No love for Bruce downtown

• No love for Bruce downtown

HARSH criticism greeted Prime Minister Bruce Golding as he toured Coronation Market and other sections of downtown Kingston this morning.

Vendors whose livelihoods were severely impacted by last month’s unrest in West Kingston hurled words of condemnation at the prime minister and other government officials even as they sought the Government’s assistance.

“Mi nuh want nuttin to do with Bruce, mi nuh want him bout yah. A mi goods me want him gi mi back,” shouted a male vendor as he ran beside the group on Heywood Street.

Except for a group of women who sang praises as they followed the procession, the views were pretty much consistent — there was no love for Golding.

From Coronation Market to Heywood Street, to an area called ‘Back Market’, and then to the Darling Street Police station and the Rural Bus Park, Golding and his team went on foot, assessing the damage.

Golding ignored most of the tongue-lashing and later told journalists that there would be an overall refurbishing of the burnt-out market as part of the downtown redevelopment drive.

“We had a good look at it and there are some things that need to be done right away to get it back in shape following the [security forces’] operation,” Golding said. “But the larger purpose of what needs to be done is to look at how we can transform the market facilities because even before the operation, the conditions of the market left so much to be desired.”

He also asked vendors affected to register at the market office as provisions were being made to assist them.

“We had a good look at it and there are some things that need to be done right away to get it back in shape following the [security forces’] operation,” Golding said. “But the larger purpose of what needs to be done is to look at how we can transform the market facilities because even before the operation, the conditions of the market left so much to be desired.”
    We all know I want Bruce to resign, so no need to repeat it here.

But he did say something right - that hell hole called Coronation Market needs a total transformation! It is a garbage dump, a pig sty, a disease trap, all wrapped in one. Time fi wi treat poor, black people better.

Good words, Bruce! I nominate you to oversee the rehabilitation/reconstruction of the market, a post that requires you to resign as prime minister!

Do you think...if the market was transformed into a state of the art center--it would remain that way. It would not be vandalized by those same poor black people?

"Treat a man as he is and he will remain as he is. Treat a man as he can and should be and he will become as he can and should be."

exactly! it would take a little getting used to but you can put in place some things to help it long. have the vendors pay a fee to use the market (extortion?) which will go to providing security, bathroom attendant and a maintenance person. the nicer the place the more business they will do because, heaven knows, some of us don't go down there because our noses and eyes can take so much and no more!

it can be done! dem is not animal! let's expect more from downtown people! if dem cyaan pull demself up, den wi help dem!

Very wise words IslandMAN.

What prompted me to ask the question is...after seeing the levels of unnecessary vandalism......

Make them gwaan. When them build Arcade to hold the vendors. That was as good a market as it could get back then. The vendors wanted to go back on the street and bun it down more than once

it can be done! dem is not animal! let's expect more from downtown people! if dem cyaan pull demself up, den wi help dem!
                agree... that has been my point... enough of the excuses... full time we raise the expectation of people... they are no different than the rest of jamaicans... most aspire to better living... people who constantly talking bout 'is poor people dem' have no desire for the people to elevate themselves... they would rather for them to wallow in substandard conditions so they always have somebody to look down on and feel better about themselves...

raise the expectation and the people will move wid de program...

yuh sure is the vendors burn it down

When Seaga did that in the 1980s, PNP sympathizers said it was a waste of Money. Remember how Parade did criss?

This is the problem in Jamaica, we tear down good ideas if it comes from the "other" side. Time we cut the crap and come together in unity. Forces are marshalled against us to tek weh our birthright.

What we gonna do when the oil slick kills Nth Coast Tourism.

We fiddle while Rome burns.

it Bun down too many times for the vendors not to take some responsibility. If you care about your house you protect it.

What we gonna do when the oil slick kills Nth Coast Tourism.

We fiddle while Rome burns.
                        Wi nuh haffi worry bout dat. Bruce done kill off tourism with the West Kingston Massacre!

So the oil slick might work out den, just sue BP and sit back and collec! No need for no more tourist!

But hold on, me haffe ask Maudib if that was all in the plan too? Memba Bruce is 20 moves ahead of all of us so him must did sight up the oil leak ting from bout last year!

you stay deh JHTA trick unnu again. Say them lose 350 million in forward booking and a week later them say booking a pick up plus a 10 million dollar tour.

It wasn't all that bad for tourism as they said except for Kingston. The prices are great and Jamaica is attractive for now. Stay deh Bruce spin doctor them deh full force internationally saying it is the first them teking on major crimes and drugs. Somehow without knowing everything the international market like to hear that.

so the mayhem & chaos was actually good for business?? maybe we need anedda round of mass criminality to get that record growth Bartlett crows about.

your naivete is boundless