Anybody knows the answer to MissLondons

• Anybody knows the answer to MissLondons

question re how much a typical high school teacher in JA makes these days?

I know they got a "reasonable" renewed contract a year or 2 ago but official figures are hard to find.

I am thinking like 1000-1200 US$ per month before tax? Is that way off?

lol !

That figure seems very high, when I asked the question before. Everyone said teachers were badly paid and generally struggled financially, though they didn't give a figure. Someone earning US$1,000 a month wouldn't struggle in Jamaica.

Maudib, what is the typical wage for a teacher? Does it vary massively between private and state schools?

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
          That figure seems very high, when I asked the question before. Everyone said teachers were badly paid and generally struggled financially, though they didn't give a figure. Someone earning US$1,000 a month wouldn't struggle in Jamaica.
          yes they would!

Seriously? Thats way above the average Jamaicans wage. Of course, people can struggle financial earning millions of dollars, if they live beyond their means. But the average Jamaican, with average spending habits wouldn't really struggle on that money would they?.

And Mosiah, answer my question! lol

I am going off a few news articles like this which mention some kind of figure, which I assume was before the most recent contract was finalized (I might be wrong about that)

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead1.html

Some info

question re how much a typical high school teacher in JA makes these days?

I know they got a "reasonable" renewed contract a year or 2 ago but official figures are hard to find.

I am thinking like 1000-1200 US$ per month before tax? Is that way off?

They make enough to support themselves if they already have a house and car. A teacher's salary in Jamaica is less than *600 USD.....
                  You can try applying to public schools but private school teachers make far more.

*This is 2007 ...and it does not give a pay scale.

As I remember it the qualification of the teacher and the institution e.g. primary or secondary or tertiary would make a difference. There is also differentiation guided by level of responsibility e.g. head of dept., specialist teacher - e.g. guidance counselor, etc. - assistant principal, acting principal or principal.

---------

www.jamaicayp.com to see the names and addresses of schools that you can apply to.
                  ...also check http://go-jamaica.com/jobsmart/ regularly for listings on teaching jobs available.

I can do some research and get back to you on that.

I believe avg Govt school teachers are somewhere around the $70,000 a month range

Oh,so you do not know? So why the big dutty LOL for my estimate for HIGH school teachers salaries?

Let me help you:

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead2.html

I wonder how much else you know nothing about and run up you mouth like you know.

Define "struggle"?

It means different things to different people.

Lol !

By struggle, I mean living cheque to cheque, with little disposal income to pursue things outside of neccessities. $1000 is £690, there are people who live on less than that in UK (not teachers though lol). Of course its different if you are single mother or something, or you have a lot of dependants. Its not a lot of money, but I don't think its a bad wage for Jamaica.

Its not a bad wage compared to what the average Jamaican makes, that is true. I think the per capita income in Jamaica is estimated at 3-4K US a year. But it really would not leave you with much disposable income. Maybe in the UK the state takes care of certain services that in jamaica they do not.

For a middle class lifestyle in Jamaica that salary is a struggle. By middle class I mean, owning a car, having 1 or 2 children in school and planning to pay for post-secondary education for them, nothing extravagant but with certain basic expectations.