debt collector to pay $1.5 MILLION: report

• debt collector to pay $1.5 MILLION: report

Expletive-filled, racist voicemails force debt collector to pay $1.5 MILLION: reports

(some of them too wrenk and feisty!)

BY Catey Hill
    DAILY NEWS STAFF WRITER
    Monday, May 31st 2010, 10:48 AM

WFAA.com

They called him a "lazy a** b****." They said that he should "go pick some mother******* cotton fields." They yelled that this call was his "mother******* wake-up call."

And that was just one of the eight voicemails reportedly left for Allen Jones, an African-American, by debt collectors from Advanced Call Center Technologies back in 2007.

Jones fought back, suing the company - and winning. On Friday, a Dallas court awarded him $50,000 for mental anguish and $1.5 million in punative damages.

"This shouldn't be tolerated," Jones told WFAA.com. "Nobody should have to experience what I had to experience."

Jones' attorneys were shocked the calls happened.

"If we did not have tapes, no one would ever believe that this happened," Mark Frenkel, one of Jones' attorneys, told the site.

Dean Malone, Jones' other attorney, said this was "the most egregious collection case I've ever seen."

Frenkel and Malone added that employees from Advanced Call Center Technologies confessed to making the calls.

"We made a statement, and the statement is we will not tolerate abusive debt collectors," Jones continued.

Jones claims that the calls were made over a $200 debt that he says he paid.

Dem have money fi give wey! US$1.5M? 50k? For voicemail? Sombody call mi quick and cuss nuh...mek mi sue unnu.

punies...WHEW!!!!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Dem have money fi give wey! US$1.5M? 50k? For voicemail? Sombody call mi quick and cuss nuh...mek mi sue unnu.

Just send the digits A Gamma a represent yuh

That man got quite a settlement.

Pay off a $200 debt. Get cussed. Receive $1,550,000 in damages.

Who says there is no justice in America?

You could cuss me anyday...for free.....lol. Gamma???? Hmm...

whey yuh dideh a hmmmm 'bout? hmm?