Anti-crime bills- Opposition wants more time

So me say too.

This is going to be fun. You would think that with a govt that is so compromised there would be an opening for any opposition party. But not the PNP, no sah, them stinking up the place more than Bruce.

But not the PNP, no sah, them stinking up the place more than Bruce.
      not possible, but i agree with the need to mash the all down!

Yuh need to whip them into shape Rudi !

The sands are shifting...

you just convinced ?

Bwoy.. mi haffi scratch my head sometimes baba..

Maybe I am missing something.. mi did deh a farin too long I suppose...

Tell dem.. Manley party can never stink up di place more dan Eddie party..

Brown man dem juss naturally wrenk..

Yuh need to whip them into shape Rudi !

The sands are shifting...
              Dem need to sit down big man. All dinosours need to sent to a reorientation camp. Whether they be orange or green. The times they are a changin. Some no get the memo.

This is exactly why neither party should be returned to power after the next election I think.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                  at this stage as sufficient notice was not given.
                  In keeping with the time-honoured convention of Bills being tabled and time allowed for scrutiny prior to the commencement of a debate, the party is recommending that the Government adheres to this tradition.
                  what is wrong with this... the govt just a wage a losing battle... people can see through the politics...

The party said that its call for more time was not to be interpreted as disagreement as it considered the passage of the Bills a critical and important step in the fight against crime.
                  Leader of Opposition Business in the House Derrick Kellier -- while acknowledging that the Bills were not new to the House -- insisted that at least a day's notice should be allowed between the tabling of the Bill and the commencement of the debate.
                  However, last night Holness said the Government was committed to starting the debate today and invited the Opposition to "catch up when they feel they are ready".
                  again, its just politics from the govt... the govt feet is on the fire so now they are trying to appear as if they weren't in bed with criminals... it was this same gov't that for nine months conspired and acted to protect the biggest and most notorious criminal in jamaica's history, one christopher 'dudus' coke...

give the opposition time to prepare... not even a days notice for them to organize themselves around a most important issue for debate smells like the same old time petty politics...

come on people, lets think this through and not fall for the govt shenanigans...

Would be nice if we could do that but.......not going to happen.

Parties can change if the winds start blowing in a different direction. In the US the Democrats were a party intent on keeping thier Southern racist bloc intact up until the 60s. They paid a price to change but today they are the more socially progressive of the two main US parties.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                      what is wrong with this... the govt just a wage a losing battle... people can see through the politics...

again, its just politics from the govt... the govt feet is on the fire so now they are trying to appear as if they weren't in bed with criminals... it was this same gov't that for nine months conspired and acted to protect the biggest and most notorious criminal in jamaica's history, one christopher 'dudus' coke...

give the opposition time to prepare... not even a days notice for them to organize themselves around a most important issue for debate smells like the same old time petty politics...

come on people, lets think this through and not fall for the govt shenanigans...
                      They have had two years to prepare though havent they? Passing these bills should be the number one priority (even before last weeks events, but even moreso after) and both parties need to be on top of it.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post

With respect, gov't shenanigans or not is irrelevant. They have had two years to deal with this. As a matter of fact they said they had specific disagreements with the bill. This is a crucial time in Jamaica's history If necessary drink some Blue Mountain coffee pull an all-nighter and come prepared the next day. That's what a serious government in waiting would have done in times of crisis. This smacks of Golding's cop-out of 'Standing Orders'.

lol !

Talk tuh yuh people dem.. it not looking good..

LOL. when dem lick down you door uptown tell dem say you know me. You need to come out of the green and orange box. Stop limiting yoself. Who said change is good again? Move forward or get run over remeber say me tell you. Part of the advantage of not being in the green and orange box is that ypu don't have to search for a defense for the indefensible. You should try it sometime.

rudi, this is serious business... two years in waiting... then with less than a day notice to debate a most important bill... i'm sorry but that smacks of politics and an opportunity to score political points with the peoples business... whats the point of going to parliament and not be prepared on an issue...

its not as if, they govt and opposition were working on this nonstop for two years... the very least is to grant sufficient notice so the opposition can bring value to the debate... this is arguably one of the most important piece of legislation for the nation as a whole... it needs to be done... however, it must be done with profound thought and without partisanship... if ever there needs to be a cooperative effort, this is it...

But mi not in a green or orange box...

Mi simply apply critical thinking.. identify the root cause and support all efforts to nullify it..

"The enemy of my enemy is my friend"....

Mi nevah know nutting bout Republican and Democrat when mi guh farin.. it nevah tek mi long fi identify di enemy doh.. fuss time mi vote a Farin.. mi cyaan stan up pon sideline or straddle fence.. wuss if a Yard..