same old mould, with little reason to choose them, and without exceptional quality to help to choose between them.

Quite content

Civil society also lacks good quality leadership. The captains of Jamaican industry have largely been content to sit back and collaborate with the political leadership, as long as there is no interference with their ability to make money. Civic leaders, with the exception of a few visionaries and malcontents like those pesky environmentalists and human-rights activists, assume very little moral leadership.

In my community-level work over the last decades I have so often seen good up-and-coming local leaders directed away from lives of civic service by offers of partisan position. Once in politics, these persons become tribal and unsuited for the sort of impartial community leadership our society needs. Over the last decades, our political parties have starved our society of quality leadership material by suborning much of it.

The Church also suffers from a deficit of quality leadership. Religious leadership requires persons not too enamoured by the things and pleasures of this world. In our highly materialistic and sexualised culture, persons like this are getting harder and harder to find. And in an excessive effort to choose ministers who are doctrinally 'safe' (i.e., orthodox) the Church often deprives herself of persons who might be able, with the maturity which comes in later life, to provide it with sound leadership.

Exemplary persons needed

And so, at this time of crisis when Jamaica is poised to make a great moral leap forward in its politics and its social arrangements, it suffers a deficit of leadership in the Church, in civil society and in the political arena. We need exemplary persons to take us forward into the new Jamaica - sustainable development without garrisons and endemic corruption. South Africa had Nelson Mandela and Desmond Tutu, India had Mahatma Ghandi, and Singapore had Lee Kuan Yew. Jamaica needs visionary leadership capable of true nation building rather than party building. From whence will this leadership come?

"In a revolution, as in a novel, the most difficult part to invent is the end" - Alexis de Tocqueville.

Peter Espeut is a sociologist and a Roman Catholic Deacon.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dismantling a garrison — the rough guide
    Franklin Johnston

Friday, June 11, 2010

STEP 1: take 200 police, give them big guns; ply them with "whites", let them loose and pray God help us! A garrison is people, so talk of "dismantling" (take apart) may reprise "Chainsaw Massacre" but it is the wrong idea. Still, shedding "legal blood" and tough love will help. But what are the lessons from the Tivoli action? Check these!
    Lesson 1. Give criminals notice so they escape. The assault on Tivoli is an unintended consequence of Bruce's acts to hinder due process and help his pal. He dithered. Dudus scooted and despite his indecision the security forces acted but they were too late. To invade Tivoli was an afterthought; he was between a rock and the US, and had no choice.
    COKE... seize his assets to pay for loss of life and property.
    1/1
    Lesson 2: If you kill many, people "tink yuh serious". Scorecard: the police kill 72 and criminals kill one! This did not touch organised crime. We saw no heavy weapons, drugs, or wanted men. But for Bruce's meddling, Dudus's case would be ending and we would have no rift with the US! Tivoli's body count is not about fighting crime -- it's politics. The 73 bodies are the price we pay for one man who screwed up, to crawl back into Obama's good books.
    Lesson 3: The taxman can get all dons as the US did Al Capone. Send them a tax levy and when they dispute it, income and assets will emerge. Seize Dudus's assets to pay for loss of life and property and freeze all assets as they fuel crime!
    Lesson 4: Let foreigners pay for our crimes. The plan to raise US$1b on the back of 73 corpses is brilliant! Which psycho thought it up? Make it retroactive to January so we get US$10b for the 750 murdered! Cabinet told us to sacrifice for the debt and we gave up billions to JDX. Minister Shaw now borrows for a corrupt garrison slush fund - no studies, or budgets. Is it cynical to kill 73 people to beg cash for ghetto projects? They don't get it! It's not about money, it's about changing hearts and minds! Please, no more debt for us!
    Lesson 5: Cabinet must not reward lawbreakers. Tivoli was a "Grass Yard" squatter area, yet it has two PMs as MP since 1962, massive benefits and it usurped the patrimony of others. No settled constituency was this fortunate or made our lives as miserable as these usurpers. Rebel people must no longer get a bly over law-abiding ones! Minister Holness is the JLP hope and soon-to-be prime minister. Sir, do not be sucked into old corruption! You know middle class is not house and car! We study, work, school our kids to get there; let Tivoli do the same! Many legacy districts settled since 1836 have no light or piped water, and voters must punish all rural MPs who sell out constituents to back this Tivoli plan! Eddie took Tivoli from "Dungle" to a showpiece. He built his power base on transients, shaped its values to his whim and it proved an ungrateful monster! No legacy district (with many poor people) is a garrison, or has dons and all garrisons are built on transient, disoriented people -- on sand! No more privilege for Tivoli. They got a lot, give other poor areas some blessing now! The boisterous urban poor must not be favoured above the patient rural poor. We must not reward threats and violence! Bless the police!
    Lesson 6: Donors must give to civil society. They must not give government as it feeds political patronage and corruption! NGOs must lead Tivoli's transformation. Tivoli must come back to Jamaica --ßnot we to them! To decant the values embedded by Eddie and Bruce, Tivoli needs Father Ho Lung, NGOs, police and the public defender, not money!
    Lesson 7: In the taxonomy of habitable space a ghetto is not a garrison. Our ghetto people "come from country", squat and demand "house and land". Jews had no country and were sent into ghettos. They had faith and self-reliance. They educated their own; made shoes, furniture, clothes; wrote books, baked bagels; trained musicians, writers, Nobel winners and inventors -- their enemy was outside. Our people chose ghetto life -- zones of squalor, fear, illiteracy, dependence and criminals -- our enemy lives in the ghetto! Let's depopulate Tivoli. Go "back to country" and produce! Check the Gleaner from 1962 to now and see how Tivoli mash up our brand every few years. For 48 years they lived at our expense and use it to flog us! Let's give another constituency the blessing for a change!
    Lesson 8: The security forces need tactical kit and training. Let's borrow money for this. Tivoli is a concrete cul-de-sac; easy to defend, hard to breach. Their MP is PM and Commander in Chief (too much power for Bruce), torn between Dudus and his nation, so our forces are hamstrung. What were their goals? Was it an intelligence-driven, surgical action? Did they try to negotiate? Overnight, did they station a marksman with a L1153A night vision sniper rifle (kill range 1.5 miles plus, bullet speed 2,000 mph) on a Marcus Garvey feed-mill tower to cover the south exits? Did some abseil from a helicopter to the rooftop and launch pepper bombs or sound grenades through windows, fluster the enemy prior to action and so save lives? Still, kudos to Commissioner Ellington and his brave men; now on to phase 2 action! What's the plan? By the way, were the 60 guns and 12,000 bullets from the JCF Armoury? Where is the satellite phone? It's not over yet!
    Lesson 9: Tivoli needs a Truth and Reconciliation forum -- at community level and led only by the public defender. The case for restorative justice is made. Members of the community were complicit with dons in hurting other members over decades. Let's bare the facts -- not for prurient curiosity -- to see remorse and forgiveness given, as only then will Tivoli heal. The degree of garrisoning varies. Tivoli is hardcore, others are "garrison lite", but you can't exorcise community hurt and personal pain with money; only
    by truth, remorse and forgiveness. Big up those who told me of things I do not fully believe or understand. I feel you across the water! May the Force be with you! Stay conscious, my friend!
    Addendum: David Cameron, the UK's Conservative PM has just appointed Labour MP, Frank Field, as his consultant on poverty. His charge is "to think the unthinkable" and focus on "the time people spend in deep poverty, the gap between those in deep poverty and mainstream Britain, the problems of multiple deprivation and what keeps people trapped in poverty." I commend this job and the cross-party approach to our Cabinet!
    Dr Franklin Johnston is an international project manager with Teape-Johnston Consultants, currently on assignment in the UK.
    franklinjohnston@hotmail.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Waste of time to whom?
      Michael Burke

Thursday, June 10, 2010

AS you have probably gleaned from my columns since the current happenings in West Kingston and beyond, I am more concerned about where we go from here than to comment on any of the personalities involved. But I feel that I need to respond to certain statements I have seen in the print media over the last two weeks. One is my opinion and response to an editorial position on the no-confidence motion last week. The others are about the difference between fact and fabrication.
      The view was expressed in an Observer editorial last week that the no-confidence motion brought by the Opposition People's National Party was a waste of time. This view is based on the fact that the PNP, who lost the no-confidence motion, definitely knew they would lose and were happy that they lost it because the PNP is really not ready for a general election now.
      SIMPSON MILLER... hard-hitting speech
      1/1
      So why have the motion then? Am I the only one who saw it as the unofficial launch of the PNP campaign for the next general election due in 2012? Whether they win or lose the next election, the no-confidence motion was a clever political tactic on their part because the PNP has no money for an election campaign. They did not have to mobilise a rally that would cost millions of dollars that they do not have, just to bus several thousand people to a street rally.
      The PNP simply moved a vote of no-confidence in the prime minister, went to Parliament for which they are paid as MPs (also get travelling allowances to go anyway), and debated the motion. And they probably guessed that about 90 per cent of all Jamaicans would be glued to their TV sets as the no-confidence motion was regarded as a "must-see" for many Jamaicans.
      Every single speech, beginning with Portia Simpson Miller herself, was hard-hitting and resonated with the people. Did government MPs like Bobby Montague and Everald Warmington know how childish they appeared when they tried to draw "red herring" across Portia Simpson Miller's speech? They got the Speaker to enforce a rule about not reading speeches that is seldom enforced. At least their childish actions demonstrated that they were intelligent enough to know that the PNP was scoring goals.
      I want to respond to Eric Thor who has made some assumptions about me online and has been wrong on two occasions. First, although many have criticised me for writing so much about my alma mater Jamaica College, Eric Thor erroneously thought that I went to a Catholic high school just because I am Roman Catholic. Maybe I need to write about JC some more.
      Second, two weeks ago in my column. "Come forward Delroy Chuck", I referred to my cousin James Robertson. Thor then wrote that he knew I liked to "name-drop". He knows so little about me that he does not even know that I have no such need. As a Roman Catholic who is loyal to the catechism and to the social teachings of my church, I do not believe in a class system.
      I mention that James Robertson is my cousin so that no one needs to whisper about it as if it is some sort of secret to be revealed in a surprise attack. I prefer to come right out with it rather than hide it. I imagine Eric Thor felt he had to write something negative before agreeing with me that if Bruce Golding resigned, Delroy Chuck should be prime minister. But thanks, anyway, Mr Thor.
      And "Stephen F" needs to do some self-examination. Asking accusatory questions of others usually says more about the obsessions of the accuser than the accused. My suggestion about Delroy Chuck has absolutely nothing to do with his race or colour. It has to do with my understanding of the Westminster system, which is based on a united majority of MPs behind the prime minister and who I think is the best person to achieve that. I suggest that Stephen F studies the Westminster model before responding to such matters.
      And now to Jaye E Stone who does not want me to mention anything about being Roman Catholic or anything about my church. He is fighting a losing battle here because I will not allow him to set my agenda. And believe it or not, you anti-Roman Catholics worldwide, thousands of Roman Catholics here and abroad click on the Jamaica Observer online or buy this newspaper every Thursday to read my Roman Catholic views and are disappointed when I write on other topics.
      Last week, in response to my column, "From garrisons to co-operatives", someone called "Nervous Investor" wrote in the Observer online that "Jamaica has had its fair share of trouble with co-operatives" and that we need "a mentality of respect and helpfulness ... rather than a "tear-down-and-tek-weh one". I could well understand if I had suggested nationalisation where there is a takeover by civil servants or statutory bodies that do not know how to run a business. But co-operatives are privately run businesses owned jointly by their members. Respect and helpfulness are the hallmarks of co-operatives.
      ekrubm765@yahoo.com
      Digg
      Reddit
      Facebook
      StumbleUpon
      Twitter