Opposition concerned about dollar appreciation

• Opposition concerned about dollar appreciation

The Opposition spokesman on commerce senator Mark Golding is expressing concern about the strengthening of the Jamaican dollar amid continued low output.

The finance minister has reported that in recent months the value of the Jamaican dollar has improved.

On Friday the dollar closed trading at $87.35 to US$1.

This represents an appreciation of almost two per cent against the US currency since the beginning of the year when it was costing $89.59 to buy US$1.

"The appreciation of the Jamaican dollar without an increase in exports at the same time is no reason to celebrate," said Senator Golding.

Senator Golding says there is need for further analysis on the reasons for the increase in the value of the Jamaican dollar.

appreciation - i thought that was a good thing?!?

depends. For people exporting normally appreciation can affect them but the Jamaican dollar has depreicated so much in such a short while that an appreciation in my book can only make sense. If only it could go back to 70-1 and stay there for a good while.

In the long run the best thing for the dollar is STABILITY. The instability is worse than anything else because it makes it that much harder to forecast costs, etc.

But i agree, given how far we have fallen a little appreciation is nothing to be concerned about.

would a substantial decrease in imports affect the value?

yep especially if it is backed up by production to fill the gap and export more.

well didn't they also declare an increase in production in the agri sector?

yep and over 6% increase in tourist arrivals must have helped.

A perfect example is if we can sell food to the hotels then there is no need to import it and no need for the country to spend that money on import, so the farmer benefit and the tourist nice sed speed.

then why this morning i hear tourism is on life support?

so exact what is mark golding concerned about? especially fi a man whey mek him money offa SPECULATION...oh wait...that might just be it right there!!!!

Not so. They had a few cancellation but the prices are very attractive. Most people I talk to understand and it was in the international press for 3 days.

The "Spinners" them a sell it as a major fight on crime for a fairly young government in power that is making change(not my word) but a so mi woulda sell it if I was a political consultants so we may end up getting more tourist after the 10 million spent.

You nuh think Barlett glad fi the money? and you can't follow everything JHTA say, them want more tourist but them also nuh want pay the tax either.

lol !

Speculation.. ?

Yuh nuh hear seh it guaranteed by the constitution..

Dem man deh great at syphoning money off of non-productive ventures... redistribution dem call it..

Perfect PNP Candidates...

what yuh talking about, isn't there a PROVEN track record?

suh teef nuh can have PROVEN track record tuh ??

well, yuh gat mi dere.....