tivoli gardens should be demolished...

• Originally posted by Willi View Post
    Real assets dem a invest in not more dollaz or dollar denominated financial assets. Research it and see.
    flight to quality dem kall it.... whey yuh seh...wi qualified?

• Yup, we and all of Africa!

A Chinese in one of those UN type organizations just told myu Sistren seh she neva know seh a suh Africa sweet. So much resources, so much money fi mek. Minerals, nuff space, fertile land, etc. Dem see it as the Promised land.

New Paradigm, di Chiney dem tekking over Africa. Yuh aggo have to dig dem out!

We deh yah a joke with the foolfool local political tit for tat.

Big tings a gwaan.

• I think it should be demolished, but re-housing the residents will cost money that the country just doesn't have. So I think Tivoli should remain occupied by the army for the foreseeable future, with the long term aim of re-settling the residents across the island.

• but people want a home now! how long do you think they should wait. MissL?

• Originally posted by Mosiah View Post
            but people want a home now! how long do you think they should wait. MissL?
            They can remain in Tivoli, that is their home for now, the only difference is that there will be a scaled down security presence, which should be reduced further as the people demonstrate they can act like responsible citizens. The money is not there to build new housing unfortunetly, this is one of the side effects of a chronically stagnant economy. Reducing the crime rate will give an automatically lift to the economy (some say between 3.5% and 5% growth). This money should be invested in social housing for people in Tivoli and other garrisons to move to across the island.

• ok!

• I haven't finished reading the rest of the other posts as yet, but I have said it here numerous times. This falls right into MY vision of Kingston becoming the visitors' (note I did not say tourist) capital of the caribbean. The entire tract of land from Rockfort right back to Riverton City needs to be re-developed. With proper city planning, and a receptive government, the project can be financed. The first initiative in cutting off the head of the crime monster has already started. The security forces must not relent. Kingston can be re-developed.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015