Time to invest in people

• Time to invest in people

...these 2 tribes we are afflicted with don't seem to have the capacity to plan in advance. Wasn't it obvious long ago that these depressed communities need massive investment?
    Dem need sumting fi lick dem inna dem headback before dem si reality.

EDITORIAL - That US$1b has to be found

Published: Sunday | June 6, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

AUDLEY SHAW did not say how he arrived at the figure, but suggests that it will cost around US$1 billion for the social interventions, community rehabilitation and security enhancements to make Jamaica safe from gangs.

But according to the finance minister, the Government could make substantial headway on half that amount of money.

"If we could secure US$500 million to a US$1 billion over the medium term, it would go a far way in the fight against crime," Mr Shaw told this newspaper.

This is an investment that Jamaica, in the aftermath of recent events in Tivoli Gardens, cannot afford not to make. Indeed, it is one that is in the interest of our big neighbours on the North American continent and with which they should help, generously.

With the relative calm that now exists in Jamaica it is easy to forget what occurred in Kingston a fortnight ago, when the country appeared heading to the abyss.

After nearly a year of equivocation and mendacious arguments about protecting the constitutional rights of a Jamaican citizen, Prime Minister Bruce Golding did a volte-face on the Christopher Coke extradition matter. The Government, he announced, would allow proceedings for Coke - a strong supporter of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party and one of the prime minister's constituents - to be sent to the United States to be tried on narcotics and gun- smuggling charges.

State under threat

Mr Coke and his supporters locked themselves behind booby-trapped barricades in the west Kingston enclave of Tivoli Gardens - a heartland of the ruling party - and engaged the security forces in a battle that cost 73 lives, including those of two policemen and a soldier. Critically, that fight was not only in west Kingston. Armed irregulars supporting Coke skirmished with the security forces in several inner-city communities in the downtown areas of Kingston as well as in the parish of St Catherine.

The Jamaican state was under threat which, happily, it beat back. That threat, though, cannot be assumed to have been eliminated. Highly armed gangs still exist across the country. They have to be crushed. Our communities have to be retaken and opportunities opened for young people.

The United States, Canada and the European Union (EU) have an interest in this.

Jamaica, for all its problems, has, for the most part, kept democratic institutions intact. We are a reliable member of the international community.

But the country's geographic position between the Americas, on the USA's 'third border', makes it an important trans-shipment point for the smuggling of narcotics from South America to North America and Europe. This trade has influenced the growth of gangs and organised crime and threatens to corrupt the country's institutions. The grave danger, should they succeed further, is our evolution into a narco-democracy. That, ultimately, is not merely a Jamaican problem; it is a security threat to our neighbours and allies.

It makes sense that Washington and Brussels invest in the effort. It is estimated that insecurity and violence cost the Jamaican economy about three and a half per cent of GDP annually, which, if recovered, would recoup the proposed investment in two years.

There may be questions of whether Mr Golding, after his recent disappointing behaviour, is a reliable partner. He has to be. Or he has to go

dem cuss off di Inner City Housing Project, a project I am very proud to have been associated with.

Housing alone not the solution though...unless we have other programmes for small businesses, sport and social development and education - we'll just have the same problems in good affordable homes.

dem cuss off di Inner City Housing Project, a project I am very proud to have been associated with.
        where there is no vision the people will perish

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          Housing alone not the solution though...unless we have other programmes for small businesses, sport and social development and education - we'll just have the same problems in good affordable homes.
          we need everything for community development...but I do believe the ICHP had some community development initiatives

YEs. But they have to have continuity and sustainability. A couple years ago I worked in sm of the innercity communities funded by an international agency - there ws so much potential - there was hope, aspirations of youth, buying in of the elders...but no cuntinuity...funds stopped...end of project...willing to work for free if started again...Maudib?

agreed!

at the time, i was at pains to explain that the project was more than just physical housing. it had a strong social development arm as well which was just as important as the construction of dwellings.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                YEs. But they have to have continuity and sustainability. A couple years ago I worked in sm of the innercity communities funded by an international agency - there ws so much potential - there was hope, aspirations of youth, buying in of the elders...but no cuntinuity...funds stopped...end of project...willing to work for free if started again...Maudib?
                nuh dat mi ah talk fram langa time.... we need an overarching, well funded DEVELOPMENT PLAN... strait

so them fi tear down de one dem that build a Tivoli too?

of course not! it was Denham Town, to be exact. Tivoli's were not started.

agreed!

at the time, i was at pains to explain that the project was more than just physical housing. it had a strong social development arm as well which was just as important as the construction of dwellings.
                      Agree with you. I look at Habitat for Humanity, and see how much people's lives have been transformed and advanced once they have the security of a decent place to call home.

It just lifts the spirits and the belief that one can advance.

ok. thanks.

I have no problem as long as they pay and maintain it.

Yu leff dem to then?

yes. di Trinis were giving me more money!

"It takes cash to care"

Drivah and Man-ah-Yard, Don't stap at all !

DSA.