Neville Willouby (sp) is dead
RE: Neville Willouby (sp) is dead
he had a very nice christmas song called "christmas ja". himself, henry stennet, don topping and alan magnus are responsible for my taste in music today. a pioneer in jamaican radio. RIP!
Gamma (12/21/2006)he had a very nice christmas song called "christmas ja". himself, henry stennet, don topping and alan magnus are responsible for my taste in music today. a pioneer in jamaican radio. RIP!“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
<DIV>For me, that's not necessarily a good thing. I think RJR was guilty of playing too much farin music at the expense of our local artistes. This was the station of Don Topping and Marie Garth, whose accents were more yankee than Wendy Williams! Indeed, thank God for JBC which had much more pride about things Jamaican those days and enabled many of us to "find ourselves". And even then, JBC had its own image problems.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I guess they all did their part to create "me". And, well, it's not all that bad! :P</DIV>
RIP Neville. I was just thinking about him a few days ago. I was humming him "I love Jamaica (where the pretty girls come from)" song.
Sad to hear he is gone."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I think deep down yuh like the YANKEE accent yuh know:P; yuh just nuh waan admit it in Public.
Nuh worry yuh a mi bredren, mi nah buss yuh secret“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Gamma (12/21/2006) himself, henry stennet, don topping and alan magnus are responsible for my taste in music today. a pioneer in jamaican radio. RIP!"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
RIP... What I remember about Mr Willoughby was the way he pushed the culture. He was a great loverof (Reggae ) Jamaican music and he was one who always believed that Reggae would take the world by storm. I recall him featuring a lot of young bands on his radio show like Fab 5 etc always getting feedback on how their tours went.
A loss to the JA music fraternity.
prPeter R