Jamaica's crime plan - Let the people have guns!

• Jamaica's crime plan - Let the people have guns!

Jamaica's Bloody Lesson On Guns

By John Lott
    Published May 25, 2010

Do gun bans really stop criminals from getting guns? Americans need not look no further than the massive gun battle with armed gangs fighting police and soldiers that took place in Kingston, Jamaica today. At least 30 people were killed in the fighting. It is a huge number for a small island nation of fewer than 3 million people, but unfortunately murder is so common in Jamaica that these murders won't even be noticed in the annual crime numbers.

With Chicago's Mayor Daley again claiming that a gun ban is necessary to keep Chicagoans safe, Jamaica and other countries with gun bans might teach Americans a lesson.

Everyone wants to keep guns away from criminals, but the question is: who is most likely to obey the law? In the case of a ban, every instance we have data for shows that when a ban has been imposed, murder rates rise. In America, people are all to familiar with the increased murder rates in Chicago and Washington, D.C.. But supporters blame those gun control failures on the ease of getting guns in the rest of the country. Yet, even in island nations such as Ireland, the U.K., and Jamaica -- all of which have imposed bans -- their easily defendable borders and lack of obvious neighbors haven't stopped drug gangs from getting either drugs or the guns that they use to protect their valuable product.

Jamaica wasn't always the extremely violent country that it is today (see the figure here). Jamaica experienced large increases in murder rates since enacting a handgun bans in 1974. Since the gun ban, Jamaica’s murder rate has soared to become one of the highest in the world, currently at least double that of other Caribbean countries. Jamaica’s murder rate hasn’t sunk below 10 murders per 100,000 people since the gun ban went into effect.

Even before the recent rampage, Jamaica's murder rate was about six times higher than before the ban went into effect. Indeed, Jamaica's current murder rate is so high -- at about 60 per hundred thousand people -- that 30 additional deaths in one day will barely be noticeable: 30 deaths will only increase the murder rate from about 60 to 61.

Just as Mexico's President Calderon showed last week, it is always easy for politicians to blame crime on guns. The crime data in Jamaica shows the same thing as the crime data in Chicago and Washington have shown. It is the law-abiding, good citizens, not the criminals, who are disarmed by gun bans.
    John R. Lott, Jr. is a FoxNews.com contributor. He is an economist and author of "More Guns, Less Crime."(University of Chicago Press, 2010), the third edition of which was published in May."
    Fox Forum is on Twitter. Follow us @fxnopinion.

The general populace needs a means to defend themselves. A situation where only the security forces and criminals have guns is never good.

Look at it this way - ...does banning guns cause more accidental harm from guns? ... and more gun crimes?

Thank you Miss London. I do not need to add anything more.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

This article is tripe. What gun ban Jamaica have? You can have a gun ban and still have private citizens with legal firearm licences? Dat mek any sense?

And what would John Lott say about nice peaceful places like some of those Nordic and northern European countries with real gun bans?

Oh wait...I just saw this little bit of info which explains why this article is crap:

John R. Lott, Jr. is a FoxNews.com contributor. He is an economist and author of "More Guns, Less Crime."(University of Chicago Press, 2010), the third edition of which was published in May."
          So he works for FoxNews and is a gun advocate. Surely we can expect impartial, properly researched articles from a fellow like that.

stupid article...

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
              The general populace needs a means to defend themselves. A situation where only the security forces and criminals have guns is never good.
              Do you have a gun, MissLondon?

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                stupid article...
                Well it's from a FoxNews person, what do you expect?

I agree with you 100%, however 99% of our friends on this forum, including Shady Pines Karl act as though Jamaica does not have one of the highest homicide rates in the world.

i wonder how many of those homicides were committed by illegal guns! and further where was the police at the time to treat those illegal firearm holders as BUD?!