what is portia's proposal?

E.g. How about the danger presented by 'shades of gray'/shaded areas(?)/i.e. doubt on degree of culpability...not being able to impose lesser (or harsher) sentences as the occasion warrants it.

What happens when, for example, two or more persons are in a car within which an illegal gun is found?

Even if someone takes ownership of the weapon if the jury does not buy it but finds all occupants guilty...the judge's ability to apply his own 'commonsense' and previous experiences to find some of the occupants 'more guilty' than others and tailor sentencing accordingly...would have been taken away - all occupants in such a case would receive the mandatory sentence.

karl come better than dat... what do you mean by shades of grey... it's either guilty or innocent... all that would be sorted out during the case proceedings... if guilty mandatory minimum of 15 yrs for illegal possession of firearm...

you've got to raise the people's expectation and trust that the majority of people will comply...

and you're yet to say what new idea was provided by portia... and you've ye to refute that the pnp govt had more than enough time to arrest crime with aggressive policies...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
          karl come better than dat... what do you mean by shades of grey... it's either guilty or innocent... all that would be sorted out during the case proceedings... if guilty mandatory minimum of 15 yrs for illegal possession of firearm...

you've got to raise the people's expectation and trust that the majority of people will comply...

and you're yet to say what new idea was provided by portia... and you've ye to refute that the pnp govt had more than enough time to arrest crime with aggressive policies...
          Let's stick to the topic.
          What the PNP did or did not do is at this stage where this topic is concerned, is irrelevant.

I clearly explained what I meant by 'shades of gray'. 'Shades of gray', as I explained = there being 'compensating factors' which would have the judge exercise discretion when imposing his sentence.

Portia - made the clear contribution on bringing to the attention of the 'law-makers' unintended consequencies of the current bills. It was a clear case of 'Portia shouting from the top of the parliament building and pointing on the huge sinkholes' proposed by the JLP!

Cho Baddaz man wen su-madi stap yuh fram run ova preci-****************/drap innah sinkhole yuh kaul dat, no contribution?

How old are the crime bills? What alternatives are proposed. i garee that paper cant solve crime, but neither can hot air.

Both sides need to shut up and start working!!!

sticking to the topic... you had issue with my view that no new ideas were presented... thats the topic...

if they were presented, provide the evidence...

shades of gray "compensating factors' would be considered by the judge between the minimum mandatory and the maximum...

seems we will be going back and forth with this argument without agreement...

gun crimes is the biggest problem in our society and one way to reduce it is to impose harsh penalties that will deter people from possessing them...

i believe a 15 yr minimum mandatory will greatly help... lets see who really want to give up 15 yrs for something they can easily avoid... in some societies the penalty for possession is death... so it could be worse...