• Ding Dong denied Entry into Trinbag country

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...-from-Trinidad

Ding Dong barred from Trinidad
    Deejay, dancer said to be a threat to Trinidadian society
    Chat!
    Tuesday, June 08, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

Ding Dong
    var caption4594528 = document.getElementById('photocaption4594528').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://assets.mediaspanonline.com/prod/4594528/ding-dong_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4594528 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })

Ding Dong

1/1
    IT seems to be a recurring theme: Jamaican artiste barred from entering Caribbean territory. This time the artiste is deejay and dancer Ding Dong, and the Caribbean island is Trinidad.
    Ding Dong, who was scheduled to perform at an event in the twin-island republic on Saturday, did not get very far, as on reaching the Piarco International Airport in Port-of-Spain, he was informed that he would not be allowed to enter the country.
    It is alleged that the artiste has been placed on a list of Jamaican artistes who have been banned from performing in Trinidad & Tobago. One Chat! source said these artistes, including Ding Dong, have been deemed a threat to Trinidadian society and therefore cannot be allowed into the country.
    Last night, Chat! caught up with the artiste, who was still bewildered by the actions of the Trinidadian authorities. “Fi tell you de truth me can’t even explain wha’ go down a Trinidad... mi can’t tell you,” was all Ding Dong could say.

I think they're upset with our artistes because they now have a bigger following than their home-grown So-gay music artistes. Can somebody say badmind? we need to start banning their gay soca music and artistes too. if dem want end caribbean cultural relations, mek we end it. I aint a fan of Ding-Dong but this man hasn't uttered a violent lyric in any of his songs that i've heard and is commonly known as a creator of party or club-themed song. Trins go ring out unnuh MMMMMhmMMhmmMMMM.

Nuh worry...aftah Drivah and di Team dun.. Trinidad cyaan talk tuh wi...

oh and dem can keep dem LNG.. unless dem behave..

bredrin, when u ago mek a post whey nuh have nuttin fi do with JLP? u probably all call out Bruce name when u a sort out u girl, dat a if u have time fi do dem ting deh by the way.

Why are you responding to yourself?

mi mek nuff post dat nuh have JLP inna it.. yuh nuh check di oddah forum dem ?

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
            bredrin, when u ago mek a post whey nuh have nuttin fi do with JLP? u probably all call out Bruce name when u a sort out u girl, dat a if u have time fi do dem ting deh by the way.
            girl?? Chemical??

Maybe the Trini based forumites can shed a light on this situation.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...-from-Trinidad

I think they're upset with our artistes because they now have a bigger following than their home-grown So-gay music artistes. Can somebody say badmind? we need to start banning their gay soca music and artistes too. if dem want end caribbean cultural relations, mek we end it. I aint a fan of Ding-Dong but this man hasn't uttered a violent lyric in any of his songs that i've heard and is commonly known as a creator of party or club-themed song. Trins go ring out unnuh MMMMMhmMMhmmMMMM.
                continue to amuse us all please with more assumtpions !!!!

which part of the highlight do you disagree with? that they are upset? or that there is a bigger following than the homegrown? btw the so-gay comment is unwarranted from Lion.

I could guarantee you Nam that dancehall and reggae rule T&T among the young (less than 30) for 11 months of the year.What is "upsetting" the authorities is anyone's guess... but it is as the original post suggests a part of the anti-dancehall trend that a few artistes have managed to create with their slackness and tainting the dancehall fraternity.
                  Last edited by Peter R; June 8, 2010, 07:39 PM.

which part of the highlight do you disagree with? that they are upset? or that there is a bigger following than the homegrown? btw the so-gay comment is unwarranted from Lion.

I could guarantee you Nam that dancehall and reggae rule T&T among the young (less than 30) for 11 months of the year.What is "upsetting" the authorities is anyone's guess... but it is as the original post suggests a part of the anti-dancehall trend that a few artistes have managed to create with their slackness and tainting the dancehall fraternity.
                    peter r soca is a seasonal music you should know that!!!!

it BECAME seasonal in Trinidad, the originator of Carnival, throughout the years. The rise of Dancehall can be credited.
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Ding Dong...of all our bubble gum Djs!

Time for our DJs to boycott T&T. Turn it back on them. Tell the promoters that they don't do shows in renegade states of Venezuela.

I know, with some of our artistes unable to work in the US, they will be looking to pick up work anywhere, but dem cyaan mek a likkle ****************in tail country like T&T dis dem like dat.

That's exactly the point! real soca fans would like to hear it Soca year round; if it were not for Barbados there would be no "new" music throughout the year... those who want a Soca Grammy won't get it until Soca ceases to be seasonal... therefore reagge/dancehall fills the airwaves throughout the year.

So how do you measure popularity? Any sane person would conclude that reggae/dancehall is more popular in T&T - it is played 11 out of 12 months... okay 10. Another point is to look at the number of dancehall artistes who are here for Carnival... one time it was BLD now, is Shaggy, Mr Vegas etc etc.

we may see a return of regular stage shows in Jamaica. I remeber when there was one almost every week back in the days. Artiste earned their stripes on these shows.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

this one gawn too far... unless is someting else dat nuh have nutten fi duh wid music and entertainment... ding dong who ongle have a few party chunes... wha more cudda more tame dan 'it's a holidaaaay' and him 'dancing'...

trinidad a gwan too bad and a tek tuh much libaty wid wi... full time wi ignore dem and leff dem tuh demself...