Is Tivoli the 'worst' garrison?

• Is Tivoli the 'worst' garrison?

really and truely now, is TG the worst place to visit or have any dealings with?

The success of their various cultural groups and sports team would suggests that they do have a successful program in providing an outlet for talented residents.

I have never heard of a crime taking place there. Yes we know they have their own court and justice system so they have that on lock.

But people look into it fully, is Tivoli a community that need to be wiped off the Jamaican landscape.

who down deh ?

I would never advocate for the community to be wiped off Ja's landscape but we must ask ourselves this: Why are we living 200 odd years back when the British told the maroons they are a seperate state? Granted the Maroons had no education institution set up then to teach reasoning in the abstract and reading comprehension (hence they have a valid excuse) what's ours in the info age? Thanks.

Their biggest problem is they are too confrontational. Seaga trained them well.

But we must look deeper: Us against the them, trust no one as they are out to get you (and this point is valid to some extent). Basically a psychologist would tell you that the community on a whole is operating on the mentality of a child. We are look at years of operating and thinking insular. Sad part is that they are related to the rest of Ja one way or the other.

If you look at Tivoli and the history of the marroons you will find similarities. Hustling to take care of themselves, buying weapons off the island. why? What cause a set of people to operate and think as their ancestors 200 hundred years back? They need psychologists and sociologists in that community.

Tivoli as a community should not be wiped off the map, but Tivoli the idea should be wiped off the map. What good is calling ourselves a democracy if people living in an area cannot vote for whom they chose to, cant campaign for whom they want, and are not free to support whatever party or candidate they want to. In my opinion no amount of maternity clinic, community center, primary school, marching band, football team etc is worth the price of democracy, freedom of speech, and freedom of choice. This is what we have to wipe off the map. It might not be possible without wiping off the physical TG off the map. I truely hope not.

you need to see why...a history lesson back into the days of "dungle" and "backawall" will give you an insight into why they have this "us against the world" mentality.

yes, tivoli gardens need to be demolished... a plan should be put in place to relocate the people and redevelop the area with office buildings... this should include widening spanish town road among other developments...

tivoli gardens has too much of a negative history...

edit: all future communities being developed in jamaica should have roads that are easily accessible by law enforcement... that should be a major consideration, just like its done in north america...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                  yes, tivoli gardens need to be demolished... a plan should be put in place to relocate the people and redevelop the area with office buildings... this should include widening spanish town road among other developments...

tivoli gardens has too much of a negative history...

edit: all future communities being developed in jamaica should have roads that are easily accessible by law enforcement... that should be a major consideration, just like its done in north america...
                  And Paris' main thoroughfares. In fact that is exactly why Paris has some WIDE boulevards.