critical thinking without analytic reasoning is purely academic... although yuh gwaan lakka yuh nuh have sense, yuh nah fool mi... mi give yuh de benefit of de doubt, suh try de combination...
THE Government has described as "a wanton display of hypocrisy", the Opposition's intent to not participate in today's debate on six anti-crime Bills in parliament.
In a statement last night, leader of Government Business Andrew Holness said the Opposition's call for more time was "unreasonable" as the Bills were tabled in parliament nearly two years ago and was subjected to extensive deliberations by a Joint Select Committee of Parliament.
"Not only did the Opposition have the opportunity to raise its concerns during those meetings, but its views, along with others, were reflected in the Final Report of the Committee. Still, the Opposition members refused to sign the Final Report."
Earlier yesterday, the Opposition indicated that its support for the debate on the Bills should not be expected at this stage as sufficient notice was not given.
"The Opposition is reminding the prime minister of a commitment he gave to the Parliament that adequate and due notice would be provided prior to the commencement of a debate of any Bill. In keeping with the time-honoured convention of Bills being tabled and time allowed for scrutiny prior to the commencement of a debate, the party is recommending that the Government adheres to this tradition. Once this convention has been observed the party will be in a position to enter the debate," the Opposition said yesterday.
The party said that its call for more time was not to be interpreted as disagreement as it considered the passage of the Bills a critical and important step in the fight against crime.
Leader of Opposition Business in the House Derrick Kellier -- while acknowledging that the Bills were not new to the House -- insisted that at least a day's notice should be allowed between the tabling of the Bill and the commencement of the debate.
However, last night Holness said the Government was committed to starting the debate today and invited the Opposition to "catch up when they feel they are ready".
Suh Holness jine di ha-rrogant posse?
Surely the unfurling of events over the past few days could mean a reasonable opposition was caught unprepared and under-prepared. Would it not be reasonable to take good counsel and great care to ensure that in this period where there is a rush of blood to "beat down di criminals" we do not pass into law what may be oppressive to civil society? ...we ensure civil liberties and acceptable constitutional rights are not inadvertently trampled?
One day? One day requested and Holness turns up his nose and rush di PNP otta town/dismiss the PNP's request?
i used to have respect for holness, in fact i still do... however, it is waning... i sense that he is getting caught up in this corruption... lately, his utterances have me questioning his conviction...
It is strange. Would not have expected it to come from him. Could it be he has no choice...forced to follow Party dictates.
i think that is advice you should give to yourself... one of the basics of critical thinking is to give serious consideration to other points of view contrary to your own... you've consistenly demonstrated that you lack that ability... guh read yuh book...
If the PNP did ready, them woulda have them own crime bill a carry to the house.
3 years inna opposition and they have no position on crime? Nothing drafted. Them spend them time a round down seats that they failed to represent the people in the last 2 cycle.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Baddaz; it was this same gov't that for nine months conspired and acted to protect the biggest and most notorious criminal in jamaica's history, one christopher 'dudus' coke...
Joke yuh ah mek... Dudus cyaan tes Rhygin...dat is one international icon
wen dem mek di Dudus movie an it play all ova di werl fi 40 year...check mi back
Exactly. Just wasted time in government and now in opposition. They could take a leaf out of Bruce's book on how to look good in opposition just as how Bruce seems to have taken a leaf out of Portia's new book and realized that the less he says, the less his brand devalues.
I won't be surprised though if something else comes along to draw attention away from the crime bills (like a by-election....) and then we have some manouevres from both sides which result in grand-standing until the crime bills fall off the legislative agenda..again. But who knows, maybe they will pass it this time...or next year.
There is no stipulation in the Critical Thinking process that requires one to "give serious consideration to other points of view contrary to your own"
ok sah... yuh gwaan wid de last word pon dat, since yuh fail fi heed mi advice... mi nuh mek up tings...
first it was applying critical thinking... now yuh gawn inna critical thinking process... anyways, mi know yuh long time maudib and mi know seh de more mi dig a hole inna yuh argument iz de more yuh gwine dig in and it juss nah guh end suh...
mi nuh have time fi yuh... mi seh guh read bout critical thinking again... look like yuh figet some important tings...
I suspect the problem is you do not understand what a point of view signifies..
You are probably confusing "Point of View" with the actual argument brought..
Your point of view is only relevant in Critical Thinking in determining possible bias or other non-essential influences on presentation of argument or information.