sigh

...as gone into hiding.

sigh
      jeezas

Maybe we should try to intellectualize the cartoon and show how much we all know about spelling, grammar and the like. Whe Yu seh?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          Maybe we should try to intellectualize the cartoon and show how much we all know about spelling, grammar and the like. Whe Yu seh?
          I mean it's not like newspapers have editors or anything like that

Aha...but do you know the difference between a cartoon and a caption? Do you know there is a 'style' book??? Are you using a western value system?
            Have a great day!

Mi nuh know wheh Gamma haffi guh use dem big word and get wi inna trouble..

Mi did only TINK mi know wheh Caption mean.

I am a wiser man today.

Wha? So the newscaster don't speak proper english? Where him come from East?

yuh gi trovel eh!

Re: Difference Between Captions and Cartoons

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                    Aha...but do you know the difference between a cartoon and a caption? Do you know there is a 'style' book??? Are you using a western value system?
                    Have a great day!
                    An editorial cartoon is a commentary on a serious issue, which is why it is always found on the editorial page (or sometimes on the op-ed page). Editorial cartoons can be humorous, depending on the particular issue and how the creator of the cartoon (artist) chooses to interpret the issue. Most cartoonists choose a humorous perspective.

A caption, on the other hand, serves to provide information for a particular photograph. A caption is usually objective and provides as much information on the photograph as is necessary. So while editorial cartoons are subjective interpretations of facts, photo captions are expected to be an objective presentation of details relevant to the photograph.

A “style book” is necessary for consistency in a particular publication. Editors are expected to be familiar with the contents of the style book.

“Western value system” is relevant because we live in the West. What you call a “value system” in the context of the post I made has been developed over more than a century of news coverage. By the way, despite the shortcomings of the traditional broadcast media and print media coverage of news, blogs are no substitute (for a number of reasons).

exile, how yuh ramp suh ruff... tek it ez nuh man...