• Tivoli Ballers Recount Horror

Tivoli Ballers Recount Horror
    Published: Monday | June 7, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
    André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

"Mi all give up pon life one o' the time dem, 'cause the amount a man mi see dead and the amount a time mi hear say mi a go dead, Jah know, is only the Almighty carry me through this."

These were the words of an obviously shaken Steve Green, as he related the events of his detention during the recent unrest in Tivoli Gardens, west Kingston.

The influential Tivoli Gardens midfielder was among four of the club's footballers who were held by the security forces during the operation which started on Labour Day. As he shared his nightmarish experience with The Gleaner during a recent visit to the community, a few teammates sat nearby with expressionless faces.

They had heard the story before, but it was obvious that they, too, were still rattled by the events.

Green was one of the first to be picked up by the authorities who, he claimed, dragged him into the streets on Monday, May 24, while he was in a friend's house.

"Dem (soldiers) carry us over Tivoli (High) School and have we pon we knee and dem t'ing deh. A pure kick we get and dem t'ing deh."

Green went on to share that after being taken to the school, he was then sent into a bus with other detainees, where they were forced to sit in the passageway with their hands tied behind their backs.

"Dem say we a criminal, so we can't sit pon police seat dem."

The bus stopped at a popular industrial complex along Marcus Garvey Drive where, according to Green, they were forced to sit with their hands still tied behind their backs in less-than-favourable conditions.

"We haffi siddung inna the dirt from night till about 4 a.m. the next day, then dem carry we inna this place wid whole heap a bird filth and pure stone and gravel; and a dat we haffi kneel dung inna," said an animated Green.

"When we wah (urinate) and you tell dem, dem a tell you fi (urinate) inna you clothes 'cause a yours and all dem tings deh. Is a one police did deh pon the scene and tell dem say dem fi tie we hands in front o' we so we can pull we zip and (urinate)."

Green added that they were not given anything to eat or drink until later that night when three bottles of water were provided and had to be shared among more than 60 detainees.

"A the first time me see so much things happen right in front a mi face. All now mi nuh come around," Green said. "It's like me lost; a whole heap o' good friends and good people we see life just get done just like that for no reason at all."

Green's teammate, Owen Powell, was also caught up in the massive dragnet and has his own horror story.

Powell was allegedly taken out of his house in the Denham Town area two days after Green's detention, at gunpoint in front of his two-year-old daughter, mother, babymother and nephew.

He, too, was a picture of fright.

"Mi not even a eat 'cause this thing just deh pon mi mind a way, dem coulda easily kill me too and a dat mi a pree (contemplate)," Powell stated. "It wicked bredda, mi nuh used to dem t'ing yah at all."

Loaded bodies

The towering Powell revealed that he, along with other detainees, was forced to load bodies into a truck under the constant threat of members of the security forces.

"Dem select (prepare to fire) the gun over we head to frighten us and beat us up," he added.

"Dem make we take up dead people, man who swell up and stink. Afterwards, dem carry we over the (business complex on Marcus Garvey Drive) and den over (National) Arena where dem force we fi sleep pon the floor," Powell continued.

His episode lasted for two days and he pointed out that stating, on numerous occasions, that he was a footballer did nothing to prevent mistreatment.

The army and police have urged west Kingston residents to report claims of abuse to complaints desks of the public defender and the police force. More than 500 complaints have been made so far.

andre.lowe@gleanerjm.com

Green added that they were not given anything to eat or drink until later that night when three bottles of water were provided and had to be shared among more than 60 detainees.
    hmmm...boxhill teach di footballer dem fi share...is what again?...one towel fi 18 ballers?!? dem what is 3 bokkle water fi 60 people? cho! one day we'll all appreciate the lessons boxhill was trying to teach us!

I do hope people come forward and report every incident of abuse. They should also tell the authorities anything they know about the real gunmen, how they made their getaway, who they are and where they may be hiding. We need full and complete disclosure, wi naw protect nuh one and wi nah tolerate no abuse from cops and soldiers. Full time now wi start fi do tings right in Jamaica.

I have been encouraging my Tivoli friends to do just what I said above. They say they have been telling what they know even though they are not confident that anything will come from it. Is Jamaica dis! I tell them, we need to stop thinking like that, wi trying to change that Jamaica!

The stories are really heart breaking. Just as the ballers dem say, when many of your friends, your innocent friends are allegedly executed by our forces for no reason other than being a grown male...tings rough! Many of us lose childhood friends by the odd auto accident or rare illness, but not 8, 9 ...14 of them at a time!!!

I am told that a soldier threatened to shot a policeman if he executed one more person.

Maudib used to remind us about the 25 Tivoli residents who died in 2001. He has been understandably and hypocritically silent about this real massacre.

Liars!!!!

well, they are Bruce Golding's powerbase!

Hypocryte ? look in the mirror 1st , you didnt see this happening ? Maudib can afford to be silent the JFJ cannot ! after the fact mutterings leave you just as culpable as the JLP Government.

To be a real human rights organization you have to advocate for change in the socio economic and political system. Advocating for people rights after the fact they have been murderded doesnt cut it for me !

1) Didnt the JFJ know of the narco political arrangement of Dons and politicans or so called garrisons.

Did you propose or advocate change, laws or prosecution of any of the parties before the T.G massacre?

Tell me you didnt expect to see this day, didnt you see it in T.G with police officer Adams and before that , what was your stand then ?.......kiss teeth!

2)You think human rights stops at the state murdering its citizens ? what about when a citizen or citizens hold the state hostage i.e Duss , Bruce or a narco political gunmen where/what was your stand on that then ? why now ?

X......Keeping pressure on the frauds

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Spelling Be!

Gees. He is an influential footballer. No wonder overseas club look elsewhere for players. It is one thing being able to play, but its another thing learning to speak English. If you get cotracted by an overseas club you should expect to speak to the press at some point. This would be embarassing.

Gosh, R-Doc! He ain't speaking to the farin press, so what does it matter? He is speaking in his native tongue. Nutten wrang wid dat.

At this point, with what we heard happening in west Kingston, we should all be happy he's speaking at all!

In fact, overseas clubs like Jamaican players because, even if we can't speak English, for the most part we understand it. They are not looking for spokespersons for the teams.

Look how much influencial baller a England can't even speak.

You ever hear Sir Alex speak yet? Let the man them express themselves.

Tivoli Ballers Recount Horror
                      Published: Monday | June 7, 20100 Comments and 0 Reactions
                      André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

"Mi all give up pon life one o' the time dem, 'cause the amount a man mi see dead and the amount a time mi hear say mi a go dead, Jah know, is only the Almighty carry me through this."

These were the words of an obviously shaken Steve Green, as he related the events of his detention during the recent unrest in Tivoli Gardens, west Kingston.

The influential Tivoli Gardens midfielder was among four of the club's footballers who were held by the security forces during the operation which started on Labour Day. As he shared his nightmarish experience with The Gleaner during a recent visit to the community, a few teammates sat nearby with expressionless faces.

They had heard the story before, but it was obvious that they, too, were still rattled by the events.

Green was one of the first to be picked up by the authorities who, he claimed, dragged him into the streets on Monday, May 24, while he was in a friend's house.

"Dem (soldiers) carry us over Tivoli (High) School and have we pon we knee and dem t'ing deh. A pure kick we get and dem t'ing deh."

Green went on to share that after being taken to the school, he was then sent into a bus with other detainees, where they were forced to sit in the passageway with their hands tied behind their backs.

"Dem say we a criminal, so we can't sit pon police seat dem."

The bus stopped at a popular industrial complex along Marcus Garvey Drive where, according to Green, they were forced to sit with their hands still tied behind their backs in less-than-favourable conditions.

"We haffi siddung inna the dirt from night till about 4 a.m. the next day, then dem carry we inna this place wid whole heap a bird filth and pure stone and gravel; and a dat we haffi kneel dung inna," said an animated Green.

"When we wah (urinate) and you tell dem, dem a tell you fi (urinate) inna you clothes 'cause a yours and all dem tings deh. Is a one police did deh pon the scene and tell dem say dem fi tie we hands in front o' we so we can pull we zip and (urinate)."

"A the first time me see so much things happen right in front a mi face. All now mi nuh come around," Green said. "It's like me lost; a whole heap o' good friends and good people we see life just get done just like that for no reason at all."

Green's teammate, Owen Powell, was also caught up in the massive dragnet and has his own horror story.

Powell was allegedly taken out of his house in the Denham Town area two days after Green's detention, at gunpoint in front of his two-year-old daughter, mother, babymother and nephew.

He, too, was a picture of fright.

"Mi not even a eat 'cause this thing just deh pon mi mind a way, dem coulda easily kill me too and a dat mi a pree (contemplate)," Powell stated. "It wicked bredda, mi nuh used to dem t'ing yah at all."

Loaded bodies

The towering Powell revealed that he, along with other detainees, was forced to load bodies into a truck under the constant threat of members of the security forces.

"Dem select (prepare to fire) the gun over we head to frighten us and beat us up," he added.

"Dem make we take up dead people, man who swell up and stink. Afterwards, dem carry we over the (business complex on Marcus Garvey Drive) and den over (National) Arena where dem force we fi sleep pon the floor," Powell continued.

His episode lasted for two days and he pointed out that stating, on numerous occasions, that he was a footballer did nothing to prevent mistreatment.

The army and police have urged west Kingston residents to report claims of abuse to complaints desks of the public defender and the police force. More than 500 complaints have been made so far.

andre.lowe@gleanerjm.com
                      In all seriousness...
                      His experiences are terrible...but in the matter of the security operations "no big thing". If you (anyone), for whatever reason - bad or good - lie with dogs you shall rise with fleas!

Steve lived in an area where there was 'gun-law'. The security forces moved in under gunfire...and continued to work under circumstances where they knew not who was a threat or potential threat...use of the 'citizens' held as 'workers' was a sensible option. Keeping those 'workers' defenseless was good policy under those conditions.

Sorry for the good...but you lie with...?
                      Yup!

What they went through was not abuse...but needed actions by the security forces. Tough...but all I would give is "hush"! If the security forces and then the coming government support services have done the job of 'cleaning up' no one living in those areas will have to go through what he did, ever again!

i wish someone could tell those who died wrongfully, hush.

Tivoli may be a garrison community, but we must all understand that good law abiding citizens also reside their too. All the abuse that these people were subjected to, was because of poor planning, lack of training, the glaring presence of injustice and just plain downright incompetence from the very top down to these law enforcement officers. There is no law enforcement agency anywhere in the world that can be effective or successful without the involvement and cooperation of the citizens they serve and protect. Therefore, a good point to start would be to show some professional courtesy when they interact with the public...how about just doing their damn jobs and show people some respect. Trust me, if they treat people with a little more respect, whenever the situation arise that they have to escalate their level of response, it would be understood. However, this wanton disregard that the police have for people when on or off duty should not be the norm as it is today. It is a sad case when people fear the police as much or more than they do criminals. Maybe if they cease being criminals in uniform, the citizens would respect and trust them a little more and become partners in fighting crime. The bottomline is that the JCF need a total makeover, from firing bad corrupt cops to retraining and ultimately recruiting good, smart law abiding citizens. Regardless of how this thing is looked at, there is absolutely no excuse for the police to just murder our citizens in cold blood like a video game...it is big time almshouse and you all know it, that is not the way police work is done...it is not right...absolutely not right! Many of these cops should go to prison!!

True!

i wish someone could tell those who died wrongfully, hush.
                              Shouldn't have been there. Why didn't they leave?