• New Visa system greets Tivoli residents

New 'visa' system greets Tivoli Gdns

Published: Tuesday | June 8, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

A policeman signs a permit for a resident of Tivoli Gardens, while others wait in a long line for their turn at the community centre yesterday. The permits authorise access to and from the community. - Norman Grindley/Chief Photographer

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer The people of Tivoli Gardens yesterday woke up to a permit system which was introduced, without prior notice, to monitor movement in and out of the troubled community.
    The discomfort was evident as long queues of grumbling residents greeted a Gleaner team at the Tivoli Gardens Community Centre, where the permits were issued.
    No one was spared. Old and young waited impatiently with their identification and tax registration number (TRN) - the requirements for the permit.
    Residents also faced a barrage of questions from the security forces administering the process.
    "It come in like a quiz class," quipped one woman after a policeman peppered a man, who identified himself as a construction worker, with questions about
    Frustration
    For many, the new permit system has presented a fresh wave of frustration.
    The permits must be presented at each checkpoint used by the residents throughout the day. They are also subject to searches, which have invariably become a Tivoli pastime since the army ploughed into the barricaded community after the Labour Day weekend.
    A senior police officer sought to appease the peeved residents.
    He told The Gleaner that the residents were required to renew the permit each day to prevent criminal duplication.
    "Many have been written since morning," he disclosed.
    The residents said they were not opposed to other regulations being enforced under the state of emergency.
    "We have no problem with a police post. Stay as long as you want. In fact, we welcome it, but give us some dignity," declared an infuriated resident.
    "If we have to live with the law and order, so be it, but this a madness," another said.
    Some residents also raised concerns about the rules governing the permit - to "facilitate movement within and without the area of operation".
    "This permit is valid for the period of public emergency, but may be withdrawn if the holder threatens or is likely to be a threat to public and security," the read.
    Some complained that the police team administering the process was breaching the provisions of the permit, which clearly stipulated that it was valid for the entire period of the public emergency instead of a 24-hour period.
    Claims of hostage-taking
    A female resident on her way home told The Gleaner that she had been waiting in line for her permit, but thought about getting one for her elderly mother.
    "She can't manage this (waiting in line), so I am going back for her TRN and ID."
    Another woman chimed in: "They said we were under hostage (under Christopher 'Dudus' Coke), but a now we under hostage."
    "Instead of coming here every day, why not just show your ID at the checkpoint?" she argued.
    She was supported by an angry middle-age man.
    "This is communism in every sense of the word."
    A representative of the Child Agency rescued a group of young students from the long wait by facilitating their exit from the Students of Tivoli Gardens who are practising for the Jamaica Cultural Development Commission's Schools' Festival Competition have been severely affected by the new system.
    A prominent community organiser told The Gleaner that the students - some of whom are not residents of Tivoli Gardens - had been rehearsing during the midday period as the community was under curfew late yesterday afternoon.
    However, she said yesterday, the students were hampered by the protracted wait for permits.
    gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

The secession is official,TG is no longer a part of Jamaica, and our Govt is protecting us, but then where is Dudus(he isn't in TG,likely amongst us)?.
    I believe the recent massacre coupled with the now Gaza-like treatment is affording one set of people what we wouldn't accept for ourselves,and the overall tactics mirrors that of wars between nations, in which it isn't the Govt trampling their citizens' right but occupying forces.

Blessed

Yuh nuh hear World Cup ah start soon.. Dudus love a ballgame..where yuh tink he deh ??

Really seems irrellevant recently.

Blessed

Morning Rockman

Reminds me of South Africa years ago!

Mawning H !

Blessed

They need to be occupied and for a long time too.

The secession is official,TG is no longer a part of Jamaica, and our Govt is protecting us, but then where is Dudus(he isn't in TG,likely amongst us)?.
                I believe the recent massacre coupled with the now Gaza-like treatment is affording one set of people what we wouldn't accept for ourselves,and the overall tactics mirrors that of wars between nations, in which it isn't the Govt trampling their citizens' right but occupying forces.

Blessed
                There are ramifications for not abiding by the laws of the land and attacking the state. If you committ terroist acts against the state, you should be treated like terroists, until you can prove you can behave like decent law abiding people. Everybody wants rights, but want no responsibilty.

Mawning Islandman,I am not objecting the presence of the security forces.., I know they faced tough resistance in attempting entry..but at some point it became an ugly bloodfesrt.We know they abuse their powers, are they doing so now?
                  The first order of that so-called impartial panel of officers posted in TG to investigate abuses should be repealing this abusive.....

Blessed

some waan guh heaven but dem nuh waan dead..

Well hopefully thats where we hope the media and groups like JFJ come in, to make sure there is some level of checks and balances.

The military seems to be better trained to deal with this unusual situation which is not a normal law-and-order operation.

Jamaica imposes Visa restrictions on Tivoli

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                        New 'visa' system greets Tivoli Gdns

Published: Tuesday | June 8, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

A policeman signs a permit for a resident of Tivoli Gardens, while others wait in a long line for their turn at the community centre yesterday. The permits authorise access to and from the community. - Norman Grindley/Chief Photographer

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer The people of Tivoli Gardens yesterday woke up to a permit system which was introduced, without prior notice, to monitor movement in and out of the troubled community.
                        The discomfort was evident as long queues of grumbling residents greeted a Gleaner team at the Tivoli Gardens Community Centre, where the permits were issued.
                        No one was spared. Old and young waited impatiently with their identification and tax registration number (TRN) - the requirements for the permit.
                        Residents also faced a barrage of questions from the security forces administering the process.
                        "It come in like a quiz class," quipped one woman after a policeman peppered a man, who identified himself as a construction worker, with questions about
                        Frustration
                        For many, the new permit system has presented a fresh wave of frustration.
                        The permits must be presented at each checkpoint used by the residents throughout the day. They are also subject to searches, which have invariably become a Tivoli pastime since the army ploughed into the barricaded community after the Labour Day weekend.
                        A senior police officer sought to appease the peeved residents.
                        He told The Gleaner that the residents were required to renew the permit each day to prevent criminal duplication.
                        "Many have been written since morning," he disclosed.
                        The residents said they were not opposed to other regulations being enforced under the state of emergency.
                        "We have no problem with a police post. Stay as long as you want. In fact, we welcome it, but give us some dignity," declared an infuriated resident.
                        "If we have to live with the law and order, so be it, but this a madness," another said.
                        Some residents also raised concerns about the rules governing the permit - to "facilitate movement within and without the area of operation".
                        "This permit is valid for the period of public emergency, but may be withdrawn if the holder threatens or is likely to be a threat to public and security," the read.
                        Some complained that the police team administering the process was breaching the provisions of the permit, which clearly stipulated that it was valid for the entire period of the public emergency instead of a 24-hour period.
                        Claims of hostage-taking
                        A female resident on her way home told The Gleaner that she had been waiting in line for her permit, but thought about getting one for her elderly mother.
                        "She can't manage this (waiting in line), so I am going back for her TRN and ID."
                        Another woman chimed in: "They said we were under hostage (under Christopher 'Dudus' Coke), but a now we under hostage."
                        "Instead of coming here every day, why not just show your ID at the checkpoint?" she argued.
                        She was supported by an angry middle-age man.
                        "This is communism in every sense of the word."
                        A representative of the Child Agency rescued a group of young students from the long wait by facilitating their exit from the Students of Tivoli Gardens who are practising for the Jamaica Cultural Development Commission's Schools' Festival Competition have been severely affected by the new system.
                        A prominent community organiser told The Gleaner that the students - some of whom are not residents of Tivoli Gardens - had been rehearsing during the midday period as the community was under curfew late yesterday afternoon.
                        However, she said yesterday, the students were hampered by the protracted wait for permits.
                        gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

Good idea but daily renewal is too much and school children should have a permanent id. We need to win friends not create enemies.

Look, over 500 youths(the likely criminals)were detained only for the overwhelming majority to be released(to a bigger detention center(TG) despite the state could hold them much longer.It is reasonable that not all are criminals and most were not deemed an imminent threat.What of the people that were not detained(deemed law abiding citizens)?Where as we can have apathy or antipathy for gunmen extending it to law abiding citizens is reckless and misplaced.
                          It is continuing the abuse...

Blessed
                          Last edited by Rockman; June 8, 2010, 12:24 PM.

Extreme measures are needed to bring the community under control, and as as stated earlier, we have human rights groups to keep an eye on the state.

Not a good move.. even under an SOE.. They can manage the situation without that. Where is the leadership... This is when the JFJ should speak up..