English language

• English language

Having watched a good amount of the footages on TG, i think it is not unreasonable to conclude that English has become a second language in Jamaica in general, and a third language in TG in particular. Pretty sad, and embarassing indeed.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
    Having watched a good amount of the footages on TG, i think it is not unreasonable to conclude that English has become a second language in Jamaica in general, and a third language in TG in particular. Pretty sad, and embarassing indeed.
    has become?!?

please! english is Jamaica's second language. the sooner we realise that the better able we'll be to teach and learn foreign languages, including english. yuh ever hear how some of our newsreaders read the news, pronouncing every letter in the word? english speakers do not speak like that! listen to Irie FM in the mornings.

but yes, sometimes you forget what the TG residents are saying, no matter how important, because some words just hit you flush in the solar plexus!

It is a total disgrace. Years of not discouraging the use of Rasta English probably has placed us where we are today. Nobody told the children that that was not real English, so that is the norm they know. Very sad indeed. The Haitians in the streets after the earthquake spoke better English than the Tivoliites. No wonder Seaga-the vampire was so successful in brainwashing them.

that a the least of their problem.

but a symptom nonetheless.

that a the least of their problem.
            education cyaan nyam?

you ever get mad yet?

No matter how much education you have sometimes, you get mad mi sure you nah talk pure english.

You can't base the people education level purely based on that.

you ever get mad yet?

No matter how much education you have sometimes, you get mad mi sure you nah talk pure english.

You can't base the people education level purely based on that.
                man tap chat ****************ery...move yuh **************** fram roun yah!

The recent parlimentarian debates at times seems as if they struggled with it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mi know the last time a police stop me and smartly wanted to search mi for drugs under George Washington Bridge him never understand a word mi say to him. So mi can imagine if them kick down mi door and come in pon wifey and mi kids. No English could explain that.

what were you doing under the GW bridge...were you in or out the water??

mi did a try some 007 stuff.

k

The problem is poor education and this has been the case for many years. People who are educated can speak English clearly. I could guess that 75% of Jamaicans are low level literates, and can read and speak at a 5th grade level or lower.