• Migration kills the best of us .

14-Y-O Kills Self To Stop US-Bound Mother
    Published: Friday | June 11, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions

Marcia Reid bawls after her 14-year-old son committed suicide near his home in Flankers, Montego Bay, on Thursday. - Photo by Noel Thompson
    Noel Thompson, Gleaner Writer

WESTERN BUREAU:

A weeping mother has vowed to serve God and never to travel abroad for economic reasons after her son committed suicide yesterday.

Marcia Reid of Flankers, Montego Bay, cried uncontrollably after her 14-year-old son, Norris Smith, hanged himself on an ackee tree just chains from their house.

The suicide was allegedly in protest of his mother's plan to work in the United States.

Reid, a single mother of five, told The Gleaner that she had been working as a security guard on the night shift for 11 years and had become tired of struggling to make ends meet.

"Mi sit and talk with the three children now living with mi and explained the situation to them. Mi tell them mi was leaving for the US to work so life could be better for all of us.

"I told them I was going to leave them with someone, but would leave Norris with his father," a distraught Reid said.

She added: "Mi never know dem mean it when dem say if mi leave dem, they would kill themselves."

Ran off upset

The mother said she had worked Wednesday night but went to the hospital Thursday morning, as she was feeling ill. On her return home, she reminded Norris he would have to stay with his father as she was planning to leave sometime next week.

"Him just run off and the next time mi see him was when him hang himself. Oh God! Mi nuh deserve this. You want mi fi serve You and mi a go repent. Mi coming to You, God," she lamented.

Meanwhile, psychologist Dr Beverley Scott has urged parents to take suicidal threats seriously while simultaneously urging teenagers to confide in someone about their problems.

"Teenage years are very difficult years and they need to be mentored properly," she said.

noel.thompson@gleanerjm.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sad sad story. And the mother was just trying to do what she thought was good for her family

This is very heart rending.

Sad indeed...
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

One solution is to adopt a poor family in Jamaica if you can.

This is a terrible tragedy!
            God, his relatives, friends and others forgive the young man! May his soul rest on the right hand of GOD!

So sorry for the Mom and the other siblings!
            May they have the strength to overcome!