• It falls on civil society to help

It falls on civil society to help
    HOWARD HAMILTON

Saturday, June 05, 2010

Jamaicans have been regarded as among the most undisciplined, ungovernable people on this planet, yet Mr Christopher Coke, in the short period he has been on this earth, has managed to establish in a small corner of the island an area of discipline and order. How did he achieve this? By studying and understanding the Jamaican psyche. Jamaicans will respond to firm, uncompromising leadership, as long as it is accompanied by benevolence, respect and kindness.

I am advised that Mr Coke ran a tight ship - brooked no departure from his rules of governance, but saw to the welfare of all his subjects. As a result, for example, no children were to be seen on the streets after 8:00 pm, no doors needed to be locked, lunch money, books, bus fares and school uniforms were denied to no one in need, and mothers who applied such generosity to "bling" were summarily reprimanded, hence the outpouring of support on the streets of West Kingston were not necessarily staged. His departure will therefore create an ominous void, with attendant resentment, which must be filled quickly.

DIANA ROSS ... In the words of her song, If we hold on together, I know our dreams will never die

1/1
    It is the task of government to provide and impose firm, even-handed discipline, but the government cannot afford the largesse. It therefore falls to civil society, at home and abroad, to provide that benevolence. The entire world echoed with the cries of horror that went up from the Jamaican diaspora over the events of last week. Now that an uneasy calm has returned, we cannot and must not allow ourselves to slip back into apathy. As a trial lawyer who has spent the vast majority of my years at the Criminal Bar, I have seen this day coming, and called for social intervention in the inner city 10 years ago. Well, Jamaica, that day has come - we are at a defining moment in our history and we ignore this opportunity at our peril. If we wish to preserve our "Island Paradise", now is the time that all well-thinking Jamaicans must demonstrate their concern for the less privileged and at the same time restore our economy.

In December 2009, I proposed the launch of a worldwide fund geared towards the restoration of the city of Kingston. The plans are already on the drawing board, only awaiting funding. I see where Digicel has set the example which will prove to be the catalyst. I would therefore invite all Jamaicans everywhere (even the windshield wipers), to donate US$5.00 or J$500 to a fund directed towards Kingston's restoration, to be collected in the manner perfected by President Obama. But because we are so politically tribalised, this fund cannot be managed by any government agency, otherwise only half the population will probably support same.

The Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica is comprised of some of the best financial and business minds in the country - they have demonstrated the authority they can wield, judging from the prime minister's reaction to the outcry they spearheaded recently. They should be persuaded to monitor the selection of a Board of Trustees (from here and abroad), as well as the collection of the donations and finally identify and supervise the areas of expenditure. They alone are capable of encouraging Jamaicans, wherever in the political divide, to donate as they are able. For my part, I pledge to donate $100,000, remembering always that unless the young men of our inner city can enjoy the dignity of earning an honest living and thereby provide for their children, we shall only be providing fodder on which future gangs will feed. Let us see the city of Kingston, our pearl of the Caribbean, bustling again with signs of commerce and business, small and large - let the revival of the old begin and new ones come to life, and let this be the beginning of the end of all garrisons everywhere, as we truly become our brother's keepers. In the words put to song by Diana Ross, "If we hold on together, I know our dreams will never die".

Howard Hamilton is an attorney-at-law.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...o-help_7674276

Good shot across the bow of the society of Jamaicans and well wishers of Jamaica.

The RBSC pledges to make a contribution and in my own regards I also pledge to contribute.

As Howard suggests, no political party or MP or local government rep or any appointee to any board or statutory body of government or quasi-government body should be appointed to that board of trustees or any executive body that has oversight for this proposed entity.

FORWARD!

I am advised that Mr Coke ran a tight ship - brooked no departure from his rules of governance, but saw to the welfare of all his subjects. As a result, for example, no children were to be seen on the streets after 8:00 pm, no doors needed to be locked, lunch money, books, bus fares and school uniforms were denied to no one in need, and mothers who applied such generosity to "bling" were summarily reprimanded, hence the outpouring of support on the streets of West Kingston were not necessarily staged. His departure will therefore create an ominous void, with attendant resentment, which must be filled quickly.

ok, i don't need to read any more!

It is about rebuilding...not what the writer says on Coke's fiefdom. Remember? ...that fiefdom is no more?

are u saying i should read the rest of the article? ok!

Jamaica needs a well thought out, long term, comprehensive plan to deal with issues of garrisons & development....with participation from the poor victims of the evil politician's games....

..aka a Social Contract with huge resources to back it

These piecemeal measures, laudable as they are, are not the solution.

Jamaica needs a well thought out, long term, comprehensive plan to deal with issues of garrisons & development....with participation from the poor victims of the evil politician's games....

..aka a Social Contract with huge resources to back it

These piecemeal measures, laudable as they are, are not the solution.
              That is a source of funding!
              ...money will be needed to implement any set of policies...right?

All this board has to do is,
              a) vet requests for its funding;

b) approve or disapprove of same.

c) Those approved ensure means of vetting management and rate of success...

d) ...following on "c" continue funding, improve funding or end funding as needed.

It means the Trustees would have some influence on implementation even if by no other means but its authority to provide funding and power degree of funding.

well if yuh cyan raise US$1-2 Billion pon Facebook...be my guest

More!
                  It depends more than anything on how the entity to hold the funds is put together.

More!
                    It depends more than anything on how the entity to hold the funds is put together.
                    yuh ah joke out dis ting

mi haffi put mi money pon one turd...LOL!

Maybe not the final solution but if participation in the fund is reasonably successful it can act as a powerful catalyst. Would put more pressure on the govt and those in the private sector who have traditionally stayed on the sidelines to do something meaningful.

Pity he started off the article with the nonsense about Coke the enforcer, overall I don't think the idea itself is off base.

For me personally, if the fund proposed looks like a serious attempt I would make a contribution.

Howard could have left out Diana Ross' pick-ture too............................

Maybe not the final solution but if participation in the fund is reasonably successful it can act as a powerful catalyst. Would put more pressure on the govt and those in the private sector who have traditionally stayed on the sidelines to do something meaningful.

Pity he started off the article with the nonsense about Coke the enforcer, overall I don't think the idea itself is off base.

For me personally, if the fund proposed looks like a serious attempt I would make a contribution.
                          yes, he needs to leave that nonsense out of his pitch. that alone makes me think twice about contributing.

he is certainly another ignorant Jamaican about conditions in Tivoli. Sass, you are not alone!

as fi dat! there is no reggae chune he could have quoted from?!?! i'm sure Bob has sung about something quite appropriate!

And you know him a socialist right?